2008 Recipients

Shelagh Day

Ms. Shelagh Day is an international authority on women's human rights who has dedicated 35 years of her life to ending discrimination against women. A prolific author, she is an expert on anti-discrimination law, constitutional equality rights, and social and economic rights. Ms. Day has enhanced public understanding of the strong connection between vigorous social programs and the fulfilment of women's human rights. A driving force behind ensuring that women can use their rights, she was the first President of the Women's Legal Education and Action Fund and a founder of the Court Challenges Program. Ms. Day is also a founder of the Canadian Feminist Alliance for International Action and Chair of its Human Rights Committee. A passionate advocate for equality for all women, Ms. Day is a much sought-after speaker. Among her many current pursuits, she is a Director of the Poverty and Human Rights Centre. Shelagh Day lives in Vancouver.

Frances Ennis

Frances Ennis is a feminist, social activist, public servant and rug hooking artist who has, over a 35-year period, made significant contributions to advancing equality for women. She has provided leadership on the boards and committees of many community,  provincial and national women's equality seeking organizations -  the Canadian Congress on Learning Opportunities for Women, Newfoundland and Labrador's Women in Resource Development, the Provincial Association Against Family Violence, Rabbittown Learners Program, the Women's Health Education Project and the 52% Solution, to name a few. Throughout her career, Ms. Ennis created and facilitated training programs and processes on a variety of topics for community organizations and government agencies. She authored and co-authored books on women's lives, including Strong as the Ocean, chronicling women in the fishery, and she has designed and hooked rugs depicting critical moments in women's history. Remember... Move Forward commemorates the victims of the Montreal Massacre, and Votes for Women is an image of marching suffragists. Frances Ennis lives in St. John's.

Beverley Jacobs

Beverley Jacobs is an activist, academic and political and spiritual leader who has dedicated her life to promoting equality for Aboriginal women and girls. A proud member of the Mohawk Nation, a former entrepreneur and now a lawyer, Ms. Jacobs has dealt with such issues as discrimination in the Indian Act, the impacts of residential schools, matrimonial real property and Aboriginal women's health. Elected president of the Native Women's Association of Canada (NWAC) in 2004, she has shown inspired leadership, especially in addressing the tragedy of missing and murdered Aboriginal women. Ms. Jacobs' groundbreaking work with Amnesty International and the Stolen Sisters report led to her commitment to NWAC's Sisters in Spirit initiative. Ms. Jacobs is mom to Ashley and gramma to Nicholas, Tessa and Bryson. She lives with her partner, Patrick Sandy, at the Six Nations Grand River Territory in southern Ontario (Ohsweken).

Maureen A. McTeer

Maureen McTeer is a lawyer, author and social activist who is an expert in issues of women's rights and health and those of law, science and public policy. She participated in the successful campaign to have women's equality rights enshrined in the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms in 1982. Her books include Parliament: Canada's Democracy and How it Works and Tough Choices: Living and Dying in the 21st Century. She served on Canada's Royal Commission on New Reproductive Technologies and is an expert on issues of reproduction and genetics. A dedicated volunteer, Ms. McTeer currently serves as the lay member of both the Society of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists of Canada and the Canadian Foundation for Women's Health. As well, she was a founding member of the Ottawa Health Council. Ms. McTeer has won academic and legal awards and honours for her work, including an honorary Doctorate of Laws from the University of Sheffield (U.K.) in 2008. She lives in Ottawa.

Maïr Verthuy

Maïr Verthuy is a researcher, academic and activist. Born in Wales, she immigrated to Canada in the late 1950s and taught at Concordia University from 1965 to 2003. In 1978, she co-founded Canada's first women's studies program, the Simone de Beauvoir Institute. Her focus was on Quebec French-language women writers, often with emphasis on immigrants. Ms. Verthuy has been honoured as Woman of the Year by the Salon de la Femme as well as a YWCA Woman of Distinction. She was a member of the Canadian delegation at the Beijing Fourth World Conference on Women in 1995. In 2001, she was named Chevalier de l'Ordre des Palmes académiques, the French government's highest distinction recognizing the promotion of the French culture, language and literature in teaching. Ms. Verthuy is past chair of the Thérèse Casgrain Foundation and of the Montreal Council of Women. A member of the Conseil des Montréalaises since 2006, Maïr Verthuy lives in Montréal.

YOUTH AWARD - Benjamin Barry

Ben Barry embraces gender equality in his work as well as in his life. At age 14, he founded the Ben Barry Modelling Agency, establishing offices in Ottawa and Toronto. Rejecting society's beauty myth, Mr. Barry's agency aims to create an inclusive and empowering fashion industry by representing models of all ages, sizes, colours, and abilities. Mr. Barry values his agency's 300 models as people, not products, encouraging them to express their unique personality and spirit. In 2002, Mr. Barry won the CIBC Canadian Student Entrepreneur of the Year Award and the Queen's Jubilee Medal. Mr. Barry graduated from university with a major in Women's Studies, and won a scholarship to Cambridge University to pursue doctoral studies on perceptions of beauty around the world. He serves on the board of the Canadian Foundation for Women's Health and wrote the book Fashioning Reality. Mr. Barry lives in Ottawa and Toronto.

Date modified:

Lauréates de 2008

Shelagh Day

Shelagh Day est une sommité mondiale des droits fondamentaux des femmes, qui se consacre depuis 35 ans à l'élimination de la discrimination fondée sur le sexe. Auteure prolifique, elle est une spécialiste de la législation antidiscrimination, des droits à l'égalité jouissant d'une protection constitutionnelle, ainsi que des droits sociaux et économiques. Mme Day a aidé à sensibiliser le public au fait qu'il existe un rapport puissant e entre des programmes sociaux solides et le respect des droits fondamentaux des femmes. Elle a joué un rôle de premier plan pour faire en sorte que les femmes puissent invoquer leurs droits, en tant que présidente du Fonds d'action et d'éducation juridiques pour les femmes et de cofondatrice du Programme de contestation judiciaire. Elle a aussi aidé à créer l'Alliance canadienne féministe pour l'action internationale, dont elle préside le Comité des droits de l'homme. Ses plaidoyers passionnés en faveur de l'égalité pour toutes les femmes en font une conférencière très recherchée. Parmi ses autres engagements actuels, Mme Day est l'une des directrices du Poverty and Human Rights Centre. Shelagh Day vit à Vancouver.

Frances Ennis

Frances Ennis est une féministe, une militante, une employée du secteur public et une artiste-tisseuse de tapis qui travaille à l'avancement de l'égalité pour les femmes depuis plus de 35 ans. Elle a occupé des postes de décision au sein de nombreux organismes qui revendiquent l'égalité pour les femmes à l'échelle locale, provinciale et nationale, y compris le Canadian Congress on Learning Opportunities for Women, l'organisme Women in Resource Development, de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, la Provincial Association Against Family Violence, le Rabbittown Learners Program, le Women's Health Education Project et l'organisme 52% Solution. Au fil de sa carrière, Mme Ennis a créé des manuels de formation et des procédures traitant d'une vaste gamme de sujets à l'intention d'organismes communautaires autant que gouvernementaux. Frances Ennis a signé ou cosigné plusieurs livres qui racontent l'histoire des femmes, dont Strong as the Ocean, un ouvrage qui brosse un portrait des femmes du secteur des pêches. Elle a également conçu et tissé des tapis qui illustrent des moments clés de l'histoire des femmes. Remember... Move Forward rend hommage aux victimes du massacre de Polytechnique, et Votes for Women représente une manifestation de suffragettes. Frances Ennis vit à St. John's.

Beverley Jacobs

Beverley Jacobs est une militante, une universitaire et une chef politique et spirituelle qui a consacré sa vie à promouvoir l'égalité pour les femmes et les filles autochtones. Mme Jacobs est membre de la nation mohawk, et cette ancienne entrepreneure devenue avocate est intervenue dans des dossiers comme ceux de la discrimination dans la Loi sur les indiens, des contrecoups des pensionnats indiens, des biens immobiliers matrimoniaux et de la santé des femmes autochtones. élue à la présidence de l'Association des femmes autochtones du Canada en 2004, Mme Jacobs a exercé un leadership inspiré à l'égard de la tragédie des disparitions et des assassinats de femmes autochtones. Son travail de pionnière auprès d'Amnistie internationale à l'occasion de la publication du rapport On a volé la vie de nos sœurs a mené à l'initiative Sœurs par l'esprit de l'Association des femmes autochtones du Canada. Beverley Jacobs est la mère d'Ashley et la grand-mère de Nicholas, Tessa et Bryson. Elle vit avec son conjoint Patrick Sandy sur le Territoire des Six Nations de la rivière Grand, dans le sud de l'Ontario (Ohsweken).

Maureen A. McTeer

Avocate, auteure et militante, Maureen McTeer est une spécialiste du droit et de la santé des femmes ainsi que des questions situées au croisement du droit, de la science et des politiques publiques. Elle a participé à la campagne fructueuse visant à enchâsser la protection de l'égalité dans la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés en 1982. Mme McTeer est notamment l'auteure des ouvrages Parliament: Canada's Democracy and How it Works et Tough Choices: Living and Dying in the 21st Century. Elle a siégé à la Commission royale sur les nouvelles techniques de reproduction et est une spécialiste des questions relatives à la reproduction et à la génétique. Mme McTeer est membre du conseil national de la Société des obstétriciens et gynécologues du Canada et de la Fondation canadienne de la santé des femmes, et elle a été membre fondatrice du Conseil de la santé de la femme d'Ottawa. Mme McTeer a obtenu plusieurs prix et distinctions universitaires et juridiques, dont un doctorat honorifique en droit de la University of Sheffield (Angleterre), en 2008. Maureen McTeer vit à Ottawa.

Maïr Verthuy

Maïr Verthuy est une chercheuse, une professeure d'université et une militante. Née au pays de Galles, elle émigre au Canada à la fin des années 1950. De 1965 à 2003, elle enseigne à l'Université Concordia, où elle cofonde le premier programme d'études féminines au Canada, l'Institut Simone de Beauvoir, en 1978. Elle s'y intéresse principalement aux écrivaines francophones du Québec, y compris aux femmes migrantes. Mme Verthuy a été nommée Femme de l'année au Québec par le Salon de la femme ainsi que Femme de mérite par le YWCA. Elle a été membre de la délégation canadienne à la quatrième Conférence mondiale sur les femmes, tenue à Beijing en 1995. En 2001, elle a été nommée Chevalier de l'Ordre des Palmes académiques, la plus haute distinction décernée par le gouvernement français en reconnaissance du rayonnement de la culture, de la langue et de la littérature française dans l'enseignement. Mme Verthuy a présidé la Fondation Thérèse Casgrain ainsi que le Montreal Council of Women. Membre du Conseil des Montréalaises depuis 2006, Maïr Verthuy vit à Montréal.

PRIX JEUNESSE - Benjamin Barry

Ben Barry travaille à l'atteinte de l'égalité entre les sexes dans sa vie professionnelle et personnelle. à l'âge de 14 ans, il fonde la Ben Barry Modelling Agency, une agence de mannequins qui a pignon sur rue à Ottawa et Toronto. Rejetant le « mythe de la beauté », l'agence de M. Barry aspire à créer une industrie de la mode qui favorise l'inclusion en représentant des modèles d'âges, de tailles, d'origines et d'aptitudes variés. M. Barry présente les 300 mannequins de son agence comme des personnes plutôt que comme des produits, et il les incite à exprimer leur personnalité propre. En 2002, Ben Barry a reçu le Prix CIBC de l'entrepreneur étudiant canadien de l'année et la Médaille du jubilé de la Reine. Après avoir obtenu son baccalauréat avec spécialisation en études féminines, M. Barry a reçu une bourse d'études de la Cambridge University et a entrepris un doctorat portant sur les questions entourant l'idéal de la beauté féminine dans le monde. Il siège au conseil d'administration de la Fondation canadienne de la santé des femmes et il est l'auteur du livre Fashioning Reality. Ben Barry vit à Ottawa et Toronto.

Date de modification :