1993 Recipients

Claire Bonenfant
Sillery, Quebec

As president of the Conseil du statut de la femme du Québec from 1978 to 1984, she oversaw the implementation of the Quebec government's first policy on the status of women, and was responsible for establishing the Conseil's regional consultation mechanisms across the province. She has focussed considerable effort in the areas of sexism in advertising and employment equity. Substantial numbers of women have been the beneficiaries of her devotion to the advancement of women's equality.

Lorna V. de Blicquy
Dunrobin, Ontario

A pioneering woman pilot, she has logged many hours in efforts to advance the status of women in aviation. She was the first woman to fly commercially in the high Arctic and Canada's first female civil aviation flight test inspector. Through her persistence as an outspoken advocate of women's rights, and through her example, she has opened many doors for women seeking careers and advancement in the aviation industry.

Joan Jones
Halifax, Nova Scotia

A long-time champion of the needs and interests of women who are lone parents, and a tireless community leader, she was instrumental in founding a youth centre, a community child-care centre and an inner-city tenants association which supports family-oriented housing. Through her civil rights activism and her advocacy of the interests of black women, she has been the catalyst for equality initiatives in many spheres of society.

Marie-Claire Kirkland
Rothesay, New Brunswick

The first woman elected to Quebec's National Assembly, in 1961, she was also the first woman appointed to the Quebec Cabinet, in 1962, where she served with distinction in four portfolios. She was responsible for the legislation which gave married women equal rights under the Quebec Civil Code and introduced for first reading the bill which created the Conseil du statut de la femme du Québec. Upon her retirement from politics, she became the first woman appointed as a judge of the Provincial Court of Quebec.

Mary Rocan
Regina, Saskatchewan

Through her paid employment and her volunteer efforts, she has broken considerable ground in the cause of women's labour force equality. During the course of a distinguished career with the Saskatchewan Department of Labour, she was a determined proponent of women's employment rights, including minimum wages, equal pay and maternity leave. A member of the 1973 two-person provincial task force related to the Royal Commission on the Status of Women, she oversaw the Saskatchewan government's efforts to change discriminatory laws and regulations.

Date modified:

Lauréates de 1993

Claire Bonenfant
Sillery (Québec)

Comme présidente du Conseil du statut de la femme du Québec de 1978 à 1984, elle fut chargée de la mise en oeuvre de la première politique du gouvernement du Québec sur la condition féminine, et s'est chargée d'établir les mécanismes de consultation régionaux du Conseil dans la province. Elle a consacré beaucoup d'efforts aux domaines du sexisme dans la publicité et de l'équité en matière d'emploi. Un nombre considérable de femmes ont tiré des bénéfices de sa détermination envers la réalisation de l'égalité des femmes.

Lorna V. de Blicquy
Dunrobin (Ontario)

Pilote d'avant-garde, elle compte à son actif bien des heures de travail pour l'amélioration de la condition féminine en aviation. C'est la première femme qui ait piloté un avion commercial en extrême Arctique et la première inspectrice des essais en vol d'aéronefs civils au Canada. Grâce à son acharnement comme défenseure des droits des femmes, et par son exemple, elle a ouvert bien des portes aux femmes qui cherchent à faire carrière et à avancer dans l'industrie de l'aviation.

Joan Jones
Halifax (Nouvelle-écosse)

Animatrice communautaire infatigable, elle lutte depuis longtemps pour la reconnaissance des besoins et des préoccupations des femmes qui sont parents seuls. Elle a joué un rôle capital dans la fondation d'un centre pour les jeunes, d'un centre communautaire de garde des enfants et d'une association de locataires du centre-ville qui appuie le logement axé sur la famille. Militante pour les droits civils et défenseure des intérêts des femmes noires, elle est l'instigatrice d'initiatives d'égalité dans plusieurs sphères d'activité.

Marie-Claire Kirkland
Rothesay (Nouveau-Brunswick)

Première femme élue à l'Assemblée nationale du Québec, en 1961, ce fut également la première à être nommée au Cabinet du gouvernement du Québec, en 1962, où elle s'est distinguée par son travail dans quatre portefeuilles. Elle fut responsable de la loi qui a conféré des droits égaux aux femmes mariées en vertu du Code civil du Québec et elle a marrainé en première lecture le projet de loi constituant le Conseil du statut de la femme du Québec. à sa retraite du monde politique, elle est devenue la première femme à être nommée juge à la Cour provinciale du Québec.

Marie Rocan
Regina (Saskatchewan)

Grâce à son emploi rémunéré et à ses efforts comme bénévole, elle a beaucoup fait avancer la cause de l'équité des femmes sur le marché du travail. Pendant sa carrière remarquable au ministère du Travail de la Saskatchewan, elle s'est fait l'ardente défenseure des droits des femmes en matière d'emploi, notamment le salaire minimum, la parité salariale et le congé de maternité. Membre du groupe de travail provincial de 1973, composé de deux personnes et lié à la Commission royale d'enquête sur la situation de la femme, elle a supervisé les efforts du gouvernement de la Saskatchewan en vue de modifier des lois et règlements discriminatoires.

Date de modification :