2000 Recipients

Sonia Bitar
Edmonton, Alberta

As Executive director of Changing Together ... A Centre for Immigrant Women, Sonia Bitar uses her position of leadership to help immigrant women make the transition to Canadian society. For nine years she has devoted her time to helping immigrant women through mentoring programs. Ms. Bitar also has led the fight for justice in many cases, challenging immigration policy and law that was discriminatory to women. One high-profile case that Sonia has lent her hand to is that of Filipino nanny, Leticia Cables. More recently, Ms. Bitar was responsible for producing a conference called Immigrant Women for the Millennium where delegates could focus and identify key issues and strategies for change. Through Sonia's continued efforts and work, immigrant women have a place where they can receive the support and work experience they need to become new and active Canadian citizens.

Yvonne Bourgeois
Kent, New Brunswick

A strong person who leads by example, Yvonne Bourgeois has been instrumental in founding a variety of groups to help Acadian and francophone farming women locally, provincially and internationally. Starting with the Grand-Digue's 4-H Club, the Feminine Institute of Grand-Digue, the Kent Women's Association, Mrs. Bourgeois went on to help form the Francophone branch of the New Brunswick Women's Institute. Taking her knowledge from both local and provincial levels, Mrs. Bourgeois helped to organize the Acadian Women of the World Summit of 1986 and has been a delegate to several National Farm Women's Conferences. She has been a member on the planning committee for the Beauséjour Women and Family Crisis Centre as well. Yvonne Bourgeois has been and continues to be a strong voice for rural Acadian women in New Brunswick.

Bindu Dhaliwal (Youth Award)
Mississauga, Ontario

Barely out of her first university program and currently working on her second, some of Bindu Dhaliwal's work is being used as textbook tools in Women's Studies university-level courses across the country. Ms. Dhaliwal's face and voice are familiar on television, radio and newspapers as a spokesperson on issues relating to young women. Wanting to pass her experience as a youth delegate to The Fourth World Conference on Women in Beijing, Bindu helped to organize and train two young women for the youth delegation to Beijing +5 this year. As a founding member of the Kesri Ribbon Project and the South Asian Women Reaching Women, Ms. Dhaliwal helps South Asian youth and women stay in touch with each other and various youth and women's programs across Southern Ontario. She is a dedicated advocate and shining example of what young women can do to help improve Canadian society, no matter what their age.

Cherry Kingsley
Richmond, British Columbia

Through most of her young life, Cherry Kingsley lived with abuse and exploitation. At the age of 22, Ms. Kingsley overcame 8 years of drug addiction, sexual exploitation and abuse as a child prostitute by reconnecting with her First Nations' roots. Cherry took to action, shortly after, spreading her story and encouraging other young women and youth to tell their stories to the world. Taking these stories, Ms. Kingsley holds conferences, such as Out of the Shadows to increase awareness of the lives of fear child prostitutes live. Currently she is leading Out of the Shadows and into the Light project in partnership with Save the Children-Canada that seeks to empower young women and Aboriginal youth to break the cycle of the sex trade that some of them get caught in. Cherry travels the world gathering stories from other children and speaking on their behalf at international conferences. Recently the Ontario government has hired Ms. Kingsley to consult on policy matters concerning youth and sexual exploitation within the province. She continues to gather young women's stories and give voice to a topic that is so often shrouded in silence.

Elizabeth Mackenzie
Rae, Northwest Territories

A role model to Dogrib women and her people, Dene elder Elizabeth Mackenzie strives to bring a balance between skills learned at school and those learned on the land. Using these elements to be "strong like two people" many young Dogrib women credit Ms. Mackenzie's example as the reason they are still actively pursuing an education, learning more about their native culture, and going on to professional careers. Even three of Elizabeth's daughters teach, interpret and create Dogrib learning materials because of their mother's interests. Her strong desire to promote learning in herself and others helped Ms. Mackenzie through two decades of service on the Rae-Edzo School Society, the first native run school in Canada. In 1991, her efforts in education, by combining the teachings of two cultures, were recognized in Rae when the elementary school was named in her honour.

Sabine Sonnemann
Newmarket, Ontario

After being elected as the founding president of the Local 70348 for the Public Service Alliance of Canada, Ms. Sonnemann started the ball rolling towards the biggest class action suit for pay equity. While working as a professional librarian at the National Library and Public Archives of Canada Sabine discovered that things did not add up when comparing salaries with the similar but male-dominated historical researchers and her own profession. After organizing study groups to look into the matter, the first pay equity case against the Federal Government was won in 1980 in great part because of Ms. Sonnemann's hard work and tenacity. Nearly 20 years later, the world's largest pay-equity settlement occurred. Thanks to the initiatives of Sabine Sonnemann, women across the country now realize the importance of equal pay for work of equal value.

Date modified:

Lauréates de 2000

Sonia Bitar
Edmonton (Alberta)

À titre de directrice exécutive de Changing Together ... A Centre for Immigrant Women, Sonia Bitar utilise son poste de leadership pour aider les immigrantes à s'adapter à la société canadienne. Depuis neuf ans, elle consacre ses énergies à aider les immigrantes par l'entremise de programmes de mentorat. Mme Bitar a aussi dirigé la lutte pour la justice à plusieurs reprises, contestant des politiques et des lois en matière d'immigration qui étaient discriminatoires à l'endroit des femmes. Un des cas qui a fait beaucoup de bruit, auquel Sonia a été associée, est celui de la bonne d'enfants philippine, Leticia Cables. Récemment, Mme Bitar a été responsable de l'organisation d'une conférence ayant pour thème les femmes immigrantes et le millénaire, où les déléguées et délégués pouvaient examiner et relever des enjeux importants et des stratégies de changement. Grâce aux efforts et au travail incessants de Sonia, les immigrantes disposent d'un endroit où elles peuvent recevoir l'appui et l'expérience de travail dont elles ont besoin pour devenir de nouvelles citoyennes canadiennes actives.

Yvonne Bourgeois
Kent (Nouveau-Brunswick)

Personne déterminée, qui prêche par l'exemple, Yvonne Bourgeois a joué un rôle de premier plan dans la fondation de divers groupes visant à aider les Acadiennes et les agricultrices francophones sur les plans local, provincial et international. Après avoir fondé le Club  4-H  de Grand-Digue, l'Institut féminin de Grand-Digue et l'Association des femmes de Kent, Mme Bourgeois a aidé à fonder la section francophone de l'Institut féminin du Nouveau-Brunswick. En utilisant les connaissances acquises aux niveaux local et provincial, Mme Bourgeois a participé à l'organisation du Sommet mondial des femmes acadiennes en 1986 et a fait partie de la délégation de plusieurs conférences nationales des femmes en agriculture. Elle est aussi membre du comité de planification du Centre de ressources et de crises familiales de Beauséjour. Yvonne Bourgeois a toujours été et demeure une ardente défenseure des Acadiennes des régions rurales du Nouveau-Brunswick.

Bindu Dhaliwal (Prix jeunesse)
Mississauga (Ontario)

Même si elle vient à peine de terminer un premier programme universitaire et d'en entreprendre un second, certains des travaux de Bindu Dhaliwal sont utilisés dans les manuels des programmes d'études des femmes au niveau universitaire partout au pays. Le visage et la voix de Mme Dhaliwal sont connus à la télévision, à la radio et dans les journaux en tant que porte-parole des questions touchant les jeunes femmes. Désireuse de faire profiter d'autres jeunes de son expérience en tant que déléguée jeunesse à la quatrième Conférence mondiale sur les femmes de Beijing, Bindu a participé à la préparation et à la formation de deux jeunes femmes pour la délégation jeunesse à Beijing +5 cette année. En tant que membre fondatrice du Kesri Ribbon Project et de South Asian Women Reaching Women, Mme Dhaliwal aide les jeunes et les femmes originaires de l'Asie du Sud à demeurer en contact les uns avec les autres et avec des programmes pour jeunes et femmes dans le sud-ouest de l'Ontario. Elle est une porte-parole dévouée et un brillant exemple de ce que les jeunes femmes peuvent faire pour contribuer à améliorer la société canadienne, quel que soit leur âge.

Cherry Kingsley
Richmond (Colombie-Britannique)

Pendant la majeure partie de sa jeune existence, Cherry Kingsley a été victime de violence et d'exploitation. à l'âge de 22 ans, Mme Kingsley a surmonté 8 années de toxicomanie, d'exploitation sexuelle et d'abus en tant que prostituée enfant en reprenant contact avec ses racines chez les Premières nations. Cherry est rapidement passée à l'action peu après, en faisant connaître son histoire et en encourageant d'autres jeunes femmes et hommes à raconter leur histoire au monde. Avec ces histoires, Mme Kingsley organise des conférences comme Sortir de l'ombre, afin de faire mieux connaître la vie marquée par la peur des enfants qui se prostituent. Elle dirige présentement le projet Sortir de l'ombre, vivre au grand jour en partenariat avec l'Aide à l'enfance - Canada, afin d'habiliter les jeunes femmes et les jeunes Autochtones pour qu'ils brisent le cycle du commerce du sexe avec lequel certaines et certains d'entre eux sont aux prises. Cherry voyage partout dans le monde pour recueillir les histoires d'autres enfants et parler en leur nom lors de conférences internationales. Le gouvernement ontarien a récemment embauché Mme Kingsley à titre de consultante sur les questions stratégiques touchant les jeunes et l'exploitation sexuelle dans la province. Elle continue de recueillir les histoires de jeunes femmes et de faire connaître un sujet qui est tellement souvent entouré de silence.

Elizabeth Mackenzie
Rae (Territoires du Nord-Ouest)

En tant que modèle pour les femmes dogrib et son peuple, Elizabeth Mackenzie, une aînée de la nation déné, s'efforce de trouver un juste équilibre entre les compétences acquises à l'école et celles qui sont enseignées par le milieu de vie. En utilisant ces éléments pour être « forte comme deux », de nombreuses jeunes femmes dogrib citent l'exemple de Mme Mackenzie pour expliquer pourquoi elles poursuivent activement leurs études, leur apprentissage de la culture autochtone et des carrières. Les intérêts de leur mère ont même incité trois des filles d'Elizabeth à enseigner, interpréter et créer du matériel didactique dogrib. Son ardent désir de promouvoir l'apprentissage chez elle et chez les autres a permis à Mme Mackenzie de servir pendant vingt ans la Rae-Edzo School Society, la première école dirigée par des Autochtones au Canada. En 1991, ses efforts visant à combiner les enseignements des deux cultures ont été reconnus à Rae, où l'école élémentaire a été nommée en son honneur.

Sabine Sonnemann
Newmarket (Ontario)

Après avoir été élue présidente fondatrice de la section locale 70348 de l'Alliance de la fonction publique du Canada, Mme Sonnemann a enclenché le processus qui a mené au plus important recours collectif pour l'équité salariale. Tout en travaillant en tant que bibliothécaire professionnelle à la Bibliothèque nationale et aux Archives nationales du Canada, Sabine a constaté des écarts en comparant les salaires des spécialistes de la recherche historique, un groupe comparable au sien, mais à prédominance masculine. Après avoir formé des groupes d'étude chargés d'examiner la question, la première cause d'équité salariale a été gagnée en 1980 contre le gouvernement fédéral, en grande partie grâce au travail acharné et à la ténacité de Mme Sonnemann. Le plus important règlement en matière d'équité salariale dans le monde a été conclu près de vingt ans plus tard. Grâce aux initiatives de Sabine Sonnemann, des femmes partout au pays reconnaissent maintenant l'importance d'un salaire égal pour un travail de valeur égale.

Date de modification :