The National Day of Remembrance and Action on Violence Against Women

December 6 is the National Day of Remembrance and Action on Violence against Women in Canada. Established in 1991 by the Parliament of Canada, this day marks the anniversary of the murders in 1989 of 14 young women at l'École Polytechnique de Montréal. They died because they were women.

What will you do?

The National Day of Remembrance and Action on Violence Against Women is about remembering victims; it is also a time to take action. Get Involved

Why a National Day of Remembrance and Action on Violence Against Women?

As well as commemorating the 14 young women whose lives ended in an act of gender-based violence that shocked the nation, December 6 represents an opportunity for Canadians to reflect on the phenomenon of violence against women in our society. It is also an opportunity to consider the women and girls for whom violence is a daily reality, and to remember those who have died as a result of gender-based violence. And finally, it is a day on which communities can consider concrete actions to eliminate all forms of violence against women and girls.

November and December are important months for raising awareness of gender-based violence in Canada and around the world. In addition to the National Day of Remembrance and Action on Violence Against Women on December 6, the International Day for the Elimination of Violence Against Women takes place on November 25 and marks the first day of the 16 Days of Activism Against Gender Violence, which ends on December 10, with International Human Rights Day.

6 dec

Video

Violence against Women Must End – Take the Pledge

The RCMP reports that nearly 1,200 Aboriginal women
and girls have been murdered or gone missing in Canada.
Women are almost four times more likely than men to experience
intimate partner violence.
90% of sexual assaults against women by a non-spousal accused
are never reported to police.
Violence against women must end.
What will you do to help?
I will
speak out against gender-based violence.
I will
not tolerate degrading language about women.
I will
teach my child about healthy relationships.
I will
speak out against violence against women and girls.
I will
not look the other way.
I will
raise my son to respect women.
I will
not blame the victim.
Go to women.gc.ca and Take the Pledge #EndViolence
The 16 Days of Activism Against Gender Violence
(November 25 - December 10)
Go to women.gc.ca and Take the Pledge #EndViolence


Take the pledge

Take the pledge and share what you will do to #EndViolence against women and girls.

16 Days, 16 Facts

Image of poster

Download the Poster

Printable versions:

  • View Description of Poster in HTML

    3 long-stemmed red roses appear as though planted in a field, against white background, with the ground under them represented in black. Above the roses are several lines of text which read: National Day of Remembrance and Action on Violence Against Women followed by “Reflect, Remember, Join the movement to end violence”. Readers are encouraged to go to women.gc.ca and take a pledge to end violence. Beside the roses is printed the twitter identification of “hashtag December 6”. Beneath the roses the text reads: “The 16 Days of Activism Against Gender Violence – November 25-December 10. In opposite corners of the poster in small print are the Status of Women Canada and Government of Canada logos.

Date modified:

Journée nationale de commémoration et d'action contre la violence faite aux femmes

Le 6 décembre est la Journée nationale de commémoration et d’action contre la violence faite aux femmes au Canada. Instituée en 1991 par le Parlement du Canada, cette journée souligne l'anniversaire du meurtre de 14 jeunes femmes en 1989, à l'École polytechnique de Montréal. Elles ont été tuées parce qu'elles étaient des femmes.

Que ferez-vous?

Le 6 décembre, on se souvient des victimes; c’est aussi le temps d’agir. Impliquez-vous.

Pourquoi une Journée nationale de commémoration et d'action contre la violence faite aux femmes?

Le 6 décembre est la Journée nationale de commémoration et d'action contre la violence faite aux femmes au Canada. Instituée en 1991 par le Parlement du Canada, cette journée souligne l'anniversaire du meurtre de 14 jeunes femmes en 1989 à l'École Polytechnique de Montréal, tuées parce qu'elles étaient des femmes.

Tout en commémorant les 14 jeunes femmes qui ont perdu la vie par un acte de violence sexiste qui a bouleversé la nation, le 6 décembre offre aux Canadiennes et aux Canadiens l'occasion de se conscientiser au phénomène de la violence envers les femmes dans notre société. C’est aussi l’occasion de penser aux femmes et aux filles qui sont aux prises avec la violence au quotidien et de rendre hommage à celles qui sont mortes à cause de la violence sexiste. Enfin, pendant cette journée, les collectivités peuvent réfléchir à ce qu’elles pourraient faire concrètement pour aider à éliminer toutes les formes de violence à l'endroit des femmes et des filles.

Les mois de novembre et de décembre sont des mois importants dans la sensibilisation du public à la violence fondée sur le sexe, au Canada comme à l’étranger, car ils regroupent plusieurs dates clés. Outre la Journée nationale de commémoration et d’action contre la violence faite aux femmes, le 6 décembre, il y a la Journée internationale pour l’élimination de la violence à l’égard des femmes, qui est célébrée le 25 novembre et qui ouvre les 16 jours d’activisme contre la violence faite aux femmes. Ces derniers se concluent par la Journée internationale des droits de la personne, le 10 décembre.

6 dec

Vidéo

Nous devons éliminer la violence faite aux femmes – Engagez-vous

La GRC signale que près de 1 200 femmes et filles autochtones
sont disparues ou ont été assassinées au Canada.
Les femmes sont presque quatre fois plus susceptibles
d'être victimes de violence conjugale que les hommes.
90 % des agressions sexuelles non conjugales contre
les femmes ne sont jamais signalées à la police.
Nous devons éliminer la violence faite aux femmes.
Quelle sera votre contribution?
Je dénoncerai
la violence sexiste.
Je ne tolérerai pas
les propos dégradants envers les femmes.
J'enseignerai à mon enfant
à quoi ressemble une relation saine.
Je dénoncerai la violence
faite aux femmes et les filles.
Je ne fermerai pas
les yeux.
J'enseignerai le respect des femmes
à mon fils.
Je ne blâmerai pas
la victime.
Visitez femmes.gc.ca et Engagez-vous #arrêtonslaviolence
Les 16 jours d'activisme contre la violence faite aux femmes.
25 novembre - 10 décembre.
Visitez femmes.gc.ca
et #arrêtonslaviolence, Engagez-vous.


Take the pledge

Ensemble, #arrêtonslaviolence. Visitez femmes.gc.ca et engagez-vous.

16 jours, 16 faits

Image de l'affiche

Télécharger l’affiche

Versions imprimables :

  • Visualiser la description de l’affiche en format html

    3 roses rouges à longue tige sont présentées sur fond blanc; elles semblent avoir été plantées dans un champ, lequel figure en noir au bas de l’affiche. Au dessus des roses, on peut lire le titre : « Journée nationale de commémoration et d’action contre la violence faite aux femmes ». Plus bas, en retrait, on peut lire : « Se conscientiser. Se souvenir. Visitez femmes.gc.ca et engagez-vous à éliminer la violence. » À la droite des roses apparaît le mot-clic « 6 décembre », tandis qu’en dessous on peut lire : « Les 16 jours d’activisme contre la violence faite aux femmes, du 25 novembre au 10 décembre. » Le mot-symbole Canada apparaît dans le coin inférieur droit. Le logo de Condition féminine Canada, lui, apparaît dans le coin supérieur gauche.

Date de modification :