1992 Recipients

Sandra Lovelace Sappier
Perth, New Brunswick

A Malaseet Indian, Sandra Lovelace Sappier has been a driving force in securing equality rights for aboriginal women in Canada. Challenging discriminatory provisions of the Indian Act which deprived aboriginal women of their status when they married non-Indians, she was instrumental in bringing the case before the United Nations Human Rights Commission and lobbying for the 1985 legislation which reinstated the rights of Indian women in Canada.

Doreen Orman
Calgary, Alberta

Doreen Orman's life's work reflects the significant societal changes women can affect through their leadership of voluntary organizations at community, national and international levels. Through the many senior executive positions she has held with the YWCA and the Canadian Council for International Co-operation, she has initiated programs aimed at improving living conditions for disadvantaged women and their children in Canada and the developing world.

Dorothy Reitman
Montreal, Quebec

Throughout a voluntary career spanning four decades, Dorothy Reitman has advocated women's equality and opened roads to their empowerment. In addition to initiating self-help programs for women at the community level, she has promoted women's political involvement as a means to affect social change. She was instrumental in establishing a coalition of the leaders of Montreal women's groups in an effort to promote dialogue and trust among women of different cultures in Quebec, and was the first female president of the Canadian Jewish Congress.

Shirley M. Robinson
Gloucester, Ontario

Lieutenant-Colonel (Retired) Shirley Robinson has devoted a significant part of her life to improving and enhancing the role and opportunities of women within the Canadian Armed Forces. During a 30-year military career, she was an active advocate of women's equality in employment and conditions of military service. Now retired from active service, she has continued her efforts as co-founder of the Association for Women's Equity in the Armed Forces.

Shelagh Wilkinson
Toronto, Ontario

As a scholar, teacher and community activist, Professor Shelagh Wilkinson has played a hallmark role in feminizing the institutional and community practices of the educational system. Founding member of the Women's Studies program at York University as well as founding director of York's Centre for Feminist Research, she designed and implemented the Bridging Program at York's Atkinson College which has allowed hundreds of disenfranchised women access to the university. She continues to raise issues of concern to women as general editor of the national scholarly journal Canadian Women's Studies/les cahiers de la femme, a publication she established in 1978.

Date modified:

Lauréates de 1992

Sandra Lovelace Sappier
Perth (Nouveau-Brunswick)

Indienne Malaseet, Sandra Lovelace Sappier est l'une des fers de lance dans la lutte pour assurer l'égalité des droits des femmes autochtones au Canada. Contestant les dispositions discriminatoires de Loi sur les Indiens qui privaient les femmes autochtones de leur statut lorsqu'elles épousaient un non-Indien, elle a contribué à porter la situation à l'attention du Comité des droits de l'homme des Nations Unies et elle a travaillé à l'adoption, en 1985, des mesures législatives rétablissant les droits des Indiennes au Canada.

Doreen Orman
Calgary (Alberta)

L'oeuvre de Doreen Orman démontre que les femmes peuvent susciter des changements sociaux d'envergure par leur leadership dans les organismes bénévoles aux niveaux communautaire, national et international. Occupant des postes de haute direction à l'intérieur de la YWCA et du Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale, elle a instauré des programmes visant à améliorer la qualité de vie des femmes défavorisées et de leurs enfants au Canada et dans les pays en développement.

Dorothy Reitman
Montréal (Québec)

Tout au long d'une carrière de bénévole s'étendant sur quatre décennies, Dorothy Reitman s'est portée à la défense de l'égalité des femmes et a ouvert la voie à leur prise de pouvoir. En plus d'avoir instauré des programmes pour promouvoir le progrès personnel des femmes à l'échelle communautaire, elle a encouragé l'engagement politique des femmes comme moyen de susciter le changement social. Elle a contribué à la création d'une coalition des dirigeantes des groupes féminins de Montréal pour favoriser le dialogue et la confiance entre les femmes de cultures différentes au Québec, et elle fut la première femme nommée à la présidence du Congrès juif canadien.

Shirley M. Robinson
Gloucester (Ontario)

Lieutenant-colonel à la retraite, Shirley Robinson a consacré une grande partie de sa vie à élargir et à enrichir le rôle et les débouchés offerts aux femmes dans les Forces armées canadiennes. Pendant ses 30 années de carrière militaire, elle a oeuvré avec dynamisme en faveur de l'égalité des femmes au niveau de l'emploi et des conditions de travail dans le service militaire. Maintenant à la retraite, elle poursuit ses efforts en faveur de l'égalité des femmes en tant que co-fondatrice de l'Association pour l'équité à l'égard des femmes dans les Forces armées canadiennes.

Shelagh Wilkinson
Toronto (Ontario)

Universitaire, enseignante et activiste communautaire, la professeure Shelagh Wilkinson a joué un rôle particulièrement important dans la féminisation des pratiques institutionnelles et communautaires du système d'enseignement. Membre fondateur du programme d'études féminines de l'Université York et directrice fondatrice du Centre for Feminist Research de cet endroit, elle a conçu et mis en oeuvre le Bridging Program du collège Atkinson, à l'Université York, grâce auquel des centaines de femmes défavorisées ont pu avoir accès aux études universitaires. Elle continue de mettre en lumière des questions touchant les femmes en tant que rédactrice en chef de la revue universitaire nationale Les cahiers de la femme/Canadian Women's Studies, publication qu'elle a fondée en 1978.

Date de modification :