Stories of Girls Making a Difference

Biography of Alice Robitaille

Picture of Alice Robitaille

Name: Alice Robitaille - stage name Alys Robi
Date: 1923 – 2011
Role: Singer, translator of Latin American songs
Girlhood achievement: Hosted her own radio show, performed on military bases across Canada

When she performed at Quebec City's Capitol Theatre at the age of seven, Alice Robitaille – who later took on the stage name of Alys Robi – was already an experienced actor and singer who had sung on-air with CHRC radio station.Footnote 1.

Born in Quebec City, Alys was 13 when she moved to Montréal's Théatre National to sing and perform under the direction of Rose Ouellette. Following her 75-week engagement, she began performing in cabarets and on radio, even hosting her own war-time show, Tambour battant (Rumbling Drum). Alys also toured Canadian military bases during the war years, entertaining the troops with her repertoire of translated Latin American songs as her star rose across the country.

By her late teens, Alys was known internationally for her extraordinary singing voice and for her powerful performances of Latin American songs such as "Besame Mucho" and "Tico tico," which she translated from the original Spanish and Portuguese into French.

After a long and distinguished international career that included a performance on BBC television and a series of personal tragedies and triumphs, Alys died in Quebec City at the age of 88.Footnote 2.

Alys Robi – a history-making Canadian girl and a great Canadian woman!

Date modified:

Histoires de filles qui font bouger les choses

Biographie d’Alice Robitaille

Photo d’Alice Robitaille

Nom : Alice Robitaille - nom de scène Alys Robi
Date : 1923 - 2011
Domaine d'activité : Chanteuse, adaptation de chansons latino-américaines
Réalisation de jeunesse : A animé une émission de radio et s'est produite dans les bases militaires canadiennes.

Lors de sa prestation au Capitole de Québec, à 7 ans, Alice Robitaille (qui a plus tard adopté le nom de scène Alys Robi) était déjà une actrice et chanteuse chevronnée, puisqu'elle avait entre autres chanté en ondes à la station de radio CHRNote de bas de page 1.

Née à Québec, Alys avait 13 ans lorsqu'elle est déménagée à Montréal pour aller chanter et jouer au Théâtre national sous la direction de Rose Ouellette. Après les 75 semaines de son contrat, elle a commencé à se produire dans les cabarets et à la radio, et a même animé une émission pendant la guerre : Tambour battant. Alys a également fait la tournée des bases militaires canadiennes pendant la guerre pour divertir les troupes. Elle gagnait en popularité partout au pays. Son répertoire consistait de chansons latino-américaines adaptées en français.

À la fin de son adolescence, Alys était connue internationalement pour sa voix extraordinaire et son interprétation irréprochable de chansons comme Besame Mucho, traduite de l'espagnol, et Tico tico, traduite du portugais.

Après une longue et distinguée carrière internationale, marquée entre autres par une prestation à la télévision de la BBC, ainsi qu'une série de tragédies et de triomphes personnels, Alys est décédée à Québec à l'âge de 88 ansNote de bas de page2.

Alys Robi, une Canadienne remarquable qui a marqué tôt dans sa vie l'histoire du pays.


Date de modification :