2011 Recipients

Madeline Boscoe

Madeline Boscoe, R.N., D.U., brings some 30 years of wide-ranging expertise to the field of women's health. An inspired leader, she helped establish HealthSharing magazine and served on the Health Canada advisory panel on breast implants. She was a member and ultimately co-chaired the advisory committee on assisted human reproduction, which led to the successful passage of the Assisted Human Reproduction Act. Ms. Boscoe helped establish the Canadian Women's Health Network, serving as its Executive Director for 11 years. She has led advancements in women's health research and services, and strengthened women's participation in health policy decision-making. A founder of the Institute of Gender and Health Advisory Board, she helped advance gender-based analysis in health research. A long-time fighter for women's reproductive rights, Ms. Boscoe helped legalize midwifery in Manitoba and establish a birthing centre in Winnipeg. She also coordinated the Women's Health Coalition, which was an intervener in the Supreme Court on the "Ms G" case, and initiated a provincial awareness campaign on the links between gender, poverty and health. In 2005, she received an honorary doctorate from the University of Ottawa. She has been inspired by the many visionary women whose lives have touched hers, including her mother Kathryn (née Davis) and mother-in-law Ruth (née Caplan) Schwartzman. She is very grateful to her husband of 35 years, Victor, and children Kay and Cary, for their support and patience. Ms. Boscoe lives in North Vancouver, British Columbia.

Nancy Hartling

Nancy Hartling is one of New Brunswick's most dedicated advocates on issues affecting women. An inspiring leader, she focuses on intimate partner violence and poverty. As founder and Executive Director of Support to Single Parents Inc., Ms. Hartling spearheaded a community economic development project, using an anti-poverty approach to empower low-income women. She co-chaired a number of key committees, including those responsible for New Brunswick's involvement in the World March of Women in 2000 and in 2010. The 2000 World March brought about the New Brunswick Minister's Working Group on Violence against Women, which Ms. Hartling co-chaired. From 1995 to 2001, she chaired the December 6 Committee, commemorating the National Day of Remembrance and Action on Violence against Women. She also served on the board of the Muriel McQueen Fergusson Centre for Family Violence Research. She received New Brunswick's Spiritus Award (1991) and Family Award (1997), the New Brunswick Association of Nurses Certificate of Merit (1998), the Leadership Award from the Atlantic Centre of Excellence for Women's Health (2002) and the YWCA Moncton's Women of Distinction Award (2010). Ms. Hartling lives in Riverview, New Brunswick.

Lucie Joyal

Lucie Joyal has worked tirelessly to eliminate violence against women and children. Since the 1990s, she has helped advance research, detection and prevention of spousal and family violence throughout the province of Quebec. In 1995, she launched and coordinated a provincial initiative for the systematic detection of spousal abuse — a first in Quebec. She initiated the creation of the Centre d'expertise Marie-Vincent, Canada's first centre specialized in caring for sexually abused children. Established in 2005, the centre is internationally recognized for its innovative service model, which improves support to young victims of sexual assault. Now Executive Director of the Centre, Ms. Joyal ensures linkages between prevention, psychosocial intervention and research. Highly respected for her many achievements and deep understanding of family violence, Ms. Joyal acts as Canada's advisor to a number of organizations in Europe, where her leadership, passion and determination are well known. In Quebec and elsewhere, she is described as a social innovation visionary in the service of young victims of violence, and her efforts in this field will continue to benefit children and women for generations to come. Ms. Joyal lives in Boucherville, Quebec.

Sharon Donna McIvor

Sharon Donna McIvor has selflessly devoted her life to justice, equality and full participation for Aboriginal women. A member of the Lower Nicola First Nation in British Columbia, she is a lawyer and activist who has dedicated close to three decades of leadership to advancing equal rights. Recently, she helped challenge the Indian Act's discrimination against Aboriginal women. Ms. McIvor was involved in founding the Court Challenges Program, fostering Aboriginal women and others in its use. As a prison reformer, she was involved with the Correctional Service of Canada in developing the Okimaw Ohci Healing Lodge in Maple Creek, Saskatchewan — Canada's first and only correctional facility for Aboriginal women. Ms. McIvor has designed courses in Indigenous Studies and chaired two departments at the Nicola Valley Institute of Technology. She has played invaluable leadership roles in the Native Women's Association of Canada, the B.C. Native Women's Association, the Canadian Feminist Alliance for International Action, and the Women's Legal Education and Action Fund. Ms. McIvor lives in Merritt, British Columbia.

Kim Pate

Kim Pate is mother to Michael and Madison and an internationally recognized advocate for marginalized, victimized and criminalized women. Since 1992, she has been the Executive Director of the Canadian Association of Elizabeth Fry Societies, taking a solution-oriented approach to social justice for criminalized and imprisoned women, regularly consulting in prisons and advocating in court. Ms. Pate helped bring to light the shocking strip-searches of women inmates by male staff at the federal Prison for Women in Kingston, Ontario. She also lobbied for a public inquiry into conditions at the prison, resulting in the landmark 1996 report by Justice Louise Arbour. Ms. Pate led a national campaign to re-examine cases of battered women convicted of homicide, resulting in the ground-breaking "Self-Defence Review" in 1997. She has written numerous scholarly articles, chapters, briefs, reports and submissions, considered essential reading in the field of women's imprisonment. Ms. Pate has been honoured by many organizations, including the Canadian Bar Association, the American Correctional Association, the Correctional Service of Canada, Dalhousie Law School and the International Association of Civilian Oversight of Law Enforcement. She is known for her courage and empathy in fighting for vulnerable women. Ms. Pate lives in Ottawa, Ontario.

Amber JoAnn Fletcher (Youth Award)

Amber JoAnn Fletcher is a passionate advocate for equality issues and social justice. Her academic background is in Women's Studies, and she has won several awards for academic excellence. She is currently completing her PhD on agricultural policy and farm women's work, at the University of Regina. In September 2011, Amber's research on gender and climate change was presented at an international conference in Italy and will contribute to the United Nations Framework Convention and Earth Summit 2012. Recognizing the vital link between research and social change, Ms. Fletcher conducted pro-bono research on the needs of low-income single mothers. She dedicates countless volunteer hours to fund-raising and support for women's organizations and social activism. In 2005, Ms. Fletcher designed a curriculum to provide free English-as-a-second-language lessons to low-income community members in Tanzania, East Africa. In 2006, she founded the first feminist activist group at the University of Regina, addressing sexism and racism. A selfless volunteer, she serves on four boards of directors, all focused on women's issues. Ms. Fletcher lives in Regina, Saskatchewan.

Date modified:

Lauréates de 2011

Madeline Boscoe

Madeline Boscoe (IA, docteure honoris causa) cumule quelque 30 années d'expérience diversifiée en santé des femmes. Femme de tête passionnée, elle a contribué à la création de la revue HealthSharing, a siégé au Groupe consultatif d'experts sur les implants mammaires de Santé Canada et a été membre, puis coprésidente du comité consultatif qui a mené à l'adoption de la Loi sur la procréation assistée. Mme Boscoe a participé à la mise sur pied du Réseau canadien pour la santé des femmes, qu'elle a dirigé pendant 11 ans. Toujours en santé des femmes, elle a guidé l'évolution de la recherche et des services et renforcé la participation des femmes au processus décisionnel. Cofondatrice de l'Institut de la santé des femmes et des hommes, elle a fait avancer l'analyse comparative entre les sexes en recherche sur la santé. Œuvrant depuis de longues années à la défense des droits reproductifs des femmes, Mme Boscoe a aidé à légaliser la profession de sage-femme au Manitoba et à établir d'un centre de naissance à Winnipeg. Elle a en outre coordonné la Coalition pour la santé des femmes, laquelle est intervenue dans la cause de « madame G » devant la Cour suprême, et a lancé une campagne provinciale de sensibilisation sur les liens entre la pauvreté, le sexe et la santé. L'Université d'Ottawa lui a décerné un doctorat honorifique en 2005. Elle a été touchée par la vie de nombreuses femmes visionnaires, dont sa mère Kathryn (née Davis) et sa belle-mère Ruth Schwartzman (née Caplan). Elle est reconnaissante envers son conjoint, Victor, à qui elle est mariée depuis 35 ans, et envers ses enfants, Kay et Cary, pour leur soutien et leur patience. Mme Boscoe vit à North Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique.

Nancy Hartling

Néo-Brunswickoise passionnée pour la cause des femmes, Nancy Hartling emploie ses talents de mobilisatrice à éliminer la pauvreté et la violence dans les relations intimes. Fondatrice et directrice générale de Support aux parents uniques inc., elle a dirigé un projet de développement économique communautaire visant à favoriser l'autonomie des femmes à faible revenu. Elle a coprésidé plusieurs comités qui ont assuré la participation du Nouveau-Brunswick à la Marche mondiale des femmes en 2000 et en 2010. La première de ces marches a donné naissance au Groupe de travail du ministre sur la violence faite aux femmes, coprésidé par Mme Hartling. De 1995 à 2001, Mme Hartling a présidé le comité organisateur de la Journée nationale de commémoration et d'action contre la violence faite aux femmes (6 décembre). Elle a également siégé au conseil d'administration du Centre Muriel McQueen Fergusson pour la recherche sur la violence familiale. Elle est récipiendaire du prix Spiritus (1991) et du prix Famille (1997) de la province du Nouveau-Brunswick, du certificat de mérite de l'Association des infirmières et infirmiers du Nouveau-Brunswick (1998), du prix de leadership du Centre d'excellence de l'Atlantique pour la santé des femmes (2002) et du prix Femme de distinction de la YWCA de Moncton (2010). Mme Hartling vit à Riverview, au Nouveau-Brunswick.

Lucie Joyal

Mme Lucie Joyal œuvre sans relâche à l'élimination de la violence faite aux femmes et aux enfants. Dès les années 1990, elle a fait avancer la recherche, le dépistage et la prévention de la violence conjugale et familiale à travers le Québec. En 1995, elle a introduit et coordonné un projet provincial de dépistage systématique de la violence conjugale — une première au Québec. Elle est à l'origine du Centre d'expertise en agression sexuelle Marie-Vincent, premier du genre au pays. Créé en 2005, ce centre est reconnu internationalement comme un modèle innovateur dans l'amélioration des services offerts aux jeunes victimes d'agression sexuelle. Mme Joyal en est présentement la directrice générale, assurant la liaison entre la prévention, l'intervention psychosociale et la recherche. Fort respectée pour ses multiples réalisations et connaissances en matière de violence familiale, Mme Joyal agit à titre d'experte canadienne auprès de plusieurs regroupements européens, où l'on reconnaît son leadership, sa passion et sa détermination. Au Québec comme ailleurs, elle est décrite comme une visionnaire dans l'innovation sociale au service des jeunes victimes de violence, et ses efforts dans ce domaine continueront d'aider les enfants et les femmes pour les générations à venir.  Mme Joyal vit à Boucherville, au Québec.

Sharon Donna McIvor

Sharon Donna McIvor a consacré sa vie à lutter pour la justice, l'égalité et la pleine participation des femmes autochtones. Cette avocate et militante issue de la nation Lower Nicola, en Colombie-Britannique, œuvre depuis près de trois décennies pour l'égalité des sexes. Mme McIvor a récemment aidé à contester la discrimination faite aux femmes autochtones dans la Loi sur les Indiens. Elle a participé à la mise sur pied du Programme de contestation judiciaire et a notamment encouragé les femmes autochtones à y avoir recours. En collaboration avec Service correctionnel Canada, elle a travaillé à la réforme des prisons et à la création du Pavillon de ressourcement Okimaw Ohci de Maple Creek, en Saskatchewan, le premier et seul établissement correctionnel pour les femmes autochtones. Mme McIvor a élaboré des cours en études autochtones et a dirigé deux départements du Nicola Valley Institute of Technology. Elle a fait un apport précieux à la direction de l'Association des femmes autochtones du Canada, de la B.C. Native Women's Association, de l'Alliance canadienne féministe pour l'action internationale et du Fonds d'action et d'éducation juridiques pour les femmes. Mme McIvor vit à Merritt, en Colombie-Britannique.

Kim Pate

Kim Pate, avocate et mère de Michael et de Madison, est reconnue mondialement pour son travail au nom des femmes marginalisées, victimisées et criminalisées. Directrice générale de l'Association canadienne des sociétés Elizabeth Fry depuis 1992, elle promeut la justice sociale pour les détenues en privilégiant les solutions concrètes, n'hésitant pas à consulter ces femmes en prison ou à les défendre devant les tribunaux. Mme Pate a aidé à mettre au jour le scandale des fouilles à nu par les gardiens à la prison des femmes de Kingston. Sa lutte pour obtenir une enquête publique sur les conditions à cette prison a mené au célèbre rapport de la juge Louise Arbour en 1996, et sa campagne nationale pour que soientétudiés les cas de femmes battues reconnues coupables d'homicides a conduit au notoire « Examen de la légitime défense » en 1997. Auteure de nombreux écrits considérés comme des lectures indispensables sur l'incarcération des femmes, Mme Pate a été honorée par une foule d'organismes dont l'Association du Barreau canadien, l'American Correctional Association, le Service correctionnel du Canada, la Faculté de droit de l'Université Dalhousie et l'Association internationale de surveillance civile du maintien de l'ordre. Elle consacre son courage et son empathie à la défense des femmes vulnérables. Mme Pate vit à Ottawa, en Ontario.

Amber JoAnn Fletcher (Prix jeunesse)

Amber JoAnn Fletcher est une diplômée en études féminines qui défend avec ardeur l'égalité et la justice sociale. Récipiendaire de plusieurs prix d'excellence, elle fait actuellement un doctorat sur la politique agricole et le travail des agricultrices à l'Université de Regina. Sa recherche sur l'égalité entre les sexes et les changements climatiques a été présentée à une conférence internationale en Italie en septembre 2011, qui préparait le terrain pour la Convention-cadre des Nations Unies et le Sommet de la Terre de 2012. Reconnaissant le lien vital entre la recherche et le changement social, Mme Fletcher a fait de la recherche bénévole sur les besoins des mères seules à faible revenu. Bénévole et militante infatigable, elle se consacre au financement et au soutien d'organismes pour les femmes. En 2005, elle a mis sur pied un programme d'apprentissage de l'anglais langue seconde pour les personnes à faible revenu de la communauté tanzanienne, en Afrique orientale. En 2006, elle a fondé le premier groupe de militantes féministes contre le sexisme et le racisme à l'Université de Regina. Elle est aussi membre bénévole de quatre conseils d'administration axés sur des questions touchant les femmes. Mme Fletcher vit à Regina, en Saskatchewan.

Date de modification :