1985 Recipients

Marguerite Bergeron-Tremblay
Alma, Quebec

She is a longstanding women's activist in the Lac St-Jean region, with a 30-year involvement with Le Cercle des Fermières, and a founding member of local chapters of La Fédération des femmes du Québec and MATCH, an agency promoting the concerns of Third World women.

Nazla L. Dane
Toronto, Ontario

A former national president of the Canadian Federation of Business and Professional Women's Clubs, she lobbied the Ontario and federal governments for equal pay for work of equal value, and promoted non-traditional careers for women.

Grace Hartman
Willowdale, Ontario

A former president of the National Action Committee on the Status of Women, her unswerving dedication to the cause of working women culminated in her election in 1975 as President of the Canadian Union of Public Employees, a position she held until her retirement in 1983.

Evelyn O'Bomsawin-Lamirande
Tracy, Quebec

A founding member and president of the L'Association des femmes autochtones du Québec, she worked diligently to promote the rights of native women, including lobbying the federal government to remove discrimination in the Indian Act.

Gemma Pelletier Caron
Campbellton, New Brunswick

In addition to longtime community involvement, she founded L'Association des Dames d'Acadie in 1968, and co-authored Silhouettes Acadiennes, a collection of life stories of 100 outstanding Acadian women.

Pearl Steen
Vancouver, British Columbia

She has been an inspiration to the many women who make up the local, provincial and national Councils of Women, and as their national president, served as an influential advocate in seeking legislative changes to improve the status of women.

Date modified:

Lauréates de 1985

Marguerite Bergeron-Tremblay
Alma (Québec)

Militante de longue date pour la condition féminine dans la région du Lac St-Jean, elle a travaillé 30 ans au sein du Cercle des Fermières. Elle fut l'une des fondatrices des conseils régionaux de la Fédération des femmes du Québec et de MATCH, organisme se penchant sur les problèmes des femmes du Tiers-Monde.

Nazla L. Dane
Toronto (Ontario)

Ancienne présidente nationale de la Fédération canadienne des clubs de femmes d'affaires et de professions libérales, elle a fait pression sur le gouvernement fédéral et celui de l'Ontario pour obtenir l'adoption du principe du salaire égal pour un travail d'égale valeur, et a encouragé le choix de carrières non traditionnelles pour les femmes.

Grace Hartman
Willowdale (Ontario)

Ancienne présidente du Comité national d'action sur le statut de la femme, son dévouement inébranlable à la cause des travailleuses a été couronné par son élection en 1975 au poste de présidente du Syndicat canadien de la Fonction publique, qu'elle a occupé jusqu'à sa retraite en 1983.

Evelyn O'Bomsawin-Lamirande
Tracy (Québec)

Elle fut l'une des fondatrices et présidente de l'Association des femmes autochtones du Québec. Elle a travaillé sans relâche à la promotion des droits des femmes autochtones et a stimulé le mouvement visant à obtenir du gouvernement fédéral la suppression des dispositions discriminatoires contenues dans la Loi sur les Indiens.

Gemma Pelletier Caron
Campbellton (Nouveau-Brunswick)

En plus de ses nombreuses activités communautaires, elle a fondé en 1968 la Fédération des Dames d'Acadie, et a collaboré à l'ouvrage Silhouettes Acadiennes, recueil biographique d'une centaine de femmes acadiennes remarquables.

Pearl Steen
Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique)

Elle fut un modèle pour les femmes qui font partie du Council of Women à l'échelle locale, provinciale et nationale, et en tant que présidente nationale, s'est faite la championne de changements législatifs en vue d'améliorer la condition des femmes.

Date de modification :