1998 Recipients

Alice J. Brown
Kathryn, Alberta

A long-time activist and advocate for the recognition of farm women as full working partners in their family farms, Ms. Brown founded and became president of the First Alberta Farm Women's Conference Committee bringing Alberta farm women's organizations together under the Alberta Farm Women's Network. In 1984, after three years of intensive lobbying, she was a catalyst in changing the federal Prairie Grain Advance Payment Act to give women farm corporation partners equal access to grain advance payments. Along with other farm women, she was instrumental in changing Statistics Canada's 1992 Agricultural Census form to include a valuation of women's labour on farms as an economic measure of input costs.

Claire Heggtveit
Nepean, Ontario

Claire Heggtveit holds a Master's degree in social work. She has used her lifelong concern with equality for women to develop statistics that would better define the relationship between women's socio-economic role and their health. Through her extensive statistical research, she completed a survey for the United Nations Commission on the Status of Women, the first national focus on family planning, abortion and divorce, that gave impetus to the establishment of a nation-wide system for the regular and full reporting of statistics on these issues. Mrs. Heggtveit also established the first national roster on family planning and abortion services that investigated the coverage of community and women's health in these areas. As one of the first members of the Board of Directors of Amethyst Women's Addiction Centre in Ottawa, she worked to have four beds set aside for women alcoholics, offering a refuge to women who were on the street and was instrumental in the creation of a separate house for women to enable them to participate in addiction rehabilitation programs.

Phyllis Seymour
St. John's, Newfoundland

A professional social worker, Ms. Seymour has dedicated herself to the promotion of social justice, addressing mainly violence against women and children. As Director of Emmanuel House, a short-term residential transition house, she developed an innovative program to provide a range of service, treatment and support to women at a time in Newfoundland when sexual abuse was not recognized as the underlying cause of many psychiatric problems. Her efforts to educate women and women's groups about abuse, led to the creation of several workshops, including "Understanding Wife Battering" and "Counselling Women Abused by their Partners". Ms. Seymour was also instrumental in the phase out of the Mount Cashel Orphanage, which led to the creation of Choices for Youth, a housing and support program for young people.

Jacqueline Sicotte Béïque
Île-des-Soeurs, Québec

One of the first female university graduates in Quebec and one of only six women in her graduating class, Madame Sicotte Béïque received her Bachelor of Arts from Collàge Marguerite Bourgeoys in 1930 at the age of 19. Active in the Young Women's League, of which she was president for two years, she later joined the League of Women's Rights, where she, together with the late Thérèse Casgrain, was a leader in the movement which fought for the right for women to vote in provincial elections in Quebec during the 1930s — a right that was finally obtained in 1940 after a long and arduous battle.

Stella-Maris Zola Gule-LéJohn
Winnipeg, Manitoba

Born in Soweto, South Africa, Ms. LéJohn has been a strong advocate for women's equality and has been actively involved in community and volunteer service in Canada for almost 30 years. By highlighting the pivotal role played by African women in social development, both locally and overseas, she has helped to promote an understanding of issues such as female genital mutilation and the need for ethnic associations to participate in combating violence against women on a global scale. Working for Canadian women globally, she helped establish the Manitoba Committee on the Conference for the United Nations End of Decade for Women to facilitate the participation of women at the NGO Forum at the Third United Nations World Conference on Women in Nairobi; was instrumental in establishing a national process to enable women to engage in deliberations both in Beijing at the Fourth United Nations World Conference for Women and at home. As co-chair of the Europe and North America Regional Focal Point for Beijing, she was one of the facilitators of the NGO Forum in Beijing.

Date modified:

Lauréates de 1998

Alice J. Brown
Kathryn (Alberta)

Alice Brown est une activiste et une porte-parole de longue date qui milite pour la reconnaissance des agricultrices en tant que partenaires de travail à part entière des exploitations agricoles familiales. Elle a été la fondatrice et présidente du First Alberta Women's Conference Committee, qui a rassemblé les groupes d'agricultrices albertaines dans le Alberta Farm Women's Network. En 1984, après trois années de lobby intensif, elle a été l'élément qui a déclenché le processus qui a mené à une modification à la Loi sur les paiements anticipés pour le grain des Prairies, laquelle accorde aux femmes partenaires de sociétés d'exploitation agricole l'égalité d'accès aux paiements anticipés. Avec d'autre agricultrices, elle a contribué à modifier le formulaire du recensement agricole de 1992 de Statistique Canada pour qu'il évalue le travail des femmes dans les fermes en tant que mesure économique des coûts des intrants.

Claire Heggtveit
Nepean (Ontario)

Claire Heggtveit est détentrice d'un diplôme de maîtrise en travail social. Elle s'est toujours intéressée à la question de l'égalité des femmes, a mis au point des statistiques qui définiraient mieux le lien entre le rôle socio-économique des femmes et leur santé. Grâce à ses vastes recherches statistiques, elle a effectué pour la Commission de la condition de la femmes des Nations Unies une enquête qui examine pour la première fois les questions de planification familiale, d'avortement et de divorce au niveau national. Cette dernière est à l'origine de la mise en place d'un système à l'échelle des pays qui fournit régulièrement des statistiques sur la planification familiale. Mme Heggtveit a en outre établi le premier répertoire national des services de planification familiale et d'avortement et a fait des enquêtes sur les centres de soins communautaires et de santé pour les femmes à ce sujet. En tant que l'une des premières membres du conseil d'administration du Centre pour femmes toxicomanes Amethyst, à Ottawa, elle a aussi travaillé pour faire en sorte que quatre lits soient réservés à des femmes alcooliques, offrant ainsi un refuge aux femmes de la rue. Elle a par ailleurs joué un rôle de premier plan dans la création d'une maison distincte pour les femmes afin de leur permettre de participer à des programmes de réadaptation pour alcooliques et toxicomanes. Mme Heggtveit continue aujourd'hui d'être active dans le mouvement pour l'égalité des femmes, à la fois à titre de membre de la Fédération canadienne des femmes diplômées des universités et comme membre de longue date de l'Institut canadien des droits humains.

Phyllis Seymour
St. John's (Terre-Neuve)

Phyllis Seymour est une travailleuse sociale professionnelle qui a consacré sa vie à promouvoir la justice sociale et à lutter principalement contre la violence à l'endroit des femmes et des enfants. En tant que directrice de la Emmanuel House, une maison de transition résidentielle à court terme, elle a mis au point un programme innovateur en vue d'offrir un éventail de services, de traitements et d'aide aux femmes à une époque où la violence sexuelle n'était pas reconnue comme étant la cause de nombreux problèmes psychiatriques à Terre-Neuve. Ses efforts en vue d'éduquer les femmes et les groupes de femmes au sujet de la violence ont mené à la création de plusieurs ateliers, notamment sur la compréhension du phénomène des femmes battues et sur le counseling de femmes battues par leur partenaire. Mme Seymour a également joué un rôle instrumental dans le démantèlement de l'Orphelinat Mt. Cashel, processus qui a mené à la création de Choices for Youth, un programme de logement et de soutien à l'intention des jeunes gens.

Jacqueline Sicotte Béïque
Île-des-Soeurs (Québec)

Jacqueline Sicotte Béïque a été l'une des premières diplômées universitaires du Québec et une des six femmes de sa promotion à recevoir, à l'âge de 19 ans, un baccalauréat ès arts du Collège Marguerite Bourgeoys en 1930. Après avoir milité activement dans la Ligue de la jeunesse féminine, dont elle a été la présidente pendant deux ans, elle a joint les rangs de la Ligue des droits de la femme où, avec la regrettée Thérèse Casgrain, elle a été une âme dirigeante du mouvement de lutte pour assurer le droit de vote des femmes aux élections provinciales du Québec dans les années 1930 - un droit que les femmes ont finalement obtenu en 1940 après une longue lutte ardue.

Stella-Maris Zola Gule-LéJohn
Winnipeg (Manitoba)

Stella-Maris Zola LéJohn est née à Soweto, en Afrique du Sud. Elle est une ardente défenseure de l'égalité des femmes et est active dans les services communautaires et bénévoles au Canada depuis près de 30 ans. En soulignant le rôle central joué par les Africaines dans le développement social, que ce soit au niveau local ou à l'étranger, elle a contribué à faire comprendre des questions comme la mutilation des organes génitaux de la femme et la nécessité pour les associations ethniques de participer à la lutte contre la violence faite aux femmes au niveau mondial. En travaillant pour les Canadiennes sur le plan mondial, elle a contribué à la formation du Comité manitobain de la Conférence marquant la fin de la décennie des Nations Unies pour les femmes qui a facilité la participation des femmes au Forum des ONG à la troisième Conférence des Nations Unies sur les femmes à Nairobi. Elle a joué un rôle de premier plan dans la mise en place d'un processus national qui a permis aux femmes de participer aux discussions de Beijing, que ce soit à la quatrième Conférence mondiale des Nations Unies sur les femmes ou au pays. En qualité de coprésidente du centre de coordination régional de la conférence de Beijing pour l'Europe et l'Amérique du Nord, elle a été l'une des animatrices du Forum des ONG à Beijing.

Date de modification :