100th Anniversary of Women’s First Right to Vote in Canada

International Women's Day

2016 marks 100 years since women were allowed to vote in a provincial election. On January 28, 1916, Manitoba became the first province in Canada to extend the franchise to women voters.

It all started in Manitoba

Two years before, on January 27, 1914, a large group of women and men, many members of the Political Equality League of Manitoba, appeared before the Manitoba Legislative Assembly to make the case for women’s suffrage. They were led by well-known writer and suffragist Nellie McClung, who would later be known for her role in the groundbreaking Persons Case. McClung asked the members of the legislature: “Have we not the brains to think? Hands to work? Hearts to feel? And lives to live?” She went on, “Do we not bear our part in citizenship? Do we not help build the Empire? Give us our due!”

In December 1915, the group delivered a petition containing almost 40,000 signatures in support of women’s right to vote. Premier T.C. Norris delivered the petition to the first session of the 15th Legislature, followed soon after by a Bill to Amend the Manitoba Elections Act. On January 28, 1916, the Lieutenant Governor passed into law the right of Manitoba women to vote – and to put themselves forward as candidates – in provincial elections.

Saskatchewan and Alberta Followed

On March 14, Saskatchewan passed into law An Act to Amend the Saskatchewan Election Act, and on April 19, Alberta passed the Equal Suffrage Statutory Law Amendment Act S.A. 1916 c.5, both jurisdictions thereby granting women the right to vote and stand for election. On May 24, 1918, following passage of An Act to confer the Electoral Franchise upon Women S.C. 1918, c. 20, women in Canada were granted the federal franchise. It would be another 10 years before the Famous Five won the Persons Case Victory, and it was not until 1940 that Quebec women won the right to vote in provincial elections. In 1960 First Nations were allowed to vote without giving up treaty rights. Read more.

100 Years in the Struggle for Women’s Rights: Where Are We Now?
Library and Archives Canada in partnership with University of Ottawa

A Voice Through Voting: The Franchise for Women
Library and Archives Canada (archived content)

"Nice Women Don’t Want the Vote" until April 10, 2016
Manitoba Museum, temporary exhibit

"Give us our due!" How Manitoba Women Won the Vote
Manitoba Historical Society, by Harry Gutkin and Mildred Gutkin, 1996

Women's Right to Vote in Canada
Parliament of Canada

Persons Case
Status of Women Canada

Women’s Franchise Petition
Saskatchewan Archives

Date modified:

100e anniversaire du premier droit de vote des femmes au Canada

100e anniversaire du premier droit de vote des femmes au Canada

L’année 2016 marque le 100e anniversaire du premier droit de vote des femmes au Canada. En effet, c’est le 28 janvier 1916 que le Manitoba habilitait ses citoyennes à voter. Il était la première province à le faire.

Tout a commencé au Manitoba

Deux ans plus tôt, le 27 janvier 1914, un vaste groupe de femmes et d’hommes, incluant de nombreux membres de la Political Equality League of Manitoba, se présente devant l’Assemblée législative du Manitoba afin de plaider pour le suffrage féminin. À leur tête se trouve la célèbre écrivaine et suffragette, Nellie McClung, qui se ferait plus tard connaître pour son rôle dans une cause aussi fort importante pour les Canadiennes : l’affaire « personne ». Nellie McClung se tourne vers les députés et leur adresse la question suivante [traduction] : « N’avons-nous pas un cerveau pour penser? Des mains pour travailler? Un cœur pour sentir? Et une vie à vivre? ». Puis elle ajoute un peu plus tard : « Ne fournissons-nous pas notre part d’efforts à titre de citoyennes? Ne contribuons-nous pas à l’édification de cet empire? Alors, donnez-nous ce qui nous revient! ».

En décembre 1915, le groupe dépose une pétition signée par près de 40 000 personnes appuyant le droit de vote des femmes. Le premier ministre T. C. Norris présente la pétition dès la première session de la 15e législature, et le projet de loi visant à modifier la loi électorale du Manitoba voit le jour peu de temps après. Le 28 janvier 1916, le lieutenant-gouverneur adopte la loi accordant le droit de vote aux Manitobaines et leur permettant de se porter candidates aux élections provinciales.

La Saskatchewan et l’Alberta emboîtent le pas au Manitoba

Le 14 mars 1916, la Saskatchewan adopte à son tour une loi modifiant sa loi électorale et le 19 avril, l’Alberta en fait autant afin d’accorder l’éligibilité et le droit de vote aux femmes

Le 24 mai 1918, le Canada adopte la Loi ayant pour objet de conférer le droit de suffrage aux femmes (S.C. 1918, ch. 20), qui donne aux Canadiennes le droit de vote aux élections fédérales. Dix ans plus tard, les Célèbres cinq ont gain de cause dans l’affaire « personne », mais au Québec, les femmes doivent attendre 1940 pour avoir le droit de voter aux élections provinciales. En 1960, les Premières Nations remportent à leur tour le droit de voter sans pour autant devoir renoncer aux droits qui leur sont conférés par les traités. Pour en savoir plus.

100 ans de lutte pour les droits des femmes. Où en sommes-nous?
Bibliothèque et Archives du Canada, en collaboration avec l’Université d’Ottawa

Le droit des femmes de s'exprimer par le vote
Bibliothèque et Archives du Canada (contenu archivé)

Women Take the Right to Vote
Section15.ca [en anglais seulement]

« Nice Women Don’t Want the Vote », jusqu’au 10 avril 2016
Musée du Manitoba, exposition temporaire [en anglais seulement]

« Give us our due! » How Manitoba Women Won the Vote
Manitoba Historical Society, par Harry Gutkin et Mildred Gutkin, 1996. [en anglais seulement]

Journée de l’affaire « personne »
Condition féminine Canada

Famous Five Foundation [en anglais seulement]

Women’s Franchise Petition
Archives de la Saskatchewan [en anglais seulement]

Date de modification :