1991 Recipients

Doris Anderson
Toronto, Ontario

A journalist, editor, author and equal rights activist, Doris Anderson has given voice to the concerns and aspirations of women, leading many efforts to promote women's interests and rights in Canada. Playing a key role in a number of organizations and groups, including terms as President of the Canadian Advisory Council on the Status of Women and of the National Action Committee on the Status of Women, she has been in the forefront of efforts to promote women's advancement in all spheres of society.

Solange Fernet-Gervais
Hérouxville, Quebec

The founder, chair and member of numerous associations, groups and committees, Solange Fernet-Gervais is recognized, in particular, for her efforts on behalf of farm women and women working with their husbands in family businesses. She continues to actively advocate issues of concern to women through courses, seminars, magazine articles and television appearances.

Ursula Franklin
Toronto, Ontario

A distinguished researcher, outstanding teacher and acclaimed speaker, Ursula Franklin has devoted a significant part of her life to the encouragement and advancement of women in non-traditional science and technology fields in the education milieu and in the workplace. Her efforts in this area are complemented by many years of public activity related to peace, international understanding and the role of women in society.

Jane Manuel
Chase, British Columbia

As founder and long-time member of the B.C. Native Women's Society, Jane Manuel has provided much of the inspiration and impetus for the Society's programs and activities to improve the quality of life for Aboriginal women and their families. She played a major role in efforts to repeal the provisions of the Indian Act which were discriminatory to women, and continues to demonstrate her dedication to the concerns of Aboriginal women through her ongoing work with the NesKainlith Indian Band.

June Menzies
Winnipeg, Manitoba

Through ground-breaking research, writing and discussion, June Menzies has championed women's issues related to family law, taxation, pensions, social services and employment. The first Vice-President of the Canadian Advisory Council on the Status of Women, she has been an active member of many provincial and national women's groups, and continues her life-long advocacy on behalf of women with her current efforts as co-chair of the Task Force on Urban Safety for Women and Children in Winnipeg.

Date modified:

Lauréates de 1991

Doris Anderson
Toronto (Ontario)

Une journaliste, rédactrice, auteure et militante pour l'égalité des droits, Doris Anderson a exprimé les préoccupations et les aspirations des femmes, dirigeant de nombreux efforts en vue d'avancer les intérêts des femmes et leur droits au Canada. Elle a joué un rôle clé dans nombre d'organismes et de groupes, y compris des mandats en tant que présidente du Conseil consultatif canadien sur la situation de la femme et du Comité canadien d'action sur le statut de la femme. Mme Anderson a été à l'avant-garde des efforts déployés en faveur de la condition féminine dans toutes les sphères de la société.

Solange Fernet-Gervais
Hérouxville (Québec)

Fondatrice, présidente et membre de nombreuses associations, groupes et comités, Solange Fernet-Gervais est particulièrement connue pour ses efforts en faveur des agricultrices et des femmes collaboratrices de leur mari dans une entreprise familiale. Elle continue de faire connaître les questions qui affectent les femmes par le biais de cours, d'ateliers, d'articles de magazines et des passages à la télévision.

Ursula Franklin
Toronto (Ontario)

S'étant distinguée comme chercheure, enseignante exceptionnelle et conférencière publique renommée, Ursula Franklin a consacré une grande partie de sa vie à l'encouragement et à la promotion des femmes dans des carrières scientifiques et technologiques non traditionnelles dans le milieu scolaire et dans le domaine du travail. Ses efforts à cet effet furent complétés par de nombreuses années d'activités publiques dans le domaine de la paix, de la compréhension internationale et du rôle de la femme dans la société.

Jane Manuel
Chase (Colombie-Britannique)

En tant que fondatrice et membre de longue date de la Société des femmes autochtones de la Colombie-Britannique, Jane Manuel est la source d'inspiration et d'énergie qui a catalysé beaucoup des programmes et des activités de la Société visant à améliorer la qualité de vie des femmes autochtones et de leur famille. Elle a joué un rôle important dans les efforts déployés en vue d'abroger les articles de la Loi sur les Indiens qui discriminaient contre les femmes et elle continue de se dévouer en faveur des femmes autochtones en oeuvrant activement pour le compte de la Bande indienne NesKainlith.

June Menzies
Winnipeg (Manitoba)

Par sa recherche novatrice, ses écrits et ses interventions, June Menzies a défendu les questions féminines concernant le droit familial, la fiscalité, les pensions, les services sociaux, et l'emploi. Première vice-présidente du Conseil consultatif canadien sur la situation de la femme, elle a oeuvré activement au sein de nombre de groupes féminins provinciaux et nationaux et elle continue, comme elle l'a toujours fait, de défendre les femmes par le biais des efforts qu'elle déploie présentement comme coprésidente du Groupe de travail sur la sécurité urbaine pour les femmes et les enfants, à Winnipeg.

Date de modification :