1986 Recipients

Denyse Bélanger-Rochon
Montpellier, Quebec

A former president of La Fédération des femmes du Québec, she lobbied the Quebec and federal governments on issues of priority to women such as equality rights, the impact of technological changes on women, pensions and child care.

Elizabeth Carr
Don Mills, Ontario

Elizabeth Carr has worked within many organizations including the Canadian Federation of University Women and the National Action Committee on the Status of Women, on issues of importance to women, notably continuing education and disarmament.

The Honourable Muriel McQueen Fergusson
Fredericton, New Brunswick

An ardent advocate of women's rights, she was appointed to the Senate in 1953 and used her position to speak on the injustices women have had to face. She became the first woman Speaker of the Senate in 1972.

Berenice Sisler
Winnipeg, Manitoba

Berenice Sisler has been an inspiration to the members of groups such as the Winnipeg YWCA and the Manitoba Action Committee on the Status of Women, in which she held various executive positions. She has advocated legislative changes in many areas including Family Law and pensions.

Helen Yeo
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

A longstanding member of the Business and Professional Women's Club and of the Canadian Federation of University Women, she played a key role in the establishment of the Prince Edward Island Advisory Council on the Status of Women.

Date modified:

Lauréates de 1986

Denyse Bélanger-Rochon
Montpellier (Québec)

Ancienne présidente de la Fédération des femmes du Québec, elle a exercé des pressions auprès du gouvernement fédéral et celui du Québec pour faire avancer des dossiers prioritaires, notamment l'égalité des droits, les répercussions des changements technologiques sur les travailleuses, les pensions et les garderies.

Elizabeth Carr
Don Mills (Ontario)

Elizabeth Carr a travaillé au sein de plusieurs associations telles que la Fédération canadienne des femmes diplômées des universités et le Comité national d'action sur le statut de la femme, sur des questions importantes pour les femmes, notamment l'éducation permanente et le désarmement.

L'honorable Muriel McQueen Fergusson
Fredericton (Nouveau-Brunswick)

Elle s'est faite la championne de la promotion des droits de la femme. Appelée à siéger au Sénat en 1953, elle s'est servie de son influence pour dénoncer les injustices faites aux femmes. En 1972, elle fut la première femme à être nommée à la présidence du Sénat.

Berenice Sisler
Winnipeg (Manitoba)

Berenice Sisler est un modèle pour les membres de groupes tels que le Winnipeg YWCA et le Comité d'action sur le statut de la femme du Manitoba, où elle a occupé différents postes de direction et a revendiqué des changements législatifs dans plusieurs domaines, dont le droit de la famille et les pensions.

Helen Yeo
Charlottetown (Île-du-Prince-Édouard)

Membre de longue date du Club des femmes de carrières libérales et commerciales et de la Fédération canadienne des femmes diplômées des universités, elle a joué un rôle très important dans la création du Conseil consultatif de la situation de la femme de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard.

Date de modification :