Stories of Girls Making a Difference

Biography of Charlotte De Grassi and Cornelia De Grassi

Street sign that indicates De Grassi St

Name: Charlotte De Grassi and Cornelia De Grassi
Date: 1823 –1872 and 1825 –1885 respectively
Role: Heroines, Spies
Girlhood achievement: Helping the Loyalists stop the 1837 Rebellion

In December 1837, a group of rebels began planning an uprising against the Loyalist government of early Upper Canada. When Captain Filipo De Grassi, who had previously served in Napoleon's army and had moved to York, Upper Canada, in 1831, heard about it, he left immediately for Government House, taking along his two daughters. Teenagers Charlotte and Cornelia De Grassi risked their lives to support the government by spying on the rebels, carrying messages and sounding the alarm. They didn't let gunshots or the risk of kidnapping stand in their way.

The information the sisters carried and gathered was considered very important to the outcome of the rebellion. The New York Albion wrote about their bravery and their loyalty to their country in the face of danger.

Lifelong heroines, Charlotte and Cornelia De Grassi were noted for their courageous actions by the Globe and Mail newspaper and are featured in the Canadian Encyclopedia. There is also a plaque commemorating the De Grassi family at the Charles Sauriol Conservation Reserve in Toronto.

Charlotte and Cornelia De Grassi – history-making Canadian girls and great Canadian women.

Date modified:

Histoires de filles qui font bouger les choses

Biographie de Charlotte De Grassi et Cornelia De Grassi

Plaque de rue indiquant la rue De Grassi

Nom : Charlotte De Grassi et Cornelia De Grassi
Date : 1823 –1872 et 1825 –1885 respectivement
Domaine d'activité : Héroïnes, espionnes
Réalisation de jeunesse : Chronique du vécu d'une fille canadienne au XIXe siècle!

En décembre 1837, un groupe de rebelles a commencéà organiser une révolte contre le gouvernement loyaliste au Haut-Canada. Le capitaine Filipo De Grassi, qui avait servi dans l'armée de Napoléon avant de s'installerà York (Haut-Canada) en 1831, a tout de suite mis le cap sur la résidence du Gouverneur général quand il a eu vent de ce qui se tramait. Ses deux filles adolescentes, Charlotte et Cornelia De Grassi, l'accompagnaient et elles n'ont pas hésitéà se porter elles aussià la défense du gouvernement. Au risque de leur vie, elles ont espionné les rebelles, transporté des messages et sonné l'alarme. Elles ne se sont pas laissées dissuader par les coups de feu et le risque d'enlèvement!

On estime que les renseignements que les deux sœurs ont transportés et recueillis se sont avérés très importants pour l'issue de la rébellion. Le New York Albion a fait état de la bravoure et de la loyauté des deux jeunes filles envers leur pays.

Les actes héroïques de Charlotte et Cornelia De Grassi ont été relatés dans le quotidien le Globe and Mail. Toutes deux figurent aussi dans l'Encyclopédie canadienne et on trouve une plaque commémorative au nom de la famille De Grassi dans la réserve de conservation Charles Sauriol,à Toronto.

Charlotte et Cornelia De Grassi, des Canadiennes remarquables qui ont marqué tôt dans leur vie l'histoire du pays.

Photo : http://torontofamilyhistory.org/kingandcountry/archives/713 (disponible en anglais seulement).

Date de modification :