Persons Day

Banner for Persons Day - #BecauseofHer

Persons Day is celebrated on October 18.

The historic decision to include women in the legal definition of "persons" was handed down by Canada's highest court of appeal – the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council of Great Britain – on October 18, 1929. This gave women the right to be appointed to the Senate of Canada and paved the way for women's increased participation in public and political life.

October 18 is now celebrated as Persons Day, and the Governor General's Awards in Commemoration of the Persons Case are awarded each year in October to mark the historic Persons Case decision.

The five women who pursued the case have become known as the Famous Five. They were journalists, magistrates and politicians who were influenced by a number of reform movements that took root in the early twentieth century. Their arduous legal quest, which began in 1927, resulted in a milestone victory and was a turning point for equality rights in Canada.

#BecauseofHer we have a voice

In 2016, we acknowledge that “Because of Her”, Canada’s democracy is stronger than ever. This year, the Government of Canada is celebrating Persons Day by recognizing the countless remarkable women whose actions have changed the course of Canada’s democracy. From the Famous Five to Mary Two-Axe Early, our past is filled with stories of extraordinary women who stood up for their rights and advanced gender equality for all.

Persons Day reminds us all that women’s voices matter. When women step forward and make themselves heard, the changes they create benefit us all.

Beyond the Famous Five

Activism for gender equality did not begin, nor did it end, with the Famous Five. By the time the Famous Five began pursuing the Persons Case in Alberta in 1927, they had benefitted from the legacy of a long line of diverse and influential women who had overcome barriers and advanced equality in their own time. Women like Mary Ann Shadd Cary, a civil rights activist who became the first Black woman in North America to publish a newspaper. Or Idola St. Jean and Thérèse Casgrain, who campaigned fiercely for women's right to vote in Quebec. Then there’s Mary Two-Axe Early, who fought on behalf of Indigenous women who lost their official Indian status when they married non-Indigenous spouses. In the years that followed, countless other women and men pushed even further for gender equality in all aspects of Canadian society. This spirit of activism and social justice lives on today and is recognized each year by the Governor General’s Awards in Commemoration of the Persons Case.

Women. Are persons.

Women.
Are persons.
In 1929, these words were revolutionary.
Before this, the word "persons", as it appeared in the
British North America Act, did not include women.
When five extraordinary women launched a legal challenge,
it would alter the course of Canadian history.
They became known as the Famous Five and their legal battle was
known as the Persons Case.
On October 18th 1929, women were declared "persons"
under the law in Canada.
This allowed women to become Senators.
More than this, the decision paved the way for women to take
part in all aspects of public life - as leaders,
law-makers and reformers.
The fight for equality up to us now.
We can preserve the legacy of the Famous Five by taking action
for gender equality - on Persons Day and every day.
Together, we can realize their vision of an equitable Canada,
with opportunities for all.

Date modified:

Journée de l'affaire « personne »

Banner for Women History Month - #GrâceàElle

La journée de l’affaire « personne » est célébrée le 18 octobre.

Le 18 octobre 1929, le Comité judiciaire du Conseil privé de Londres a rendu une décision historique : le Comité, qui était le plus haut tribunal d’appel du Canada à l’époque, a reconnu aux femmes le statut juridique de « personnes ». La décision a ouvert les portes du Sénat aux Canadiennes et a préparé le terrain à leur participation accrue à la vie publique et politique.

Aussi, le 18 octobre est maintenant la Journée de l’affaire « personne » au Canada et, chaque année en octobre, ont décerne les Prix du Gouverneur général en commémoration de l’affaire « personne » en mémoire du jugement historique.

Les cinq femmes ayant porté cette affaire devant les tribunaux sont maintenant connues comme les Célèbres cinq. Parmi elles, on trouvait des journalistes, des magistrates et des politiciennes souscrivant au courant réformateur ayant pris son élan avec le XXe siècle. La dure bataille juridique des Célèbres cinq, qui a débuté en 1927, s’est soldée par une victoire historique et représente un tournant décisif dans la lutte pour le droit des femmes à l’égalité au Canada.

C’est « #grâceàelle » que nous avons une voix

En 2016, le gouvernement du Canada célèbre la Journée de l’affaire « personne », en reconnaissant les innombrables femmes qui, par leurs gestes, ont changé le cours de notre démocratie. Des Célèbres cinq à Mary Two-Axe Early, notre passé regorge de femmes extraordinaires qui ont défendu leurs droits et fait progresser l’égalité des sexes pour l’ensemble de la population canadienne

Cette année, nous reconnaissons que grâce à elles, la démocratie canadienne est plus solide que jamais. La Journée de l’affaire « personne » nous rappelle que la voix des femmes compte. Lorsque les femmes prennent la parole pour revendiquer des changements, nous profitons toutes et tous des progrès qui s’ensuivent.

Après les Célèbres cinq

Le militantisme pour l’égalité des sexes n’a pris ni naissance ni fin avec les Célèbre cinq. Au moment de porter l’affaire devant les tribunaux en 1927, en Alberta, celles ci s’inscrivent dans une longue lignée de femmes influentes d’horizons divers ayant su vaincre les obstacles et fait avancer la cause de l’égalité des sexes à leur propre époque. Cette lignée inclut Mary Ann Shadd Cary, militante des droits de la personne et première noire d’Amérique du Nord à publier un journal. Elle inclut aussi Idola St Jean et Thérèse Casgrain, qui ont milité farouchement pour le droit de vote des Québécoises. Et que dire de Mary Two Axe Early, qui s’est battue pour les femmes autochtones dépossédées de leur statut d’Indienne après avoir marié des non-Indiens? Dans les années qui ont suivi, d’innombrables autres femmes et hommes ont multiplié les efforts pour faire du Canada une société pleinement égalitaire. Encore bien présent, cet esprit de militantisme et de justice sociale est récompensé chaque année par les Prix du Gouverneur général en commémoration de l’affaire « personne ».

Les femmes. Sont. Des personnes

Les femmes. Sont.
Des personnes.
En 1929, ces mots étaient révolutionnaires.
Avant cela, le mot « personne »,
tel qu'il figurait dans l'Acte de l'Amérique
du Nord britannique, ne comprenait pas les femmes.
La contestation judiciaire qu'ont lancée
cinq femmes exceptionnelles a modifié l'évolution
de l'histoire du Canada.
Elles sont connues aujourd'hui comme les Célèbres cinq,
et c'est depuis lors qu'on parle de l'affaire « personne ».
Le 18 octobre 1929, les femmes ont été déclarées des
« personne » au regard de la loi au Canada.
Cela a permis aux femmes d'être sénatrices.
La décision a également ouvert la voie à la participation des
femmes à tous les aspects de la vie publique - comme chefs,
législatrices et réformatrices.
C'est à nous maintenant de lutter pour l'égalité.
Nous POUVONS assurer l'héritage des Célèbres cinq en posant des
gestes concrets qui favorisent l'égalité entre les sexes -
non seulement lors de la Journée de l'affaire « personne »,
mais tous les jours.
Ensemble, nous pouvons réaliser leur vision d'un Canada juste
qui offre des possibilités à toutes et à tous.

Date de modification :