1987 Recipients

Margaret Catherine Harris
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

For years, Mrs. Harris has been involved with the Council of Women at all levels, including a term as National President. She was a founding member of the Canadian Council of Women Development Organization and the Family Planning Association of Saskatchewan, and was the first chairperson of the Saskatchewan Advisory Council on the Status of Women.

Jacqueline Laprise-Demers
St-Félicien, Quebec

Mrs. Laprise-Demers has been active for many years in status of women activities in the region of Lac St-Jean. Founding secretary of L'Union catholique des femmes rurales in 1948, she has also been provincial vice-president of L'Association féminine d'éducation et d'action sociale (AFÉAS).

Frances Laracy
Conception Harbour, Newfoundland

As President of the Women's Institutes of Newfoundland and Labrador, and as a Council Member of the Associated Country Women of the World, Mrs. Laracy championed the cause of improved social and economic conditions for women, particularly those living in rural areas.

Kay Macpherson
Toronto, Ontario

Mrs. Macpherson is a long-standing activist in the women's movement in Canada and played a key role in the establishment of Women for Political Action and the National Action Committee on the Status of Women. Long committed to the cause of peace and disarmament, she was prominent in founding the Voice of Women.

Norma Walmsley
Wakefield, Quebec

A tireless promoter of women's involvement in the development process, Dr. Walmsley has been a long-time member of the Canadian Commission for UNESCO. She also founded the MATCH International Centre to assist women in developing countries.

Date modified:

Lauréates de 1987

Margaret Catherine Harris
Saskatoon (Saskatchewan)

Mme Harris a occupé différentes fonctions à tous les niveaux du Conseil des femmes, dont celle de présidente nationale, et fut l'une des fondatrices de l'Organisation de développement du Conseil national des femmes du Canada et de la Family Planning Association of Saskatchewan. Elle a également été la première présidente du Conseil consultatif de la situation de la femme de la Saskatchewan.

Jacqueline Laprise-Demers
St-Félicien (Québec)

Mme Laprise-Demers s'occupe activement de la condition féminine dans la région du Lac St-Jean depuis de nombreuses années. Secrétaire fondatrice de l'Union catholique des femmes rurales en 1948, elle a plus tard occupé le poste de vice-présidente provinciale de l'Association féminine d'éducation et d'action sociale (AFÉAS).

Frances Laracy
Conception Harbour (Terre-Neuve)

En tant que présidente des Women's Institutes of Newfoundland and Labrador, et membre du conseil de l'Associated Country Women of the World, Mme Laracy a cherché à améliorer la condition socio-économique des femmes, tout particulièrement des femmes vivant en milieu rural.

Kay Macpherson
Toronto (Ontario)

Pionnière du mouvement des femmes au Canada, Mme Macpherson a joué un rôle primordial dans la fondation du Women for Political Action et du Comité national d'action sur le statut de la femme. Elle se dévoue depuis très longtemps à la cause de la paix et du désarmement et a pris une part active à la fondation de l'organisation Voix des Femmes.

Norma Walmsley
Wakefield (Québec)

Mme Walmsley a travaillé sans relâche à promouvoir la participation des femmes au développement. Depuis longtemps membre de la Commission canadienne pour l'UNESCO, elle a fondé le Centre MATCH International pour aider les femmes des pays en développement.

Date de modification :