2014 Recipients

Check out more inspirational videos

Elizabeth Atcheson

Toronto, Ontario

For decades, Mary Elizabeth Atcheson has advocated for the rights of women, using her legal training and love of the law to champion the cause of equality. With the Ontario Committee on the Status of Women, Ms. Atcheson helped implement the recommendations of the Royal Commission on the Status of Women (RCSW). She also co-authored the study Women and Legal Action, which led to the formation of the Women's Legal Education and Action Fund Foundation (LEAF), where she served as the organization's founding Vice-Chair and, later, its Chair. Among her many achievements, she was a key organizer of the Charter of Rights Educational Fund, the National Symposium on Equality Rights, and the women's response to the November 1981 Constitutional Accord. In addition, she was a member of the original National Advisory Council for the Canadian Human Rights Museum, and is co-founder of www.section15.ca and the Feminist History Society. Professionally, she has been at the leading edge of the advancement of women in law and in government financial services, and she continues to be an active mentor to women in law and the charitable sector. She currently volunteers as Vice-President of Nancy's Very Own Foundation and is involved with the Women's Education and Research Foundation of Ontario Inc. and is a consultant providing policy development and project management services, primarily on the regulation of financial services and products, as well as human rights.

Louise Champoux-Paillé

Montréal, Quebec

Louise Champoux-Paillé has been working tirelessly for more than 25 years to champion women in senior roles at public and private institutions in Canada. Breaking new ground in a number of senior management positions, she has served as founding president of the Bureau des services financiers du Québec, executive vice-president and CEO of the Ordre des administrateurs agréés and president of Leucan, an organization that supports children with leukemia and other forms of cancer. Her research and volunteer work with numerous organizations, including Groupe international de recherche en éthique financière (GIREF), have helped promote good governance and women's access to strategic roles. For nearly ten years Ms. Champoux-Paillé served as chair of the Board of Trade of Metropolitan Montreal's Comité Accès 51 and published directories to promote women's talents in society. She has remained actively involved by serving on the Conférence régionale des élus de Montréal's "pink tie committee" and facilitates women's access to senior management positions in her work as a mentor, teacher and social media monitor. Through her professional activities and extensive social and civic engagement, she has encouraged a new generation of female executives and administrators. An economist by training, Louise Champoux-Paillé holds an MBA and a master's degree in museology from Université du Québec à Montréal. In 1994, she became the first woman to receive that university's Performance Award in recognition of her contribution to the community. She is a Fellow of the Ordre des administrateurs agréés. In 2012, the Québec government named Ms. Champoux-Paillé a member of the Ordre national du Québec. She currently chairs the board of directors of the Cercle des administrateurs de sociétés certifiés.

Tracy Porteous

Vancouver, British Columbia

For over 30 years, Tracy Porteous has served her community through her work to prevent and respond to violence against women and girls. She has made a world of difference in the lives of women from all walks of life, including those who are Aboriginal, immigrants, older, living with disabilities, or from rural areas. Ms. Porteous has served as Executive Director of the Ending Violence Association of BC (EVA BC) since 1995. In 2011, she founded the innovative and highly successful Be More Than a Bystander program in partnership with the BC Lions football team. The program, which is raising public awareness of the impacts of men's violence against women, was recognized with a Community Safety and Crime Prevention Award from the Government of British Columbia. Ms. Porteous led many innovative projects and programs at EVA BC, including a successful collaboration with community advocates and provincial authorities to make it possible for sex trade workers and others to report sexualized violence to police through a third party. This enables the police to receive information in a more timely fashion and to work with survivors to take predators off the streets. Last year, Tracy Porteous was awarded the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal for "Dedicated Service and Contributions to Our Nation" as well as a certificate of Recognition for Helping to Build the Province of BC.

Chantal Thanh Laplante (Youth Award)

Moncton, New Brunswick (Youth Recipient)

Chantal Thanh Laplante's passion for community engagement, and her feminist activism in particular, has led her to work towards social and legal equality for both sexes. As an employee of the Beauséjour family crisis and resource centre, Chantal works every day to uphold gender equality with victims and survivors of spousal, family or sexual violence. Ms. Laplante volunteers as education representative for Moncton's River of Pride and at Safe Spaces for AIDS/SIDA Moncton. She has also volunteered and worked at Crossroads for Women and Maison d'amitié in Ottawa and has served as president of Association Un sur Dix. In addition, Ms. Laplante is a staunch advocate for the right to access abortion in New Brunswick and elsewhere in Canada. Ms. Laplante holds a bachelor's degree in social work from Université de Moncton, as well as a college diploma in social work techniques from La Cité Collégiale in Ottawa.

Emilie Nicolas (Youth Award)

Toronto, Ontario (Youth Recipient)

Emilie Nicolas is an outstanding campaigner for women's human rights, dignity, autonomy, and equality of opportunity. She speaks French, English, Spanish and Haitian Creole. A Ph.D. candidate in linguistic anthropology at the University of Toronto's Massey College, Ms. Nicolas specializes in the role of shared language in social inclusion and solidarity. This research, which highlights the need to protect the rights of minority women, informs her interest and involvement in issues of citizenship and cultural diversity in both Toronto and Montréal. Emilie Nicolas also holds a master's degree in comparative literature, from the University of Toronto, and a bachelor of arts degree from the Université de Montréal. In 2013, Ms. Nicolas helped to found Québec Inclusif, which challenged the former Quebec government's proposed Charter of Values as an assault on gender equality and, in particular, on women's access to education, employment, government services, as well as freedom of conscience and religion. In her short but distinguished career, Ms. Nicolas has received numerous awards. These include a Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council graduate scholarship, the Vanier Scholarship for academic excellence, the Harry Jerome Leadership Award for excellence in African Canadian achievement, and in 2014, the prestigious Action Canada Fellowship, Canada's premier leadership and public policy development program.

Date modified:

Lauréates de 2014

Visionnez d’autres vidéos inspirants

Elizabeth Atcheson

Toronto (Ontario)

Depuis plus de trois décennies, Mary Elizabeth Atcheson emploie sa connaissance et son amour du droit au service des femmes. Elle a notamment œuvré au sein d'un comité ontarien, l'Ontario Committee on the Status of Women, afin de concrétiser les recommandations de la Commission royale d'enquête sur la situation de la femme au Canada. Elle a corédigé l'étude Women and Legal Action, qui a mené à la formation du Fonds d'action et d'éducation juridiques pour les femmes, dont elle a été vice-présidente fondatrice, puis présidente. Les nombreuses réalisations de Mme Atcheson incluent aussi un rôle déterminant dans la création du Charter of Rights Educational Fund, dans la tenue du Symposium national sur l'égalité des droits et dans la réponse des femmes à l'Accord constitutionnel de novembre 1981. Mme Atcheson a siégé au premier conseil consultatif national du Musée canadien pour les droits de la personne et a aidé à mettre sur pied www.section15.ca et la Société d'histoire féministe. Son parcours professionnel a ouvert la voie à d'autres femmes dans la pratique du droit et les services financiers de l'État. Par son implication comme mentore, Mme Atcheson continue en outre à soutenir les femmes qui œuvrent en droit et dans le secteur caritatif. S'ajoute à cela son activité bénévole au sein de deux fondations féministes : Nancy's Very Own Foundation, dont elle est la vice-présidente, et la Women's Education and Research Foundation of Ontario Inc. Enfin, Mme Atcheson intervient aussi à titre de consultante dans les domaines de l'élaboration des politiques et de la gestion de projets, en particulier en ce qui a trait aux droits de la personne et à la réglementation des services et produits financiers.

Louise Champoux-Paillé

Montréal (Québec)

Louise Champoux-Paillé travaille inlassablement depuis plus de vingt-cinq ans à élargir la place faite aux femmes aux plus hauts échelons des institutions publiques et privées du Canada. Pionnière à quelques reprises dans des postes de haute direction, elle a notamment été présidente fondatrice du Bureau des services financiers du Québec, vice-présidente exécutive et directrice générale de l'Ordre des administrateurs agréés et présidente de Leucan, organisation au service des enfants atteints de cancer et de leucémie. Ses recherches et son action bénévole auprès de nombreux organismes, notamment le Groupe international de recherche en éthique financière (GIREF), permettent de promouvoir la saine gouvernance et l'accès des femmes à des fonctions stratégiques. Ainsi, Mme Champoux-Paillé a présidé pendant près de dix ans le Comité Accès 51 de la Chambre de commerce du Montréal métropolitain et publié des répertoires afin de faire connaître les talents féminins au sein de la société. Elle poursuit son engagement en participant au Comité Cravates Roses de la Conférence régionale des élus de Montréal et stimule l'accès des femmes à des postes de haute direction par son travail de mentorat, d'enseignement et de vigie dans les médias sociaux. Par son travail professionnel et son vaste engagement social et citoyen, elle a encouragé une nouvelle relève de dirigeantes et d'administratrices. Économiste de formation, Louise Champoux-Paillé détient un MBA et une maîtrise en muséologie de l'Université du Québec à Montréal. En 1994, elle est devenue la première femme à recevoir de cette université le Prix Performance, en reconnaissance de sa contribution à la collectivité. Elle est Fellow de l'Ordre des administrateurs agréés. En 2012, le gouvernement du Québec l'a décorée de l'Ordre national du Québec. Elle préside actuellement le conseil d'administration du Cercle des administrateurs de sociétés certifiés.

Tracy Porteous

Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique)

Tracy Porteous œuvre depuis plus de trente ans pour les femmes et les filles victimes de violence. Par ses efforts pour prévenir et contrer la violence, elle a transformé à tout jamais la vie de Canadiennes de tous les horizons — femmes rurales, autochtones, immigrantes, handicapées ou âgées. Depuis 1995, Mme Porteous est directrice générale d'une association britanno colombienne qui se consacre à l'élimination de la violence, Ending Violence Association of BC (EVA BC). C'est en cette qualité qu'elle s'est alliée en 2011 au Club de football des Lions de la Colombie Britannique, afin de mettre sur pied la campagne innovatrice Be More Than a Bystander. Cette campagne, qui vise à sensibiliser le public aux répercussions de la violence infligée aux femmes par les hommes, a été récompensée par le gouvernement de la Colombie Britannique pour son apport à la sécurité communautaire et à la prévention de la criminalité. Parmi les nombreux projets et programmes novateurs qu'EVA BC a réalisés sous la direction de Mme Porteous, il faut souligner une collaboration réussie avec les porte parole du milieu et les autorités provinciales afin de créer un mécanisme permettant aux travailleuses et travailleurs du sexe et à d'autres d'avoir recours à une tierce partie pour signaler les actes de violence sexuelle à la police. L'information parvient ainsi plus rapidement aux autorités, qui peuvent alors travailler avec les victimes afin d'appréhender les prédateurs et prédatrices. En 2012, Tracy Porteous a reçu la Médaille du jubilé de diamant de la reine Elizabeth II pour son dévouement et ses contributions à notre pays, de même qu'un certificat de reconnaissance à titre de « bâtisseuse » de la Colombie Britannique.

Chantal Thanh Laplante (Prix Jeunesse)

Moncton (Nouveau-Brunswick)

L'engagement passionné de Chantal Thanh Laplante dans sa collectivité et, surtout, son militantisme féministe l'ont amenée à œuvrer pour l'égalité sociale et juridique des deux sexes. Elle travaille au Centre de ressources et de crises familiales Beauséjour, à Shédiac, où elle défend tous les jours l'égalité des sexes avec les victimes de violence conjugale, familiale ou sexuelle. Mme Laplante est bénévole pour Rivière de la fierté du Grand Moncton, comme représentante en éducation, et pour Sain et sauf, un programme de SIDA Moncton. Elle a également travaillé et fait du bénévolat au Carrefour pour femmes de même qu'à la Maison d'amitié, à Ottawa, et a présidé l'Association Un sur dix, à Moncton. Mme Laplante milite aussi avec ardeur pour l'accès des femmes à l'avortement au Nouveau-Brunswick et ailleurs au Canada. Elle détient un baccalauréat en travail social de l'Université de Moncton ainsi qu'un diplôme d'études collégiales en techniques de travail social de La Cité collégiale, à Ottawa.

Emilie Nicolas (Prix Jeunesse)

Toronto (Ontario) (prix Jeunesse)

Emilie Nicolas milite avec brio pour les droits, la dignité et l'autonomie des femmes et pour l'égalité des chances. Elle parle le français, l'anglais, l'espagnol et le créole haïtien. Doctorante en anthropologie linguistique au Collège Massey de l'Université de Toronto, Mme Nicolas étudie l'influence que le partage d'une langue commune exerce sur l'inclusion et la solidarité sociales. Cette recherche, qui met en lumière la nécessité de protéger les droits des femmes en situation minoritaire, motive et guide son engagement dans les dossiers qui ont trait à la citoyenneté et à la diversité culturelle à Toronto et à Montréal. Emilie Nicolas est également titulaire d'une maîtrise en littérature comparée de l'Université de Toronto et d'un baccalauréat ès arts de l'Université de Montréal. En 2013, Mme Nicolas a aidé à fonder Québec inclusif, qui s'est opposé au projet de charte des valeurs de l'ancien gouvernement du Québec, y voyant une atteinte à l'égalité des sexes et, en particulier, à l'accès des femmes à l'éducation, à l'emploi et aux services gouvernementaux, de même qu'à leur liberté de conscience et de religion. Durant sa jeune, mais brillante carrière, Mme Nicolas a reçu de nombreux prix, dont une bourse d'études supérieures du Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines, la bourse Vanier d'excellence universitaire, le prix de leadership Harry Jerome visant à souligner l'excellence afro-canadienne et, en 2014, un prestigieux « fellowship » d'Action Canada, le principal programme de perfectionnement en leadership et en politiques publiques au Canada.

Date de modification :