1988 Recipients

Nellie Mildred Carlson
Edmonton, Alberta

A tireless promoter of native women's rights, Nellie Carlson was a founding member and President of Indian Rights for Indian Women, an organization founded to work for the repeal of discriminatory sections of the Indian Act. Ms. Carlson has also been Chairperson of the Ad Hoc Committee on Native Women's Issues, as well as an active member of the Alberta Status of Women Committee.

Jean E. Carson
Winnipeg, Manitoba

As a founding member of the Manitoba Action Committee on the Status of Women, Jean Carson contributed to the implementation of the recommendations of the Report of the Royal Commission on the Status of Women. She has been particularly active in promoting reform to the Manitoba family law legislation, and in promoting trades training for women. She has been legislative Chair of the Provincial Council of Women and is now active in helping seniors.

Jacqueline Collette
Moncton, New Brunswick

For years, Jacqueline Collette has been involved with Les Dames d'Acadie at all levels. She was a founding member of this association and served as provincial president of La Fédération des Dames d'Acadie. As such, she championed improved social and economic conditions for Acadian women. She has also been President of La Fédération des femmes canadiennes-françaises. Under her direction, this national federation undertook two major studies on women as sole-support parents and women working with their husbands.

Margaret Paton Hyndman
Toronto, Ontario

Long committed to equal opportunity, Margaret Hyndman chaired the 1950 Ontario Business and Professional Women's Committee for equal pay, which pressed the Ontario government to prohibit discrimination based on sex. She has been President of the International Federation of Business and Professional Women. As a lawyer, she championed many issues which furthered equality for women.

Marion Powell
Caledon, Ontario

Marion Powell is a long-standing activist in the area of women's health and among her many achievements was the first municipally-funded birth control clinic in Canada. Dr. Powell has been President of Planned Parenthood of both Toronto and Ontario, as well as Vice-President of the Planned Parenthood Federation of Canada. She was director of the Women's College Hospital Centre for Birth Control.

Date modified:

Lauréates de 1988

Nellie Mildred Carlson
Edmonton (Alberta)

Promotrice infatigable des droits des femmes autochtones, Nellie Carlson est membre fondateur et ancienne présidente d'Indian Rights for Indian Women, organisation créée dans le but de militer en faveur de l'abrogation des dispositions discriminatoires de la Loi sur les Indiens. Madame Carlson a également été membre actif du Comité de la situation de la femme de l'Alberta.

Jean E. Carson
Winnipeg (Manitoba)

En tant que membre fondateur du Comité d'action du Manitoba sur le statut de la femme, Jean Carson a contribué à la mise en oeuvre des recommandations du rapport de la Commission royale d'enquête sur la situation de la femme. Elle a été particulièrement active au plan de la promotion d'une réforme du droit de la famille au Manitoba. Elle a de plus préconisé les cours de métiers pour les femmes.

Jacqueline Collette
Moncton (Nouveau-Brunswick)

Pendant des années, Jacqueline Collette a exercé diverses fonctions au sein du mouvement des Dames d'Acadie, dont elle est membre fondateur. En sa qualité de présidente provinciale de la Fédération des Dames d'Acadie, elle a revendiqué de meilleures conditions sociales et économiques pour les Acadiennes. Elle a également été présidente de la Fédération des femmes canadiennes-françaises.

Margaret Paton Hyndman
Toronto (Ontario)

Ardente défenseure de l'égalité des chances, Margaret Paton Hyndman assumait en 1950 la présidence du comité ontarien des femmes de carrières libérales et commerciales pour la parité salariale, qui a insisté auprès du gouvernement provincial pour qu'il interdise la discrimination sexuelle. Elle a été présidente de la Fédération internationale des femmes de carrières libérales et commerciales et, à titre d'avocate, elle a épousé de nombreuses causes en faveur de l'égalité des femmes.

Marion Powell
Caledon (Ontario)

Marion Powell est active depuis de longues années dans le domaine de la santé des femmes. Parmi ses nombreuses réalisations, mentionnons l'établissement de la première clinique canadienne de planification de naissances financée par une municipalité. Le docteur Powell a servi come présidente de Planned Parenthood de Toronto et de l'Ontario et comme vice-présidente de la Fédération pour le planning des naissances du Canada. Elle a également été directrice du Women's College Hospital Centre for Birth Control.

Date de modification :