2001 Recipients

Vera Danyluk
Montreal, Quebec

As the mayor of Mont Royal from 1987 to 1993 and as President of the Communauté urbaine de Montréal since 1994, Vera Danyluk has worked tirelessly to make her community, and those across Canada, safe for families, men and women to live in. A recipient of the Canada 125 Medal and Woman of Achievement Award of 1997, she has been a member of numerous boards, including being the vice-chair of the National Strategy on Community Safety and Crime Prevention. Whether through her role as a teacher, her political career or her continuous work in community organizations, Mrs. Danyluk strives to build communities without fear of violence and crime.

Madeleine Gaudet
Fredericton, New Brunswick

A dedicated health care professional, "Nonnie" has devoted most of her life to helping others. In 1982, after being provincial secretary-treasurer for the New Brunswick Nurses Union (NBNU) for two years, Ms. Gaudet became its president and served as such for eight years. Recognizing that the profession is largely female, she realized that the value of women's work had to be promoted before the work of a nurse was fully valued. Ms. Gaudet served on the pension committee of the NBNU to improve benefits and ensure that retiring members would not live below the poverty line. Continuing to support and fight for the rights of all women, Ms. Gaudet has served as chairperson of the Board of the Muriel McQueen Fergusson Centre for Family Violence Research; as chairperson for the pension committee for part-time and seasonal employees employed by the Province of New Brunswick; on the New Brunswick Advisory Council on the Status of Women for nine years and on the executive of both the Canadian Nurses Association and the National Federation of Nurses unions.

Kathleen Mahoney
Calgary, Alberta

Throughout her career as a lawyer and a professor of law at the University of Calgary, Kathleen Mahoney has fought for women's rights in Canada and around the world. She was one of the founders of the Women's Legal Education and Action Fund (LEAF) to promote equality for women and girls through the Canadian legal system. In Canada, two of Professor Mahoney's pro bono victories in the courts include the Keestra and Butler cases which upheld limits on hate speech and pornography in the interests of equality. On an international front, she was the member of the pro bono legal team responsible for the legal argument that systematic rape is a form of genocide in the case of Serbian war actions. This work was also requested for the International Criminal Tribunal in Rwanda and the Hague. Whether it is through her role as a writer or through her position in the university, Professor Mahoney continues to be influential in judicial education, combating child pornography and other forms of sexual exploitation.

Linda Silver Dranoff
Toronto, Ontario

As a family law lawyer, writer, activist for law reform, speaker and media commentator, Linda Silver Dranoff has for 27 years advanced the cause of equality for Canadian women, and contributed to the significant expansion of women's rights in family law. She was counsel on precedent-setting cases for women, including the first Supreme Court of Canada case to give Ontario wives a share of family investments, and the first to expand spousal support rights to take account of benefits, bonuses and changes in the cost-of-living. She spearheaded the lobbying drive in Ontario for equal sharing of family property for divorced and widowed spouses, resulting in the Family Law Act 1986. As a member of the Ontario Council on the Status of Women, Linda Silver Dranoff contributed to briefs and lobbied for law reform with respect to family property, pay inequity, sexual harassment, disinherited spouses, child care, violence against women, constitutional issues, and the establishment of a Ministry Responsible for the Status of Women. Linda Silver Dranoff's four law books, her regular "Ask a Lawyer" column in Chatelaine (in its 23rd year), and her other writings, speeches and media appearances, have given women the power that comes from knowing their rights.

Lynda Sorensen
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories

Woman can affect change in many ways. Lynda Sorensen, a mother of three, has dedicated her life to helping, encouraging and mentoring women of all ages to create and author change through the political system. Ms. Sorensen was the director of nursing at Stanton Yellowknife Hospital. Later she was instrumental in establishing the first northern branch of the Consumers Association of Canada and is a founding member of the Yellowknife Business and Professional Women's Association. A former Member of the Legislative Assembly, active for 25 years in the Western Arctic Liberal Association and past president of the National Women's Liberal Commission, her dynamic political career is inspiration to many Canadian women. As the first Chief of Staff to the Premier of the Northwest Territories, she continues to create awareness and motivation among her peers and to make significant contributions to her community and society as a whole.

Anila Umar (Youth Award)
Calgary, Alberta


Coming to the end of two degrees in Biological Sciences and Psychology, both Bachelors of Science, Anila Umar has still found the time in her busy school career to lobby for change, give voice to young immigrant women and minority women of Calgary and advocate for youth and children's rights. From co-chairing the Indian Student's Association to serving on the Board of Directors for Alberta/NWT Network of Immigrant Women as a youth representative, Ms. Umar is a wonderful role model for Canadian youth and young women in particular. Her tireless efforts are just the beginning of an inspirational career in youth and children's rights.

Date modified:

Lauréates de 2001

Vera Danyluk
Montréal (Québec)

En tant que maire de Ville Mont-Royal de 1987 à 1993 et présidente de la Communauté urbaine de Montréal depuis 1994, Vera Danyluk a travaillé inlassablement pour rendre sa communauté ainsi que toutes les communautés au Canada plus sûres pour les familles, les femmes et les hommes. Récipiendaire de la Médaille commémorative du 125e anniversaire de la Confédération du Canada et du Prix Femme de mérite en 1997, elle a fait partie de nombreux conseils d'administration en plus d'être vice-présidente de la Stratégie nationale sur la sécurité communautaire et la prévention du crime. Que ce soit dans son rôle d'enseignante, de femme politique ou dans son travail auprès d'organisations communautaires, Mme Danyluk s'efforce de bâtir des communautés qui n'ont pas à craindre la violence et la criminalité.

Madeleine Gaudet
Fredericton (Nouveau-Brunswick)

Professionnelle dévouée de la santé, « Nonnie » a consacré la majeure partie de sa vie aux autres. En 1982, après avoir occupé le poste de secrétaire-trésorière provinciale du Syndicat des infirmières du Nouveau-Brunswick (SINB) pendant deux ans, Mme Gaudet en a assumé la présidence pendant huit ans. Consciente du fait que la profession est en grande partie féminine, elle s'est rendu compte qu'il fallait valoriser le travail des femmes pour que la profession infirmière soit appréciée à sa juste valeur. Mme Gaudet a fait partie du comité sur les pensions de la SINB afin d'améliorer les prestations et de voir à ce que les membres à la retraite ne vivent pas sous le seuil de la pauvreté. Tout en continuant d'appuyer la lutte pour les droits de toutes les femmes, Mme Gaudet a présidé le conseil d'administration du Centre Muriel McQueen Fergusson pour la recherche sur la violence familiale, ainsi que le comité sur les pensions des employées et employés à temps partiel et saisonniers du gouvernement du Nouveau-Brunswick. Elle a aussi fait partie du Conseil consultatif sur la condition de la femme du Nouveau-Brunswick pendant neuf ans et été membre du bureau de l'Association des infirmières et infirmiers du Canada et de la Fédération nationale des syndicats d'infirmières et d'infirmiers.

Kathleen Mahoney
Calgary (Alberta)

Pendant toute sa carrière d'avocate et de professeure de droit à la University of Calgary, Kathleen Mahoney a défendu les droits des femmes au Canada et dans le monde entier. Elle a été une des fondatrices du Fonds d'action et d'éducation juridiques pour les femmes (FAEJ), qui fait la promotion de l'égalité des femmes et des filles dans le cadre du système judiciaire canadien. Au Canada, les affaires Keestra et Butler, qui ont confirmé les limites imposées aux discours haineux et à la pornographie dans l'intérêt de l'égalité, sont deux des victoires remportées par Mme Mahoney dans le cadre de causes défendues à titre bénévole. Sur le plan international, elle a fait partie de l'équipe de juristes bénévoles responsable d'une argumentation juridique selon laquelle les viols systématiques constituent une forme de génocide dans le cadre des crimes de guerre commis en Serbie. Ce travail a aussi été demandé pour le Tribunal pénal international au Rwanda et à La Haye. Que ce soit en tant qu'auteure ou dans le cadre de son rôle de professeure à l'université, Mme Mahoney est toujours influente sur le plan de la formation des juges en combattant la pornographie juvénile et les autres formes d'exploitation sexuelle.

Linda Silver Dranoff
Toronto (Ontario)

En tant qu'avocate spécialisée en droit de la famille, auteure, activiste de la réforme du droit, conférencière et commentatrice dans les médias, Linda Silver Dranoff a, pendant 27 ans, fait la promotion de l'égalité des Canadiennes et contribué à un élargissement marqué des droits de la femme sur le plan du droit de la famille. Elle a agit comme conseillère juridique dans le cadre de causes qui ont créé des précédents pour les femmes, y compris la première décision de la Cour suprême du Canada qui accordait aux épouses ontariennes une partie des investissements familiaux et la première cause qui a permis d'étendre les droits au titre des pensions alimentaires pour conjointes afin de tenir compte des prestations, des primes et du coût de la vie. Elle a dirigé le lobby ontarien en faveur d'un partage égal du patrimoine familial pour les femmes divorcées ou veuves qui a été à l'origine de la Loi sur le droit de la famille en 1986. En tant que membre du Conseil consultatif de l'Ontario sur la condition féminine, Linda Silver Dranoff a participé à la préparation de mémoires et a exercé des pressions en faveur de changements législatifs relativement au patrimoine familial, à la rémunération inéquitable, au harcèlement sexuel, aux conjointes déshéritées, aux services de garde pour enfants, à la violence envers les femmes, aux questions constitutionnelles et à la création d'un ministère responsable de la condition féminine. Les quatre livres de droit rédigés par Linda Silver Dranoff et sa chronique régulière « Ask a Lawyer » (qui en est à sa 23ae année) dans la revue Chatelaine, de même que ses écrits, discours et ses apparitions dans les médias ont doté les femmes du pouvoir qui vient du fait de connaître leurs droits.

Lynda Sorensen
Yellowknife (Territoires du Nord-Ouest)

Les femmes peuvent amener des changements de nombreuses façons. Lynda Sorensen, une mère de trois enfants, a consacré sa vie à aider, à encourager et à encadrer des femmes de tous les âges afin d'amener des changements par l'entremise du système politique. Mme Sorensen a été directrice des soins infirmiers à l'hôpital Stanton de Yellowknife. Elle a par la suite joué un rôle de premier plan dans l'établissement de la première filiale du Nord de l'Association des consommateurs du Canada en plus d'être une des membres fondatrices de la Yellowknife Business and Professional Women's Association. Ancienne députée de l'Assemblée législative, membre active pendant 25 ans de l'Association libérale de l'Arctique de l'Ouest et ancienne présidente de la Commission libérale féminine nationale, sa carrière politique dynamique est source d'inspiration pour nombre de Canadiennes. En tant que première chef de cabinet du premier ministre des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, elle continue de sensibiliser et de motiver ses pairs et d'apporter une contribution importante à sa collectivité et à la société en général.

Anila Umar (Prix jeunesse)
Calgary (Alberta)

Tout en complétant deux baccalauréats, soit en biologie et en psychologie, Anila Umar a trouvé le temps, malgré un programme d'études très chargé, d'exercer des pressions en faveur de changements, de se faire la porte-parole des jeunes femmes immigrantes et minoritaires de Calgary et d'oeuvrer activement en faveur des droits des jeunes et des enfants. Que ce soit en tant que coprésidente de la Indian Student's Association ou membre du conseil d'administration et représentante des jeunes du Network of Immigrant Women de l'Alberta et des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, Mme Umar est un merveilleux exemple pour la jeunesse canadienne et les jeunes femmes en particulier. Ses efforts inlassables ne sont que le début d'une édifiante carrière dans le domaine de la défense des droits des jeunes et des enfants.

Date de modification :