1990 Recipients

Geraldine Bailey
Westerose, Alberta

An active proponent of women's equality throughout her life, Geraldine Bailey pioneered the development of family life and sexuality education in Alberta. She has championed women's rights through her association with various provincial women's groups, and has encouraged older women to become involved in gender issues.

Thérèse Dallaire-Laplante
Boucherville, Quebec

Recognized for her community service to women in difficulty, Thérèse Dallaire-Laplante is the founder of Carrefour pour Elle, a refuge for battered women and children, which has become the model for such projects in Quebec. Her many other accomplishments include the establishment of centres for depressed women, single parents and the homeless.

Délie Gallien-Chiasson
Shippagan, New Brunswick

With her life-long dedication to the interests of Acadian and francophone women in New Brunswick, Délie Gallien-Chiasson was a founding member of the provincial Advisory Council on the Status of Women. As a Council member and through her involvement with numerous community groups, she has contributed three decades to the advancement of women's rights.

Irene Grant
Winnipeg, Manitoba

An effective advocate of women's equality for almost 60 years, Irene Grant's causes have included family law reform and equitable employment conditions for female teachers in Manitoba. A founder of the Fort Garry Women's Centre, she has worked through a number of women's organizations to give voice to women's perspective on a variety of issues.

Helen Hnatyshyn
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Long active in the Council of Women, as local, provincial and national president, and later as vice-president of the International Council, she was one of the first members appointed to the Canadian Advisory Council on the Status of Women in 1973. A founding member of MATCH International, and an active promoter of multiculturalism, she has made many substantial contributions to the advancement of women in Canada and throughout the world.

Jean Scott
Chilliwack, British Columbia

Always a forerunner, Jean Scott has spoken out for women's rights, especially the rights of female wage-earners, both in her job as a labour negotiator, and as a member of many women's groups. Also involved with women's shelters since their beginning in British Columbia, she is well known for her creative and innovative efforts to promote women's isssues.

Date modified:

Lauréates de 1990

Geraldine Bailey
Westerose (Alberta)

Inlassable partisane de l'égalité des femmes, Geraldine Bailey a pavé la voie à l'éducation familiale et sexuelle en Alberta. Elle a plaidé pour les droits de la femme en oeuvrant avec plusieurs groupes féminins de sa province et tâché d'inciter les femmes plus âgées à intervenir dans le débat des questions importantes pour les femmes.

Thérèse Dallaire-Laplante
Boucherville (Québec)

Reconnue pour son dévouement communautaire à la protection des femmes en difficulté, Thérèse Dallaire-Laplante a fondé Carrefour pour Elle, foyer d'accueil pour les femmes et les enfants victimes de violence qui sert de modèle à plusieurs autres du même genre au Québec. La fondation de foyers pour les femmes dépressives, les chefs de famille monoparentale et les sans-abris figure aussi parmi ses nombreuses autres réalisations.

Délie Gallien-Chiasson
Shippagan (Nouveau-Brunswick)

Délie Gallien-Chiasson a cherché toute sa vie à promouvoir et défendre les intérêts des Acadiennes et des femmes francophones du Nouveau-Brunswick. Membre fondatrice du Conseil consultatif provincial sur le statut de la femme et participant de façon dynamique aux activités d'une foule de groupes communautaires, elle a travaillé pendant trois décennies à promouvoir les droits de la femme.

Irene Grant
Winnipeg (Manitoba)

Ardente parisane de l'égalité des femmes pendant près de 60 ans, Irene Grant a contribué de façon importante à la réforme du droit de la famille et lutté pour obtenir des conditions d'emploi équitables pour les enseignantes du Manitoba. Elle est l'une des fondatrices du Fort Garry Women's Resource Centre et elle a aidé les femmes à faire connaître leurs points de vue sur diverses questions par son travail au sein de plusieurs associations féminines.

Helen Hnatyshyn
Saskatoon (Saskatchewan)

Helen Hnatyshyn compte de nombreuses années de dévouement à titre de présidente du Conseil des femmes aux niveaux local, provincial et national. Elle a fait office de vice-présidente du Conseil international des femmes et elle était du nombre des tout premiers membres du Conseil consultatif de la situation de la femme en 1973. Membre fondatrice de MATCH International, ardente promotrice du multiculturalisme, elle a apporté une contribution substantielle à l'avancement de la femme au Canada et à travers le monde.

Jean Scott
Chilliwack (Colombie-Britannique)

Toujours à l'avant-garde, tant au travail comme négotiatrice syndicale qu'à titre de membre de nombreux groupes féminins, Jean Scott a pris la défense des droits de la femme et plus particulièrement ceux des travailleuses. Impliquée dans la question des refuges pour femmes battues dès leurs débuts en Colombie-Britannique, elle est reconnue pour ses efforts novateurs à l'avancement de la condition féminine.

Date de modification :