1996 Recipients

Gladys Cook
Portage la Prairie, Manitoba

An Elder of the Dakota First Nation, she has overcome many difficult life situations to become a strong advocate for the well-being of Aboriginal women. Using the wisdom gained from her own experiences, she is a tireless community activist who has given of her compassion as generously as her time, particularly on behalf of the victims of violence, alcohol and substance abuse.

Dr. Katie Cooke
Victoria, British Columbia

As a public servant, researcher and community leader, she has devoted five decades to promoting the equality of women. The first President of the Canadian Advisory Council on the Status of Women, she played a catalytic role in influencing the implementation of the recommendations of the Royal Commission on the Status of Women. Chair of the federal Task Force of Child Care, and a founding member of the Canadian Research Institute for the Advancement of Women, she has been an inspiring mentor, who continues to this day in efforts she pioneered to identify situations of inequality and to find innovative solutions to the discrimination faced by women.

Mary Eberts
Toronto, Ontario

She has demonstrated her steadfast commitment to improving the status of women in her community activities, as well as throughout her legal career. The co-founder of the Women's Legal Education and Action Fund (LEAF) and the Canadian Women's Foundation, she was also the Ontario co-chair of the Canadian Bar Association Task Force on Gender Equality. Her efforts and considerable energy have focused on a wide spectrum of women's equality issues, including pay equity, violence against women, women's athletics, pornography and prostitution, midwifery and the situation of domestic workers.

Dr. Margaret Gillett
Île-des-Soeurs, Quebec

Working within an often sceptical and hostile environment, she succeeded in her ground-breaking efforts to have women's studies acknowledged as a legitimate field of study at Canadian universities, as well as contributing to the body of knowledge related to women's historical contributions to Canada. Active in her local community in advancing women's equality issues, she has also played a prominent part in international activities to promote the role of women in development.

Jeannette Marcoux
Dieppe, New Brunswick

A champion of the aspirations of Acadian women, she was the guiding force in the establishment of Les Dames d'Acadie across New Brunswick, and was among the first to campaign for the representation of Acadian women in national francophone women's organizations. A prominent proponent of the creation of the New Brunswick Advisory Council on the Status of Women, and active in efforts related to women's empowerment and education, she also oversaw the publication of an anthology of the achievements of Acadian pioneer women, launched during the International Summit of Acadian Women held in New Brunswick in 1994.

Date modified:

Lauréates de 1996

Gladys Cook
Portage la Prairie (Manitoba)

Gladys Cook est une ancienne de la Première Nation Dakota qui a dû surmonter de nombreuses difficultés pour se porter à la défense du mieux-être des femmes autochtones. Les expériences de la vie lui ont permis d'acquérir la sagesse et l'ont transformée en une activiste communautaire infatigable pleine de compassion et généreuse de son temps, surtout auprès des victimes de violence, d'alcoolisme et d'abus d'intoxicants.

Dre Katie Cooke
Victoria (Colombie-Britannique)

Au cours de sa carrière de fonctionnaire, de chercheuse et de dirigeante communautaire, elle a consacré cinquante années de sa vie à promouvoir l'égalité des femmes. Elle a été la première présidente du Conseil consultatif canadien sur la situation de la femme et joué un rôle crucial pour la mise en oeuvre des recommandations de la Commission royale d'enquête sur la situation de la femme. Elle a présidé le Groupe d'étude fédéral sur la garde des enfants et été membre fondateur de l'Institut canadien de recherches sur les femmes. Aujourd'hui encore, elle continue d'être une source d'inspiration pour dénoncer les cas d'injustice et pour promouvoir la recherche de solutions nouvelles afin d'éliminer la discrimination dont les femmes sont victimes.

Mary Eberts
Toronto (Ontario)

Elle a fait preuve d'un indéfectible dévouement pour améliorer la situation des femmes en menant des activités communautaires en parallèle avec sa carrière d'avocate. Elle est cofondatrice du Fonds d'action et d'éducation juridiques pour les femmes (FAEJ) et de la Fondation des femmes canadiennes. Elle a également été la coprésidente pour l'Ontario du Groupe de travail sur l'égalité des sexes de l'Association du Barreau canadien. Ses efforts et son inépuisable énergie ont porté sur une vaste gamme de questions d'égalité intéressant les femmes, dont la parité salariale, la violence faite aux femmes, les athlètes féminines, la pornographie et la prostitution, les sages-femmes et la situation des travailleuses domestiques.

Dre Margaret Gillett
Île-des-Soeurs (Québec)

Bien qu'elle ait travaillé dans un milieu souvent sceptique et hostile, elle a réussi à faire oeuvre de pionnière pour faire reconnaître les études de la condition féminine comme un domaine d'étude de plein droit dans les universités canadiennes, de même que pour accroître le bagage de connaissances sur les contributions historiques des femmes au Canada. À l'échelle locale, elle s'est employée activement à faire avancer la cause de l'égalité des femmes et, à l'échelle internationale, elle a joué un rôle de premier plan pour faire valoir le rôle important des femmes dans le développement.

Jeannette Marcoux
Dieppe (Nouveau-Brunswick)

Elle est le porte-étendard des aspirations des Acadiennes et la source qui a inspiré la création du mouvement Les Dames d'Acadie partout au Nouveau-Brunswick. Elle est parmi les premières à avoir revendiqué la représentation des Acadiennes au sein des groupes nationaux de femmes francophones. Elle a ardemment défendu la création du Conseil consultatif sur la condition de la femme dans sa province, de même que le renforcement de l'autonomie et l'éducation des femmes. Elle a aussi supervisé la publication d'une anthologie des réalisations des pionnières en Acadie, laquelle a été lancée au Sommet international des Acadiennes qui a eu lieu au Nouveau-Brunswick en 1994.

Date de modification :