2004 Recipients

Allison Brewer
Iqaluit, Nunavut

Allison Brewer has worked tirelessly for equal rights for all people, particularly those in the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgendered communities. From New Brunswick to Nunavut, Ms. Brewer's work in journalism, the labour movement and volunteerism has often focused on human rights and social justice issues. The mother of three children, including a son with Down's Syndrome, she has long advocated for people with disabilities. Founder and former manager of the Morgentaler Clinic in Fredericton, New Brunswick, Ms. Brewer strongly defends a woman's right to choose. In her role as Vice-President of the Qulliit Nunavut Status of Women Council, Ms. Brewer worked to promote the equality rights of women and girls in Nunavut . Recently, she led the campaign in support of the Nunavut Human Rights Act; legislation that includes protection against discrimination based on sexual orientation. Ms. Brewer continues her work through her involvement as a founding member of Iqaluit Pride and Friends of Pride, and her support for legal recognition of same-sex marriage.

Léa Cousineau
Montréal, Quebec

Led by the desire to give women access to training that allows them to fulfill their potential and use their expertise, Léa Cousineau works to ensure the presence and representation of women in all aspects of the municipal decision-making process. In her role as a leader on the Executive Committee of the City of Montréal and on the Public Security Commission of the Montréal Urban Community, Ms. Cousineau has opened many doors for women to participate in non-traditional roles in the City of Montréal through an employment equity agreement with the city's labour unions. She was instrumental in changes to the Montréal Police Service, leading to the hiring of more women police officers and a more transparent and community-friendly approach to policing. She was also a member of the Status of Women Council and Associate Deputy Minister responsible for the status of women in Québec where she supported the establishment of a programme analyzing differentials between genders and a grant programme enabling Quebec women to maintain involvement in regional development. She is currently a member and chair of the Workplace Partnerships Commission in Québec.

Huberte Gautreau
Moncton, New Brunswick

Huberte Gautreau has spent her life working for the rights of women and disadvantaged groups, particularly in her home province of New Brunswick. A nurse and teacher by profession, she has carried these skills and extended them to help families living in violence, including co-founding Carrefour pour femmes, a Moncton shelter for women and children victims of domestic violence. Recognizing the need to provide counseling and guidance to men inclined to violence, Mme Gautreau is a co-founder of the Groupe Option for this purpose. She was a sexual and gender harassment counselor, as well as an international solidarity education coordinator at the University of Moncton. She also lent her expertise to the development of AIDS and Hepatitis informational videos directed at those living in incarceration. Mme Gautreau was Chair of the Pay Equity Coalition in New Brunswick and established the New Brunswick Committee for the World March of Women, of which she was the Francophone Chair. Mme Gautreau continues her advocacy for pay equity in New Brunswick and currently serves as the spokesperson for the Concerned Citizens Committee for Peace/Comité pour la paix, a militant committee against Canada's participation to the US national missile defense system.

Bonnie Sherr Klein
Vancouver, British Columbia

Bonnie Sherr Klein, a pioneering filmmaker, focuses on social justice issues and giving voice to those who are ignored or misrepresented, including women, persons with disabilities, and young people. Ms. Klein has created many documentaries for the National Film Board of Canada, most notably in Studio D, the Women's Studio. Her 1981 film Not A Love Story: A Film About Pornography launched the dialogue on the subject of pornography. She co-directed Speaking Our Peace, which explores the position of women towards peace and power. In 1987, while in her mid-forties, Ms. Klein experienced a devastating stroke that left her with residual disabilities. She shared her rehabilitation process through various articles, award-winning radio productions, and Slow Dance: A Story of Stroke, Love and Disability. Ms. Klein has been recognized with an honourary doctorate from Ryerson University. She is co-founder and volunteer artistic advisor for the Society for Disability Arts and Culture, which produces the KickstART Festivals. She is currently directing her first film in the seventeen years since her stroke, about artists with disabilities. She lives on the Sunshine Coast with her husband Michael; they have two children, Naomi and Seth.

Chi Nguyen (Youth Award)
Ottawa, Ontario

Chi Nguyen is a recent graduate of McGill University where her interest in Canadian politics unfolded when she founded Women in House in 2001. This program matches students with a female political leader in a two-day job-shadowing experience in Ottawa.  Ms. Nguyen has also been active in many community initiatives from educating young women about their sexual health to improving their political knowledge and democratic participation. Currently, she sits on the Board of Directors for the Canadian Women's Health Network and the steering committee of a new national foundation on reproductive health in Canada: Canadians for Choice. Her latest project was an on-line initiative called Young Women Vote: The 20,000 Project that hoped to encourage as many as 20,000 young women to pledge to vote. In 2001, she co-authored St. Stephen's Community House's The Little Black Book: A Guide to Sexual Health for Grrrls by Grrrls. Already a YWCA Young Woman of Distinction Award winner in 1999 for her work on Venus Magazine and for her community work in Toronto, Ms. Nguyen has and will undoubtedly continue to make an impact on women's and gender equality.

Rosemary Speirs
Calgary, Alberta

One of Canada's leading political journalists, Rosemary Speirs is also the founder and chair of Equal Voice/À Voix égales. This is an influential national advocacy group for the election of more women to every level of government in Canada. Equal Voice members include elected politicians and political activists in every major political party and every region of the country. Ms. Speirs has also founded the Women's Political ConneXion that links women's groups and prominent individuals across Canada to support the cause of electing more women. In representations to the Law Commission of Canada, Ms. Speirs called for electoral law reforms to create a fairer Parliament based on proportional representation. On behalf of Equal Voice she also pressed for voluntary affirmative actions by political parties to greatly increase the number of women nominated to run for political office. In 1994, Ms. Speirs wrote the brief to the Electoral Reform Commission of Canada that was later reflected in election financing reforms in 2003. Through her continued work, Ms. Speirs and Equal Voice make Canadians aware of successes achieved and the many barriers to equal representation that still remain.

Frances Wright
Calgary, Alberta

The Famous 5 are a group of Canada's democratic champions and Frances Wright has enjoyed bringing these magnificent nation builders and their achievements into the hearts and minds of Canadians and others! These remarkable feminists inspired Frances to establish the Famous 5 Foundation (1996) and honour these heroes and other women. Through her leadership, the F5 have been celebrated with larger than life bronze monuments on Parliament Hill in Ottawa and in Olympic Plaza in Calgary, youth programs, an education guide, textbooks, a stamp and a new $50 bank note also featuring Therese Casgrain. Together with remarkable volunteers and corporate sponsors from across Canada, Frances is following in the footsteps of the F5 and has only just begun to enable both women and men to contribute to the building of Canada. Along with others, Ms. Wright is striving to restore Canada's national anthem to be inclusive by changing the words to "True patriot love, in all of us command!"

Date modified:

Lauréates de 2004

Allison Brewer
Iqaluit (Nunavut)

Allison Brewer oeuvre sans relâche pour l'égalité de tous les humains, surtout des collectivités de personnes lesbiennes, gaies, bisexuelles et transgenres. Du Nouveau-Brunswick au Nunavut, les activités de Mme Brewer en journalisme, au sein du mouvement ouvrier et dans le domaine du bénévolat ont souvent porté sur les droits de la personne et les questions de justice sociale. Mère de trois enfants, dont l'un est atteint du syndrome de Down's, elle défend depuis longtemps les droits des personnes handicapées. En tant que fondatrice et ancienne directrice de la Clinique Morgentaler à Fredericton, au Nouveau-Brunswick, Mme  Brewer défend avec acharnement le droit de choisir des femmes. à titre de vice-présidente du Qulliit Nunavut Status of Women Council, Mme  Brewer a fait la promotion du droit à l'égalité des femmes et des filles du Nunavut. Récemment, elle a dirigé la campagne d'appui à la Nunavut Human Rights Act, une loi qui vise notamment à protéger les citoyennes et les citoyens contre la discrimination fondée sur l'orientation sexuelle. De plus, Mme  Brewer poursuit ses travaux en étant membre fondatrice de l'Iqaluit Pride and Friends of Pride et elle appuie la reconnaissance juridique du mariage entre conjoints de même sexe.

Léa Cousineau
Montréal (Québec)

Mue par son désir de soutenir les femmes qui cherchent à suivre une formation pour réaliser leur plein potentiel ainsi qu'à mettre leur savoir-faire en valeur, Léa Cousineau travaille à améliorer la représentation des femmes dans les diverses facettes du processus municipal de décision. En qualité de membre du comité exécutif de la Ville de Montréal et de la Commission de la sécurité publique de la Communauté urbaine de Montréal, elle a ouvert un grand nombre d'emplois non traditionnels aux femmes à l'intérieur de la Ville grâce à un accord d'équité en emploi avec les syndicats concernés. Elle a contribué à un grand nombre de changements dans le Service de police de Montréal, incluant l'augmentation du nombre de recrues féminines et l'adoption d'une approche plus transparente du maintien de l'ordre, plus à l'écoute de la communauté. Elle a siégé au Conseil du statut de la femme et a assumé les fonctions de sous-ministre associée à la condition féminine au sein du gouvernement québécois où elle a soutenu à l'implantation d'un programme d'analyse différenciée selon les sexes et un programme de subvention pour soutenir l'implication des Québécoises dans le développement régional. Elle préside actuellement la Commission des partenaires du marché du travail au Québec.

Huberte Gautreau
Moncton (Nouveau-Brunswick)

Huberte Gautreau a passé sa vie à défendre les droits des femmes et des groupes désavantagés, en particulier au Nouveau-Brunswick, sa province natale. Enseignante et infirmière de profession, elle a mis ses compétences au service des familles vivant dans la violence. Elle est notamment l'une des cofondatrices du Carrefour pour femmes, un refuge pour les femmes et les enfants victimes de violence à Moncton. Consciente de la nécessité d'offrir counselling et orientation aux hommes portés à la violence, Mme Gautreau a co-fondé le Groupe Option, qui leur vient en aide. Elle a été conseillère en harcèlement sexuel et sexiste et coordonnatrice pour l'éducation à la solidarité internationale à l'Université de Moncton. Elle a aussi prêté son savoir-faire à la conception de vidéos éducatives sur le SIDA et l'hépatite à l'intention des détenus. Mme Gautreau a présidé la Coalition pour l'équité salariale du Nouveau-Brunswick et mis sur pied le comité provincial pour la Marche mondiale des femmes dont elle a été la présidente francophone. Mme Gautreau continue de défendre défendre l'adoption d'une loi sur l'équité salariale et est actuellement porte-parole du comité Concerned Citizens for Peace/Comité pour la paix, comité qui milite pour la non-participation du Canada au bouclier antimissile américain.

Bonnie Sherr Klein
Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique)

Bonnie Sherr Klein, cinéaste d'avant-garde, privilégie les questions de justice sociale et donne la parole à ceux qu'on ignore ou dont on donne une fausse image, notamment les femmes, les personnes handicapées et les jeunes. Elle a fait de nombreux documentaires pour l'Office national du film du Canada, plus particulièrement au Studio D, le Women's Studio . Son film sorti en 1981, C'est surtout pas de l'amour : un film sur la pornographie , a lancé le débat sur ce sujet. Elle a codirigé Speaking Our Peace , un documentaire qui traite de la prise de position des femmes à l'égard de la paix et du pouvoir. En 1987, alors qu'elle avait autour de 45 ans, un très grave accident vasculaire cérébral lui a causé une invalidité résiduelle. Par le biais de nombreux articles, de productions radiophoniques primées et de Slow Dance: A Story of Stroke, Love and Disability , elle a relaté le cheminement de sa réadaptation fonctionnelle. L'Université Ryerson lui a rendu hommage en lui décernant un doctorat honorifique. Mme Klein est cofondatrice de la Society for Disability Arts and Culture qui organise les festivals KickstART, et elle y fait office de conseillère artistique à titre bénévole. Le film qu'elle met en scène actuellement, son premier depuis son attaque il y a 17 ans, a pour thème les artistes souffrant d'un handicap. Elle vit sur la Sunshine Coast avec son mari Michael; ils ont deux enfants, Naomi et Seth.

Chi Nguyen (Prix jeunesse)
Ottawa (Ontario)

Chi Nguyen a récemment obtenu un diplôme de l'Université McGill où son intérêt pour la politique canadienne l'a amenée à mettre sur pied le programme Women in House en 2001. Ce programme consiste à jumeler des étudiantes avec une dirigeante politique pour une expérience d'observation au travail de deux jours à Ottawa. Mme  Nguyen a également joué un rôle actif au sein de nombreux projets communautaires allant de l'éducation des jeunes femmes sur leur santé sexuelle à l'amélioration de leurs connaissances sur le monde politique et de leur participation démocratique. à l'heure actuelle, elle est membre du conseil d'administration du Réseau canadien pour la santé des femmes et du comité directeur d'une nouvelle fondation nationale pour la santé génésique au Canada : Canadians for Choice. Son plus récent projet a été une initiative en direct intitulée Young Women Vote: The 20,000 Project qui visait à encourager au moins 20 000 jeunes femmes à s'engager à voter. Mme Nguyen est aussi coauteure de l'ouvrage The Little Black Book: A Guide to Sexual Health for Grrrls by Grrrls publié en 2001 par l'agence St. Stephen's Community House. Mme  Nguyen, qui a déjà remporté la mention Femme de distinction du YWCA en 1999 pour son travail au Venus Magazine et pour ses travaux auprès dans la collectivité de Toronto, a et continuera sans aucun doute de faire une différence au chapitre de l'égalité des femmes et de l'égalité entre les sexes.

Rosemary Speirs
Toronto (Ontario)

L'une des journalistes politiques les plus en vue au Canada, Rosemary Speirs est aussi fondatrice et présidente du groupe à Voix Égales/Equal Voice. Cet important organisme national de défense des droits tente de faire accroître le nombre d'élues à tous les ordres de gouvernement au Canada. Le groupe À Voix égales est composé de politiciennes élues et d'activistes politiques provenant de tous les grands partis politiques et de toutes les régions du pays . Mme  Speirs a également fondé le groupe ConneXions politiques des femmes qui relie des groupes de femmes et des personnalités du Canada afin de favoriser l'élection d'un plus grand nombre de femmes. Dans des observations présentées à la Commission du droit du Canada, Mme  Speirs a exigé des réformes électorales visant à instaurer un Parlement plus équitable fondé sur la représentation proportionnelle. Au nom du groupe À Voix Égales, elle a aussi exercé des pressions pour que des mesures positives soient prises volontairement par les partis politiques afin de faire augmenter de façon significative le nombre de femmes qui sont nommées candidates aux élections. En 1994, Mme  Speirs a rédigé le mémoire présenté à la Commission sur la réforme électorale du Canada dont on s'est ensuite inspiré pour apporter des réformes au financement des élections en 2003. Par ses efforts soutenus au sein du groupe À Voix Égales, Mme  Speirs fait connaître aux Canadiennes et aux Canadiens les progrès accomplis et les nombreuses entraves à la représentation égale des femmes qui subsistent

Frances Wright
Calgary (Alberta)

Les Cinq femmes célèbres furent des championnes de la démocratie canadienne. C'est avec plaisir que Frances Wright a fait connaître ces admirables bâtisseuses de la nation et leurs réalisations aux Canadiennes et aux Canadiens, ainsi qu'à des citoyennes et citoyens d'autres pays. Ces féministes remarquables ont inspiré à Mme  Wright l'idée de créer la Fondation Famous 5 (1996) pour rendre hommage à leurs accomplissements et à ceux d'autres femmes. Grâce au leadership de Mme  Wright, l'oeuvre des Cinq femmes célèbres a été honorée de maintes manières : des statues de bronze plus grandes que nature ont été érigées à l'Olympic Plaza de Calgary et sur la colline du Parlement à Ottawa, des programmes pour les jeunes, un guide éducatif et des manuels ont été élaborés et un timbre-poste a été émis. De plus, un nouveau billet de cinquante dollars, qui rend aussi hommage à Thérèse Casgrain, sera mis en circulation! Appuyée par des bénévoles extraordinaires et par des sociétés commanditaires de partout au Canada, Frances Wright suit l'exemple des Cinq femmes célèbres - elle ne fait que commencer à donner aux femmes et aux hommes l'occasion de participer à l'édification du Canada. Unissant sa voix à celle d'autres Canadiennes et Canadiens, Mme Wright s'efforce de redonner à l'hymne national du Canada son caractère englobant initial en proposant que l'on modifie la version anglaise pour que celle-ci dise désormais « True patriot love, in all of us command!  ».

Date de modification :