1989 Recipients

Kay Armstrong
Saanichton, British Columbia

Dedicated to helping women around the world, Kay Armstrong was a Vice-President of the International Council of Women and a founding member of MATCH, an international agency which supports programs for women in developing nations. She also served as President of the National Council of Women.

The Honourable Ellen Fairclough
Hamilton, Ontario

One of Canada's most prominent female politicians, the Honourable Ellen Fairclough was a long-time Member of Parliament and the first woman to serve in the federal Cabinet. Throughout her political career, she promoted equality for Canadian women and encouraged their participation in all levels of politics.

Dorothy Inglis
St. John's, Newfoundland

As a founding member and Vice-President of the National Action Committee on the Status of Women, Dorothy Inglis has become a well-known spokesperson for women's equality. She is currently the author of a feminist column in the St. John's Evening Telegram, and an active member of the St. John's Status of Women Council.

Helen Levine
Ottawa, Ontario

Helen Levine has had a long and distinguished career in social work, as a case worker, educator, counsellor and author. As a professor at the School of Social Work at Carleton University, she introduced women's issues and feminist perspectives into the social work curriculum for the first time.

Alphonsine Paré-Howlett
Montreal, Quebec

Alphonsine Paré-Howlett's long-time dedication as a volunteer led to the creation of many new organizations dedicated to the advancement of women. She has been particularly involved in La Fédération des femmes du Québec, La Fondation Thérèse Casgrain and the Joint Committee of Montreal.

Caroline Robins
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

As President of the Saskatchewan Teachers' Federation, Caroline Robins worked tirelessly to improve working conditions for women teachers. She headed the Canadian delegation at the World Confederation of the Teaching Profession in 1957, and later helped initiate the Canadian Conference on Education.

Date modified:

Lauréates de 1989

Kay Armstrong
Saanichton (Colombie-Britannique)

Dévouée à la cause des femmes du monde entier, Kay Armstrong a été vice-présidente du Conseil international des femmes et membre fondateur de MATCH, un organisme international qui appuie des programmes d'aide aux femmes des pays en développement. Elle a également été présidente du Conseil national des femmes du Canada.

L'honorable Ellen Fairclough
Hamilton (Ontario)

Ellen Fairclough, l'une des grandes figures politiques du Canada, a été longtemps membre du Parlement en plus d'être la première femme à faire partie du Cabinet fédéral. Tout au long de sa carrière politique, elle a défendu l'égalité pour les Canadiennes et a favorisé leur participation dans tous les domaines de la politique.

Dorothy Inglis
St. John's (Terre-Neuve)

Membre fondateur et vice-présidente du Comité national d'action sur le statut de la femme, Dorothy Inglis est connue depuis longtemps comme porte-parole pour l'égalité des femmes. Elle tient actuellement une chronique féministe au St. John's Evening Telegram et est encore très active comme membre du St. John's Status of Women Council.

Helen Levine
Ottawa (Ontario)

Helen Levine a mené une longue carrière dans le domaine du travail social, comme analyste de cas, enseignante, conseillère et auteure. Professeure de sciences sociales à l'Université Carleton, elle a été la première à intégrer des questions féminines et à donner une perspective féministe au programme d'études en sciences sociales.

Alphonsine Paré-Howlett
Montréal (Québec)

Alphonsine Paré-Howlett, connue depuis de nombreuses années pour son travail de bénévole, a pris une part active dans la mise sur pied de plusieurs organisations féminines. Elle a contribué particulièrement à la création de la Fédération des femmes du Québec, la Fondation Thérèse-Casgrain et le Comité conjoint de Montréal.

Caroline Robins
Saskatoon (Saskatchewan)

À titre de présidente de la Fédération des enseignantes et enseignants, au niveau provincial et national, Caroline Robins a travaillé sans relâche à l'amélioration des conditions de travail des enseignantes. Elle a dirigé la délégation canadienne lors de la Conférence mondiale sur l'enseignement en 1957 et a contribué à la création de la conférence canadienne de l'éducation.

Date de modification :