1994 Recipients

Shirley G. E. Carr
Niagara Falls, Ontario

The first woman in the world to head a national labour body, she has been both a role model for women in the labour movement and a leading proponent of women's rights in the workplace. A strong advocate of legislation to address women's employment equality and their workplace health and safety concerns, she has also championed women's rights of access to decision-making on major social and economic issues, from a labour perspective.

Dr. Rose Charlie, Grand Chief of British Columbia
Agassiz, British Columbia

Her contribution to the struggle for social justice for the women of Canada's First Nations spans over 25 years of unstinting community service. A member of the Chehalis Band and Sto:lo Nation, her efforts challenging the Indian Act resulted in legislation enabling thousands of women and their children to regain their rights as First Nations people.

Alice Girard
Montreal, Quebec

A tireless promoter of the nursing profession, she has played an instrumental role in enhancing the education and training of nurses and empowering them to lobby for their rights. Through her leadership of organizations at the national and international level, she has helped raise public awareness of the nursing profession's vital contribution to health care.

Morag O'Brien
St. John's, Newfoundland

As the only consistent health care provider along Newfoundland's Southern Shore for almost 40 years, she helped hundreds of women birth and raise their families in good health. She enabled countless women to cope with lives circumscribed by poverty and isolation, dispensing medical care, advice and counselling with a generous dose of human compassion.

Dodi Robb
Toronto, Ontario

Her illustrious 45-year career in broadcast journalism was devoted to ensuring the inclusion of women's perspective in television programming. Throughout her professional life, she broke new ground for women, continually promoting and encouraging women's participation in an industry known for its male domination.

Date modified:

Lauréates de 1994

Shirley G. E. Carr
Niagara Falls (Ontario)

Première femme au monde à diriger un syndicat national, elle a été à la fois un exemple pour les femmes dans le mouvement syndical et un des chefs de file de la défense des droits des femmes au travail. Elle a défendu de nombreuses causes, notamment une mesure législative portant sur l'égalité des femmes et leurs problèmes de santé et de sécurité au travail, ainsi que le droit des femmes d'accéder au niveau des décisions sur les grandes questions sociales et économiques dans l'optique syndicale.

Dre Rose Charlie, Grande Chef de la Colombie-Britannique
Agassiz (Colombie-Britannique)

Sa contribution à la lutte visant à instaurer la justice sociale pour les femmes des premières nations du Canada s'étend sur 25 années soutenues de service communautaire. Membre de la Bande de Chehalis et de la Nation sto:lo, ses efforts afin de contester la Loi sur les Indiens ont amené un changement législatif qui a redonné à des milliers de femmes et à leurs enfants leurs droits de membres des premières nations.

Alice Girard
Montréal (Québec)

Défenseur infatigable de la profession infirmière, elle a joué un rôle important en aidant à améliorer l'éducation et la formation des infirmières et à les habiliter à défendre leurs droits. Pendant qu'elle faisait oeuvre de pionnière en dirigeant des organisations aux niveaux national et international, elle a aidé à sensibiliser davantage le public à la contribution vitale de la profession infirmière aux soins de santé.

Morag O'Brien
St. John's (Terre-Neuve)

Seule pourvoyeuse régulière de soins de santé le long de la côté sud de Terre-Neuve pendant presque 40 ans, elle a aidé des centaines de femmes à accoucher et à élever leur famille saine. Elle a permis à innombrables femmes de faire face à une vie de pauvreté et d'isolement en dispensant des soins médicaux, des conseils et de l'aide en même temps qu'une dose généreuse de compassion.

Dodi Robb
Toronto (Ontario)

Pendant son illustre carrière de 45 ans en journalisme électronique, elle a cherché avant tout à s'assurer que les émissions de télévision tiennent compte des perspectives des femmes. Pendant toute sa vie professionelle, elle a fait oeuvre de pionnière pour les femmes en les encourageant constamment à participer dans une industrie dominée par les hommes.

Date de modification :