1979 Recipients

Dr. Elizabeth Bagshaw
Hamilton, Ontario

Revered physician and one of the few women general practitioners of her time who, on account of her sex, had to struggle to receive medical training, and whose works included pioneer efforts in providing women with information and advice on birth control.

The Honourable Thérèse Casgrain
Montreal, Quebec

Thérèse Casgrain, founder of the Quebec League for Human Rights and the Fédération des Femmes du Québec, for her leadership in obtaining the vote for women in Quebec and ensuring women's right to participate in municipal politics. Also in recognition of an active political life which culminated in her appointment to the Senate of Canada.

Sophia Dixon
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Past President of both the United Farm Women and Saskatoon's first Farmers Union, in recognition of outstanding work in support of the co-operative movement and of rural women's organizations.

Mary Two-Axe Early
Caughnawaga, Quebec

Founder and Vice-President of Indian Rights for Indian Women, for her tireless efforts to ensure rights for native Indian women are equal to those of native Indian men.

Dr. Grace MacInnis
Vancouver, British Columbia

Member of Parliament for Vancouver-Kingsway from 1965 to 1974, for her staunch and fearless advocacy in the House of Commons of women's rights and the improvement of women's living and working conditions.

Marion Royce
Toronto, Ontario

First director of the Women's Bureau in the federal Department of Labour, whose volunteer work with the Young Women's Christian Association and membership in the United Nations Commission on the Status of Women has contributed notably to the education and well being of girls and women.

Eileen Tallman-Sufrin
White Rock, British Columbia

Labour organizer and trainer of trades union leaders, for her efforts to improve working conditions for Canadian women employed by banks, offices and retailers, and for the example she has set to all women in the trades union movement.

Date modified:

Lauréates de 1979

Dre Elizabeth Bagshaw
Hamilton (Ontario)

Le docteur Bagshaw était une omnipracticienne qui, à cause de son sexe, a dû surmonter de nombreux obstacles afin d'obtenir une formation médicale. Elle a consacré des efforts de pionnère à renseigner et conseiller les femmes sur la limitation des naissances.

L'honorable Thérèse Casgrain
Montréal (Québec)

Thérèse Casgrain a fondé la Ligue des droits de la personne du Québec et la Fédération des femmes du Québec. Elle a travaillé pour obtenir le droit de vote pour les femmes au Québec et pour assurer le droit des femmes à participer à la politique municipale. Sa carrière politique a été couronnée par sa nomination au Sénat du Canada.

Sophia Dixon
Saskatoon (Saskatchewan)

Sophie Dixon est une ancienne présidente à la fois des Fermières unies et de la première Union des agriculteurs de Saskatoon. Elle a reçu le prix en reconnaissance de son travail exceptionnel de promotion du mouvement coopératif et des organismes féminins ruraux.

Mary Two-Axe Early
Caughnawaga (Québec)

Mary Two-Axe Early a été l'une des fondatrices du Comité national des droits de la femme indienne, dont elle a été vice-présidente. Elle a travaillé sans répit et poursuit toujours ses efforts pour faire en sorte que les droits des Indiennes soient égaux à ceux des Indiens.

Dre Grace MacInnis
Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique)

Grace MacInnis a été députée fédérale de Vancouver-Kingsway de 1965 à 1974. Elle s'est faite à la Chambre des communes la championne convaincue et courageuse des droits de la femme et de l'amélioration des conditions de vie et de travail des femmes.

Marion Royce
Toronto (Ontario)

Marion Royce a été la première directrice du Bureau de la main-d'oeuvre féminine du ministère fédéral du Travail. Elle a fait du travail bénévole pour le compte du YWCA, notamment, et a fait partie de la Commission des Nations unies sur la situation de la femme.

Eileen Tallman-Sufrin
White Rock (Colombie-Britannique)

Eileen Tallman-Sufrin a été organisatrice syndicale: elle a formé des dirigeantes syndicales et travaillé pour améliorer les conditions de travail des Canadiennes employées dans les banques, les bureaux et les magasins.

Date de modification :