1997 Recipients

Dr. E. Margaret Fulton
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia

As a teacher, educational administrator, and outstanding advocate of women's rights, she has sought an equal place for women in a better society characterized by innovative learning, partnerships and inclusive decision-making. While Dean of Women at the University of British Columbia and President of Mount St. Vincent University, she introduced equality studies and degree programs specifically attuned to employment opportunities for women. The creator of Mount St. Vincent's Institute for the Study of Women and its Centre for Excellence in Women's Studies, she has also worked to establish programs to help women hampered from pursuing post-secondary education because of limited resources, isolation and family responsibilities.

Sheila D. Genaille
Edmonton, Alberta

A sixth-generation Metis, she has demonstrated her tireless strength as a leader and as a catalyst of the movement to respect and nourish the rights and aspirations of the women of Canada's Metis nation. As President of the Metis National Council of Women, she has been an effective advocate for a greater role for Metis women in promoting and developing policies to improve their situation. Through her leadership and her belief in community-based approaches, Metis women are strengthening their identity as Aboriginal women and are addressing the many barriers they face in achieving true equality.

Hedwidge Landry
Caraquet, New Brunswick

A community activist and advocate of the interests of Acadian women, her focus has been on empowering women, especially young women, to take control of their lives and to be active participants in society. A leading member of several organizations including Les dames d'Acadie, l'Association des collaboratrices et partenaires en affaires, and la Fédération nationale des femmes canadiennes-françaises, she has been instrumental in organizing programs for adolescent girls, political action sessions for women, a women's health project in partnership with the provincial government, and training sessions for women on a variety of economic issues.

Nancy Ruth
Toronto, Ontario

Canada's pre-eminent feminist philanthropist, she has been a determined equality-seeker and an effective force for substantive and lasting change for the benefit of women. The founder of many organizations dedicated to women's advancement, including LEAF, the Canadian Women's Foundation, the Charter of Rights Coalition, the CoolWomen Web site, and Nancy's Very Own Foundation, she has been, and continues to be, a visionary, a leader, a tireless worker, a generous donor, fund-raiser and mentor in the cause of women's achievement of equality.

Dr. Marguerite E. Ritchie, Q. C.
Ottawa, Ontario

For more than 50 years, she has used her legal training and knowledge to promote the human rights of women in all areas of society. These activities have placed her centre stage at some of the most significant struggles in women's history over the past five decades. Her pioneering initiatives include direct involvement in changes to the discriminatory aspects of federal laws and regulations in the areas of public service hiring and employment, jury selection and divorce residency provisions. She has also been legal advisor to the Royal Commission on the Status of Women, to Aboriginal women in their landmark efforts to secure equal rights, and to other individuals and organizations working to advance the status of women in Canada.

Date modified:

Lauréates de 1997

Dre E. Margaret Fulton
Salt Spring Island (Colombie-Britannique)

En tant qu'enseignante, administratrice scolaire et défenseure exceptionnelle des droits des femmes, Dre E. Margaret Fulton a tenté d'assurer une place égale aux femmes dans une meilleure société caractérisée par un apprentissage innovateur, des partenariats et un processus décisionnel inclusif. Alors qu'elle occupait les postes de doyenne des services aux étudiantes à la University of British Columbia et de rectrice de la Mount Saint Vincent University, elle a instauré des programmes d'études sur l'égalité ainsi que des programmes menant à des diplômes qui tiennent particulièrement compte des possibilités d'emploi pour les femmes. Créatrice de l'Institut d'études sur la femme de la Mount Saint Vincent University et de son Centre d'excellence des études de la femme, elle a aussi oeuvré à la mise en place de programmes en vue d'aider les femmes qui ont de la difficulté à poursuivre des études postsecondaires pour cause de ressources restreintes, d'isolement et de responsabilités familiales.

Sheila D. Genaille
Edmonton (Alberta)

Métisse de sixième génération, Sheila D. Genaille s'est montrée infatigable en tant que chef de file et de catalyseur du mouvement en vue d'assurer le respect et la compréhension des droits et des aspirations des femmes de la nation métisse du Canada. En tant que présidente du Metis National Council of Women, elle a prôné avec succès un rôle accru pour les Métisses dans la promotion et l'élaboration de politiques en vue d'améliorer leur situation. Grâce à son leadership et sa conviction dans le bien-fondé des démarches communautaires, les Métisses affermissent leur identité en tant que femmes autochtones et relèvent les nombreux obstacles auxquels elles sont confrontées en vue d'obtenir l'égalité véritable.

Hedwidge Landry
Caraquet (Nouveau-Brunswick)

Activiste communautaire et défenseure des intérêts des Acadiennes, Hedwidge Landry a mis l'accent sur l'habilitation des femmes, particulièrement des jeunes femmes, afin qu'elles assument le contrôle de leur vie et qu'elles participent activement à la société. Membre éminente de nombreux organismes dont Les dames d'Acadie, l'Association des collaboratrices et partenaires en affaires, et la Fédération nationale des femmes canadiennes-françaises, elle a joué un rôle de premier plan dans la mise sur pied de programmes à l'intention d'adolescentes, de sessions d'action politique pour les femmes, d'un projet sur la santé des femmes en partenariat avec le gouvernement provincial, ainsi que de séances de formation pour les femmes sur un grand nombre d'enjeux économiques.

Nancy Ruth
Toronto (Ontario)

Éminente philanthrope féministe canadienne, Nancy Ruth a oeuvré avec détermination en faveur de l'égalité, en plus d'être un moteur efficace à l'origine de changements importants et durables au profit des femmes. Fondatrice de nombreux organismes voués à la promotion des femmes, notamment le Fonds d'information et d'intervention juridiques, la Fondation des femmes canadiennes, la Coalition de la charte des droits, le site Web CoolWomen et Nancy's Very Own Foundation, elle a été et continue d'être une visionnaire, une chef de file, une travailleuse infatigable, une donatrice généreuse, une collectrice de fonds et une mentor de la cause de l'égalité des femmes.

Dre Marguerite E. Ritchie, c.r.
Ottawa (Ontario)

Pendant plus de 50 ans, Dre Marguerite E. Ritchie a utilisé sa formation et ses connaissances juridiques pour promouvoir les droits humains des femmes dans tous les secteurs de la société. Ces activités l'ont placée au centre de certaines des plus grandes luttes de l'histoire des femmes au cours des cinquante dernières années. Son travail innovateur comprend une participation directe aux changements apportés à des aspects discriminatoires de lois et de règlements fédéraux dans le domaine de l'embauche et de l'emploi dans la fonction publique, au processus de sélection des jurys ainsi qu'aux dispositions en matière de résidence dans les cas de divorce. Elle a en outre été conseillère juridique de la Commission royale d'enquête sur la situation de la femme, auprès des femmes autochtones dans leurs efforts historiques en vue d'assurer l'égalité des droits ainsi qu'auprès d'autres personnes et groupes qui oeuvrent pour la promotion de l'égalité des femmes au Canada.

Date de modification :