Stories of Girls Making a Difference

Photo of Ophélie Langevin

Name: Ophélie Langevin
Date: Born 2002
Role: Entrepreneur, activist
Girlhood achievement: President of her own company at age 10

At age 10, Ophélie Langevin wanted to work in her hometown of Ste-Julie, Quebec, but was told by city officials that she was too young for a job and could only work through a foundation. So she started her own social enterprise: Cream Pops! With her team of 15 volunteers, Ophélie spent the summer raising money for the Fondation Hôpital Pierre-Boucher – the hospital where she and her sister were born – by selling ice cream treats at soccer games and community events.

Ophélie already has lots of experience in running her own business, which will come in handy in her hoped-for future career as a sommelier and vineyard owner! Her philosophy for success is: "When something doesn't go well, don't give up – try something else!"

Now that the ice cream season has come to an end, Ophélie is planning to donate the remaining stock from her Cream Pops enterprise to a children's hospital. She hopes to present the ice cream to the children in person, with her mascot dog Lilou in tow.

Ophélie Langevin – a history-making Canadian girl and a future great Canadian woman.

Photo credit: Marco Campanozzi, La Presse

Date modified:

Histoires de filles qui font bouger les choses

Biographie de Ophélie Langevin

Photo d’Ophélie Langevin

Photo : Marco Campanozzi,
La Presse

Nom : Ophélie Langevin
Date : Née en 2002
Domaine d'activité : Entrepreneuse, militante
Réalisation de jeunesse : Présidente d'entreprise à 10 ans!

À 10 ans, Ophélie Langevin voulait travailler, mais, à la Ville de Sainte-Julie, on lui a répondu qu'elle était trop jeune et que la seule façon de le faire, serait par une fondation. Elle a donc lancé sa propre entreprise sociale : Crème Pops! Épaulée par une équipe de 15 bénévoles, la jeune Julievilloise a passé l'été à vendre des friandises glacées au profit de la Fondation de l'hôpital Pierre-Boucher (où elle et sa sœur sont nées) pendant les parties de soccer et des activités communautaires.

Ophélie a déjà beaucoup d'expérience en gestion d'entreprise, ce qui lui sera utile dans la carrière de sommelière et productrice de vin à laquelle elle se destine! La philosophie à la base de sa réussite? « Quand quelque chose ne marche pas, il ne faut pas laisser tomber, et essayer autre chose ».

Maintenant que la saison de la crème glacée est terminée, Ophélie entend remettre le reste des stocks de son entreprise Crème Pops à un hôpital pour enfants. Elle aimerait présenter la crème glacée aux enfants en personne, accompagnée de son chien mascotte Lilou.

Ophélie Langevin, une Canadienne remarquable qui a marqué tôt dans sa vie l'histoire du pays!

Date de modification :