2003 Recipients

Nicole Demers
Laval, Quebec

Nicole Demers has devoted her life to advancing the status of women and defending human rights. Active in the union movement, she drafted the first collective agreement for women in the hotel industry and lobbied to give women access to positions that traditionally went to men - jobs that paid better and often came with benefits. In her extensive volunteer work, Ms. Demers strives to improve the lives of society's most vulnerable, particularly women, senior citizens and youth. She has volunteered at the first shelter for women living with the human immunovirus (HIV), and started a soup kitchen in Acton Vale, Quebec. In addition, she helped found the Acton Vale women's centre, one more of many organizations that benefiting from Ms. Demers' insight and energy.

Eira "Babs" Friesen
Winnipeg, Manitoba

Eira Friesen is a legend in the Winnipeg community. Earlier this year, she was inducted into the Order of Canada and received the Queen's Jubilee Award as well as the Medal of Merit from the Girl Guides of Canada, the Paul LeJeune Volunteer Service Awards from the Manitoba Council for International Cooperation, and the 50th Anniversary United Nations Global Citizen Award. She is a YMCA-YWCA Woman of Distinction—devoting over 45 years to the Winnipeg YWCA and the YMCA-YWCA of Winnipeg, and the driving force behind the Y's Women's Resource Centre. Babs has been active with the local and provincial Councils of Women and is the Manitoba representative to the National Council of Women of Canada Development Organization.

Joyce Sandra Hayden
Whitehorse, Yukon Territory

Joyce Hayden's contribution to women's rights and history in the Yukon is unparalleled. Ms Hayden served as a member of the Legislative Assembly, worked as a freelance writer and editor, established her own publishing house and found time to engage in ground-breaking community service. She wrote and published a history of the Yukon Girl Guides and the history of Yukon political women. Ms. Hayden initiated the first Yukon feminist and family programming, including a feminist consciousness-raising group that led to a Yukon women's conference; and was a founding member of both the Yukon Status of Women Council and the Yukon Women's Mini-Bus Society. She has been legally blind since 1983.

Jennifer Hustwitt (Youth Award)
Waterloo, Ontario

A first year university student, Jennifer Hustwitt has been an outstanding volunteer in both her school and community. In 2002, she travelled to Nicaragua to help build one of two schools, raising more than $35,000 in support of the project. Thanks to Ms. Hustwitt's efforts, the Waterloo Region District School Board became the first public board in Canada to have an ethical purchasing policy to ensure manufacturers of school clothes are not "sweat shops" exploiting women and children workers. Ms. Hustwitt has received many accolades and awards for her outstanding school- and community-service work, receiving the Zonta "Young Women in Public Affairs" award and the YMCA Peace Medallion in the International Category.

Marilou McPhedran
Toronto, Ontario

Named one of Canada's 10 most influential feminists, Marilou McPhedran remains undaunted by backlash to her systemic change strategies for health and equality. As a lawyer, legal counsel, spokeswoman and single mother of two sons, she has been tenacious in using the law to advance national and international women's human rights. Committed to collective action, Ms. McPhedran co-led the unprecedented grassroots campaign to entrench women's constitutional equality in the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms, strengthening sex equality in Section 15 and winning the "Equal Rights Amendment" of Section 28, then co-founded the Legal Education and Action Fund (LEAF), to set positive precedents. She is the youngest lawyer ever appointed to the Order of Canada.

Jayanti Negi
Calgary, Alberta

Jayanti Negi came to Canada in 1972. Noting the lack of support available to immigrant women, particularly those experiencing abuse, she set about to create change, making a tremendous difference in the lives of countless new Canadian women and men. A resident of Edmonton, she co-founded the Indo-Canadian Women's Association, the Millwoods Welcome Centre for Immigrants and the Alberta Network of Immigrant Women. She has served as a board member for the Edmonton Multicultural Society and Race Relations Council, and the National Organization of Immigrant and Visible Minority Women of Canada. She is a powerful force in eradicating racism, sexism and violence, creating a better quality of life for all Canadians, and a more welcoming home for newcomers to Canada.

Date modified:

Lauréates de 2003

Nicole Demers
Laval (Québec)

Nicole Demers, a dévoué toute sa vie à l'avancement des femmes et à la défense des droits de la personne. Engagée dans le mouvement syndical, elle rédige la première convention collective pour les femmes dans l'industrie hôtelière et fait pression pour que celles-ci aient accès aux emplois traditionnellement réservés aux hommes - des emplois mieux rémunérés et généralement assortis d'avantages sociaux. Madame Demers est parallèlement très active dans le milieu bénévole, cherchant à améliorer la vie des plus défavorisés, en particulier les femmes, les personnes âgées et les jeunes. Elle a travaillé comme bénévole au premier refuge pour femmes porteuses du virus de l'immunodéficience humaine (VIH) et mis sur pied une soupe populaire à Acton Vale (Québec). En outre, elle a contribué à la création d'un centre pour les femmes d'Acton Vale, un des nombreux autres organismes bénévoles qui bénéficient de la perspicacité et de l'énergie de madame Demers.

Eira "Babs" Friesen
Winnipeg (Manitoba)

Eira Friesen est une légende à Winnipeg. Plus tôt cette année, elle a été reçue à l'Ordre du Canada. Elle s'est également vue décerner la Médaille du jubilé de la reine élizabeth II, la Médaille du mérite des Guides, le prix Paul Lejeune Volunteer Award du Manitoba Council for International Cooperation ainsi que la carte de citoyenne du monde remise par l'Organisation des Nations Unies (ONU) à l'occasion de son 50e anniversaire. En outre, elle a reçu la mention Femme de mérite du YMCA-YWCA, ce qui est tout en son honneur étant donné qu'elle se dévoue depuis plus de 45 ans au YWCA et au YMCA-YWCA de Winnipeg. C'est à elle qu'on doit en grande partie la création du Y Women's Resource Centre. Elle a participé à des conseils de femmes à l'échelon local et provincial et agi à titre de représentante du Manitoba au Conseil national des femmes du Canada, un organisme de développement.

Joyce Sandra Hayden
Whitehorse (Yukon)

La contribution de Joyce Hayden aux droits et à l'histoire des femmes du Yukon est sans précédent. Elle a siégé à l'Assemblée législative du Manitoba, travaillé à la pige à titre de rédactrice et d'éditrice, a mis sur pied sa propre maison d'édition et a même réussi à consacrer du temps à un service communautaire innovateur. Elle a écrit et publié un ouvrage sur l'histoire des Guides du Yukon et l'histoire des femmes en politique au Yukon. Madame Hayden a lancé le premier mouvement féministe et programme familial au Yukon, dont un groupe de sensibilisation à la condition féminine responsable de la présentation d'une conférence sur les femmes du Yukon. De plus, elle est cofondatrice du Yukon Status of Women Council et de la Yukon Women's Mini?Bus Society. Notons que cette femme est aveugle au sens de la loi depuis 1983.

Jennifer Hustwitt (Prix jeunesse)
Waterloo (Ontario)

En à sa première année d'études à l'université, Jennifer Hustwitt a pratiqué l'important travail de bénévole à son école et dans sa collectivité. En 2002, elle s'est rendue au Nicaragua afin d'aider à la construction de deux écoles et a réussi à amasser plus de 35 000 $ pour financer le projet. Ses efforts ont aussi permis au Waterloo Region District School Board d'être le premier conseil scolaire au Canada à se doter d'une politique d'acquisition responsable de vêtements d'école afin de veiller à ce que ces derniers ne proviennent pas " d'ateliers de misère " dans lesquels les employeurs abusent du travail des femmes et des enfants. Mademoiselle Hustwitt a reçu des accolades et des prix à maintes reprises soulignant ainsi son travail exceptionnel à l'école et dans la collectivité, tel que le prix Zonta dans la catégorie " Jeune femme participant aux affaires publiques " ainsi que la Médaille de la paix du YMCA dans la catégorie internationale.

Marilou McPhedran
Toronto (Ontario)

Considérée parmi les dix féministes les plus influentes du Canada, Marilou McPhedran n'a jamais été effrayée par les réactions brutales qu'ont suscitées ses stratégies de changement systématiques en matière de santé et d'égalité. à titre d'avocate, de conseillère juridique, de porte-parole ainsi que de mère de deux garçons et chef de famille, elle a travaillé sans relâche à promouvoir les droits des femmes à l'échelle nationale et internationale en se servant de la loi. Madame McPhedran a codirigé une campagne populaire sans précédent visant à inscrire l'égalité des femmes dans la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés, renforçant ainsi l'égalité des sexes en vertu de l'article 15. En outre, elle a réussi à faire modifier la Charte afin d'y inclure l'article 28 sur " l'égalité garantie des droits pour les deux sexes ". Elle a cofondé le Legal Education and Action Fund (LEAF), créant ainsi un heureux précédent. Elle a aussi été la plus jeune avocate à être reçue à l'Ordre du Canada.

Jayanti Negi
Edmonton (Alberta)

Jayanti Negi est arrivée au Canada en 1972. En remarquant le manque de soutien qu'on offrait aux immigrantes, surtout celles qui avaient été victimes d'abus, elle a donc décidé de provoquer le changement. Son travail a eu des effets importants sur la vie d'innombrables néo-Canadiennes et néo-Canadiens. Cette femme d'Edmonton a cofondé la Indo-Canadian Women's Association, le Millwoods Welcome Centre for Immigrants et le Alberta Network of Immigrant Women. Elle a participé à titre de membre du conseil d'administration de l'Edmonton Multicultural Society et le Race Relations Council ainsi que la National Organization of Immigrant and Visible Minority Women of Canada. Jayanti Negi est une force puissante qui agit pour éradiquer le racisme, le sexisme et la violence, pour améliorer la qualité de vie de l'ensemble des Canadiennes et des Canadiens ainsi que pour faire du Canada une terre d'accueil encore plus hospitalière pour les immigrantes et les immigrants.

Date de modification :