2012 Recipients

Caroline Andrew

Caroline Andrew

Caroline Andrew is a professor emeritus, Director of the Centre on Governance and former Dean of the Faculty of Social Sciences at the University of Ottawa. A lifelong advocate of equality for women, she has made enormous contributions to the academic study of women's issues, serving as the first coordinator of the Women's Studies Program and developer of the first Women and Politics courses at U of O. Within her community, Dr. Andrew has served or is serving in a variety of important roles, including Chair of the Steering Committee for the Ottawa Local Immigration Partnership, President of the Women in Cities International, co-founder of Youth Futures, Co-Chair of the 2011 Women's Worlds organizing committee and member of the Steering Committee for the City for All Women Initiative. She has worked with the City of Ottawa on increasing inclusion of immigrants, preventing crime, improving public transit and advancing gender equality. In 1999, Dr. Andrew worked with elected officials and community members to pass the Declaration on Women in Local Government. This led to the formation of a working group to evaluate women's access to municipal services in Ottawa-Carleton, recommendations from which were approved in 2002. Dr. Andrew lives in Ottawa, Ontario.

Saara Bhanji (Youth Recipient)

Saara Bhanji

Saara Bhanji is a passionate leader and tireless advocate for change in the lives of girls and young women. In 2006, Ms. Bhanji started the Association of Women's Action, Research and Empowerment (AWARE), a feminist organization in Vancouver that works with young women to overcome barriers based on race, class, poverty, ethnic background, sexual orientation and gender inequality. She is also a dedicated crisis line volunteer with Battered Women's Support Services and the youngest serving board member of Justice for Girls International and the North Shore Coordinating Committee to End Violence Against Women in Relationships. Ms. Bhanji recently served as Program Coordinator for the North Shore Women's Centre. This extraordinary young activist holds a Master of Science in Gender Studies from the prestigious London School of Economics. Ms. Bhanji has a wealth of front-line and grassroots community service experience as well as formal training in areas as diverse as suicide prevention, intimate partner violence, trauma counselling and doula birth instruction. A frequent conference speaker and the recipient of numerous awards, including the YWCA Young Woman of Distinction Award, Ms. Bhanji recently began studying for her Bachelor of Laws at University College London. She currently lives in London, England, but still calls Vancouver home.

Joanne Cave (Youth Recipient)

Joanne Cave

An outspoken proponent of equality for women and girls, Joanne Cave was the Founder and Executive Director of Ophelia's Voice, a non-profit organization in Edmonton that served to engage and empower girls and young women as leaders in their communities. Ophelia's Voice addressed such pressing issues as media literacy, body image/self-esteem, healthy sexuality and political engagement. In 2009, Ms. Cave was one of 30 students selected from a pool of over 3,500 across Canada to receive a Loran Award from the Canadian Merit Scholarship Foundation. The award recognizes character, leadership and service to the community. She has worked with the Alberta Teacher's Association and the Canadian Teacher's Federation to encourage meaningful dialogue on women's issues in Alberta classrooms and served as a panelist in a seminar entitled "The Future of Feminism." Currently an undergraduate student at the University of Toronto, Ms. Cave recently launched a Toronto-based network of young leaders to address pressing issues for the non-profit sector, such as funding reform, policy advocacy and succession planning. She also interned with an international NGO, helping to build microenterprise skills with rural women in northern India. The recipient of numerous awards, including being named one of Alberta's 50 Most Influential People and a YWCA Young Woman of Distinction, Joanne Cave still calls Edmonton home.

Corinne Gallant

Corinne Gallant

Corinne Gallant is a professor emeritus at the University of Moncton, a proud Acadian and an icon in the Canadian women's movement. She created one of Canada's first women's studies courses, raising awareness among her students of issues such as violence against Aboriginal and Acadian women. Dr. Gallant helped to establish the New Brunswick Advisory Council on the Status of Women and was an active member from 1989 to 1994. She also contributed research to the Canadian Research Institute for the Advancement of Women and published numerous articles – in English and French – on discrimination and injustice directed both at women and at various minority groups, including Acadians. Dr. Gallant served on the organizing committee for the first official gathering of Acadian women, which took place in Memramcook in 1974. She was also the founding president of LES FAM, the first feminist association in New Brunswick, the founding president of University of Moncton's l'Institut d'études et d'apprentissages féminins, and a member of the board of Crossroads for Women, a shelter for women and children fleeing abuse, from 1985 to 1988. She is the recipient of many awards, including the Queen's Jubilee Medal, the 125th Anniversary of the Confederation of Canada Medal and the Order of Canada. Corinne Gallant lives in Moncton, New Brunswick.

Régine Alende Tshombokongo

Régine Alende Tshombokongo

Régine Alende Tshombokongo works tirelessly to improve the lives of immigrant women in Quebec. In 1998, she founded the Centre d'encadrement pour jeunes femmes immigrantes, which encourages young immigrant women in Montréal to recognize and value their talents while empowering them to contribute to Canadian society. Ms. Tshombokongo serves on a committee that advises the Quebec government on maximizing its funding of projects to improve the lives of women and girls in the province. She served as an advocate for the Placer l'égalité au cœur de la diversité, a program of the Ministry of Culture, Communications and the Status of Women that helps immigrant girls learn about gender equality and adapt to life in their new communities. She is also active on a variety of regional, national and international committees, including the women's committee of the Conférence régionale des élus de Montréal and the Réseau des femmes d'affaires du Québec. Ms. Tshombokongo, who holds a Master's in Cognitive Linguistics from the University of Laval and a Master's in Literature from the National University of Zaire, has received numerous awards, including the Prix Méritas du Prix Meritas du RQuODE for her project to help immigrant women develop their child care skills and start their own daycare centre. Ms. Tshombokongo lives in Montréal, Quebec.

Date modified:

Lauréates de 2012

Caroline Andrew

Ottawa (Ontario)

Caroline Andrew

Caroline Andrew est professeure émérite, directrice du Centre d'études sur la gouvernance et ancienne doyenne de la Faculté des sciences sociales à l'Université d'Ottawa. Elle défend de longue date l'égalité des sexes et a grandement contribué à l'étude des questions relatives aux femmes en milieu universitaire. Elle a notamment été la première coordonnatrice du programme d'études féminines à l'Université d'Ottawa et a conçu les premiers cours sur les femmes et la politique qui y ont été offerts. Elle joue ou a joué de multiples rôles de premier plan. Elle a occupé la présidence du Comité directeur du Partenariat local pour l'immigration d'Ottawa et de Femmes et villes international. Cofondatrice d'Avenir jeunesse, elle est coprésidente du comité organisateur de Monde des femmes 2011 et siège au Comité directeur de l'Initiative: une ville pour toutes les femmes. Elle a collaboré avec la Ville d'Ottawa en matière d'intégration des personnes immigrantes, de prévention du crime, d'amélioration du transport en commun et de promotion de l'égalité des sexes. En 1999, Mme Andrew a collaboré avec des élues et élus, et avec le milieu communautaire pour faire adopter la Déclaration sur les femmes dans le gouvernement local. L'adoption de cette déclaration a conduit à la création d'un groupe de travail chargé d'évaluer l'accès des femmes aux services municipaux dans la municipalité régionale d'Ottawa-Carleton; les recommandations du groupe ont été approuvées en 2002. Mme Andrew vit à Ottawa, en Ontario.

Saara Bhanji (catégorie jeunesse)

Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique)

Saara Bhanji

Meneuse passionnée, Saara Bhanji se dévoue pour améliorer la vie des filles et des jeunes femmes. En 2006, elle a créé l'Association of Women's Action, Research and Empowerment (AWARE), organisme féministe de Vancouver qui œuvre à aplanir les obstacles fondés sur la race, la classe sociale, la pauvreté, l'origine ethnique, l'orientation sexuelle et l'inégalité des sexes. MmeBhanji est bénévole à la ligne d'écoute pour femmes battues Battered Women's Support Services. Elle siège aussi au conseil d'administration de Justice for Girls International et au North Shore Coordinating Committee to End Violence Against Women in Relationships (dans les deux cas, elle est la plus jeune membre. Mme Bhanji a récemment été coordonnatrice de programme au North Shore Women's Centre. La jeune militante détient une maîtrise en études de genre de la prestigieuse London School of Economics et possède une vaste expérience de la prestation de services communautaires de première ligne. Elle est aussi formée pour intervenir dans un éventail de domaines (prévention du suicide, counselling à la suite de traumatismes causés par la violence conjugale, formation des accompagnantes à la naissance. Souvent invitée comme conférencière, elle a remporté de nombreux prix, dont le prix Jeune femme de mérite de la YWCA. Elle vient d'amorcer un baccalauréat en droit à l'Université College de Londres, ville où elle réside en ce moment, mais considère toujours Vancouver comme son port d'attache.

Joanne Toini Cave (catégorie jeunesse)

Edmonton (Alberta)

Joanne Cave

Mme Joanne Toini Cave, qui défend avec fougue l'égalité entre les sexes, a fondé Ophelia's Voice, un organisme sans but lucratif d'Edmonton dont elle a aussi été directrice générale, afin de préparer des filles et des jeunes femmes à devenir des dirigeantes dans leur milieu en leur parlant d'enjeux comme la culture médiatique, l'image corporelle, l'estime de soi, la santé sexuelle et l'engagement politique. En 2009, Mme Cave faisait partie des 30 jeunes choisis parmi quelque 3 500 candidates et candidats pour recevoir la bourse Loran de la Fondation canadienne des bourses de mérite, fondées sur « la réussite scolaire, les activités périscolaires et le potentiel de leadership ». Mme Cave a travaillé avec l'Alberta Teacher's Association et la Fédération canadienne des enseignantes et des enseignants pour encourager un dialogue fructueux sur la présence féminine dans les salles de classe de l'Alberta; elle a fait partie d'un panel à l'occasion du séminaire sur l'avenir du féminisme. En qualité d'étudiante de premier cycle à l'Université de Toronto, Mme Cave a récemment créé dans cette ville un réseau de jeunes chefs de file pour réfléchir à des enjeux clés du secteur à but non lucratif, dont la réforme du financement, le plaidoyer en matière de politiques et la planification de la relève. Lors d'un stage effectué auprès d'une organisation non gouvernementale internationale, elle a aidé à outiller des femmes d'une région rurale du nord de l'Inde souhaitant créer des microentreprises. Récipiendaire de nombreuses récompenses, dont le prix Jeune femme de mérite de la YWCA, elle a aussi figuré au palmarès des 50 Albertaines et Albertains les plus influents. Elle considère toujours Edmonton comme son port d'attache.

Corinne Gallant

Moncton (Nouveau-Brunswick)

Corinne Gallant

Fière Acadienne et professeure émérite à l'Université de Moncton, Corinne Gallant est une icône du mouvement féministe canadien. Elle a créé l'un des premiers cours d'étude de la condition féminine au Canada pour sensibiliser les étudiantes et étudiants à des questions telles que la violence faite aux femmes autochtones et acadiennes. Mme Gallant a contribué à la création du Conseil consultatif sur la condition de la femme au Nouveau-Brunswick, auquel elle a participé activement de 1989 à 1994. Elle a également contribué aux travaux de recherche de l'Institut canadien de recherches sur les femmes et a publié de nombreux articles, en anglais et en français, sur la discrimination et l'injustice envers les femmes et différents groupes minoritaires, notamment la population acadienne. Mme Gallant a fait partie du comité d'organisation du premier rassemblement officiel des Acadiennes, qui a eu lieu à Memramcook en 1974. Elle a également exercé les fonctions de présidente fondatrice de LES FAM (première association féministe au Nouveau-Brunswick) et de l'Institut d'études et d'apprentissages féminins de l'Université de Moncton. De 1985 à 1988, elle a siégé au conseil d'administration de l'organisme Carrefour pour femmes, refuge pour les femmes et les enfants fuyant la violence. Elle a remporté beaucoup de prix, dont la Médaille du jubilé de la Reine, la Médaille commémorative du 125e anniversaire de la Confédération du Canada et l'Ordre du Canada. Corinne Gallant vit à Moncton, au Nouveau-Brunswick.

Régine Alende Tshombokongo

Montréal (Québec)

Régine Alende Tshombokongo

Régine Alende Tshombokongo se dévoue sans relâche pour les immigrantes au Québec. En 1998, elle a fondé le Centre d'encadrement pour jeunes femmes immigrantes, qui encourage les jeunes immigrantes de Montréal à reconnaître et à valoriser leurs talents, tout en leur donnant les moyens de contribuer à la société canadienne. Mme Tshombokongo siège au comité qui conseille le gouvernement du Québec sur l'optimisation des fonds destinés aux projets visant à rehausser la qualité de vie des femmes et des filles dans la province. Elle a également été la porte-parole de Placer l'égalité au cœur de la diversité, programme du ministère de la Culture, des Communications et de la Condition féminine qui aide les filles immigrantes à se renseigner sur l'égalité des sexes et à s'adapter à la vie dans leur nouvelle collectivité. De plus, elle participe activement à différents comités à l'échelle régionale, nationale et internationale, dont le comité de femmes de la Conférence régionale des élus de Montréal et le Réseau des femmes d'affaires du Québec. Titulaire d'une maîtrise en linguistique cognitive de l'Université Laval et d'une maîtrise en littérature de l'Université nationale du Zaïre, Mme Tshombokongo a aussi reçu de nombreux prix, dont le prix Méritas du RQuODE pour son projet à l'intention des immigrantes souhaitant perfectionner leurs compétences en puériculture pour ouvrir leur propre garderie. Mme Tshombokongo vit à Montréal, au Québec.

Date de modification :