Setting the Stage for Girls and Young Women to Succeed

WarningThis page has been archived.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or record-keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Theme: Strengthening girls' and young women's economic prosperity

Project Objectives

  • To develop the capacity of girls and young women to identify and respond to specific barriers to fulfillment of their economic potential in Canada.

Description

Projects under this theme will build partnerships and collaboration between individuals, communities and stakeholders to identify and respond to the specific barriers that girls and women face in fulfilling their economic potential. In concert with stakeholders at all levels, girls and young women will help identify the issues affecting their economic participation and expand their understanding of these issues with respect to future economic prospects. Girls and young women will also develop leadership skills and help deliver innovative girl-led strategies to overcome these barriers and positively impact their communities.

Target Population

Girls and/or young women under 25 years of age

Funding Available

Up to $200,000.

Duration

Up to 24 months.

Key Activities

  1. Engage and establish working partnerships with relevant community stakeholders. For example: local women, women's and other community organizations, including youth/girl groups, community leaders, young men/boys, parents/parental groups, schools/school boards, student bodies, local, regional or provincial governments, training institutions, etc.
  2. Planproject and adapt to local needs:
    • Conduct a needs assessment, taking gender issues into consideration, for overcoming specific barriers to girls'/young women's fulfillment of their economic potential;
    • Identify barriers as well as priorities and potential strategies for improving girl's/young women's economic prospects.
    • Engage stakeholders in identifying gaps, opportunities, resources, and potential strategies as well as valuable existing institutional mechanisms (for example: policies, programs, services, models, planning and decision-making processes, etc.).
  3. Develop/adapt specific activities for girls/young women to address the priority challenges they have identified in their communities.
    • Identify promising practices to overcome barriers to girls' and young women's fulfillment of their economic potential in Canada.
  4. Delivery and implementation. Projects must, at a minimum, undertake the following activities:
    • Increase awareness among participants and others of specific barriers that can prevent girls and young women from fulfilling their economic potential in Canada.
    • Engage, educate and network with community partner(s).
    • Apply what has been learned to the delivery of girl-led action-oriented and community-based projects that address one or more of the issues preventing girls and young women from fulfilling their economic potential in Canada.

Planned Results (at project's end)

  • Participants and community partners have an increased understanding of issues relating to the specific barriers preventing girls and young women from fulfilling their economic potential in Canada.
  • Girls and young women have gained/strengthened skills to identify and respond to issues related to fulfillment of their economic potential in Canada.

Longer-Term Results (after project's end)

  • More girls/young women are actively engaging and taking on leadership roles to address economic issues in their communities.
  • Stakeholders have taken specific actions to overcome barriers to girls' and young women's fulfillment of their economic potential in Canada.

Project Deliverables (after approval)

Depending on the nature of the proposed project, additional requirements may apply

Month 4

Detailed project documents including: work plan, budget, results framework and performance measurement plan, risk management plan, and list of project partners including descriptions of their contributions

Month 8

Needs assessment report and updated project documents as applicable

Month 12

Interim report

Month 24 or project end date

Final report

To ensure your proposed project fulfills the requirements of this Call for Proposals and the Women's Program's eligibility criteria, contact a Status of Women Canada office to discuss the application with a project officer. This is strongly recommended before filling out the application form.

The development and/or delivery of financial literacy and/or career planning activities/programs for girls/young women should not be the only or primary focus of proposed projects.

Funding cannot be used to support existing and/or ongoing activities or programs; direct services under the jurisdiction of other levels of government (e.g. hot breakfast programs, housing/shelter services for homeless girls/young women, etc.); or recreational activities (e.g. summer camps, support activities/programs such as homework clubs, etc.).

Préparer la réussite des filles et des jeunes femmes

AvertissementCette page Web a été archivée.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Thème: Améliorer les perspectives économiques des filles et des jeunes femmes

Objectifs du projet

Donner aux filles et aux jeunes femmes la capacité de reconnaître et de surmonter certains obstacles à la réalisation de leur plein potentiel économique au Canada.

Description

Les projets sous ce thème auront pour objet d’établir des partenariats ou de permettre la collaboration entre les filles et jeunes femmes, les collectivités et les parties intéressées, afin de cerner et aplanir les obstacles particuliers qui empêchent les Canadiennes de réaliser leur plein potentiel économique. De concert avec les parties intéressées à tous les niveaux, les filles et les jeunes femmes aideront à cerner les obstacles à leur participation et en approfondiront leur compréhension. Elles pourront aussi apprendre à diriger et participer à la mise en œuvre de stratégies novatrices, menées par des filles, pour surmonter ces obstacles et avoir une influence positive sur leur collectivité.

Population ciblée

Les filles et les jeunes femmes âgées de moins de 25 ans.

Financement disponible

Jusqu'à 200 000 $.

Durée

Jusqu'à 24 mois.

Principales activités

  1. Mobilisation des groupes communautaires intéressés et création de partenariats de travail avec eux. Par exemple : les femmes du milieu, des organismes pour femmes et autres groupes communautaires, y compris des groupes de jeunes et de filles, des responsables locaux, de jeunes hommes et des garçons, des parents et groupes de parents, des écoles et des conseils scolaires, des associations étudiantes, les gouvernements locaux, régionaux ou provinciaux, des établissements d'enseignement, etc.
  2. Planification du projet et adaptation aux besoins locaux :
    • Réalisation de l'évaluation des besoins, en tenant compte du genre, pour surmonter les obstacles particuliers à la réalisation du plein potentiel économique des filles et des jeunes femmes;
    • Détermination des obstacles à l'amélioration des perspectives économiques des filles et des jeunes femmes, ainsi que des priorités et stratégies à adopter;
    • Consultation des parties intéressées pour déterminer les lacunes, occasions, resources, et stratégies possibles, ainsi que les mécanismes institutionnels existants qui sont utiles (par exemple : politiques, programmes, services, modèles, processus de planification et de prise de décisions).
  3. Élaboration/adaptation d'activités particulières pour les filles et les jeunes femmes afin de s'attaquer aux défis prioritaires qu'elles ont cernés dans les collectivités.
    • Détermination des pratiques prometteuses pour surmonter les obstacles à la réalisation du plein potentiel économique des filles et des jeunes femmes au Canada.
  4. Exécution et mise en œuvre. Les projets doivent, au minimum, comporter les activités suivantes :
    • Sensibilisation des participants et d'autres personnes aux obstacles particuliers qui peuvent empêcher les filles et les jeunes femmes de réaliser leur plein potentiel économique au Canada;
    • Mobilisation et sensibilisation de partenaires et réseautage avec ces partenaires;
    • Application des leçons apprises à la réalisation de projets communautaires menés par des filles, axés sur l'action, qui ont pour objet de remédier à un ou plusieurs des problèmes qui empêchent les filles et les jeunes femmes de réaliser leur plein potentiel économique au Canada.

Résultats prévus (à la fin du projet)

  • Les personnes qui ont participé au projet et les partenaires communautaires comprennent mieux les obstacles particuliers qui empêchent les filles et les jeunes femmes de réaliser leur plein potentiel économique au Canada.
  • Les filles et les jeunes femmes peuvent reconnaître et surmonter les obstacles à la réalisation de leur plein potentiel économique au Canada grâce aux compétences qu'elles ont acquises ou renforcées.

Résultats à long terme (après le projet) :

  • Plus de filles et de jeunes femmes militent activement et dirigent les efforts visant à remédier aux problèmes économiques dans leur milieu.
  • Les parties intéressées ont pris des mesures précises pour contrer les obstacles à la réalisation du plein potentiel économique des filles et des jeunes femmes au Canada.

Éléments livrables (après l'approbation)

Selon la nature du projet proposé, d'autres exigences pourraient être imposées.

Mois 4

Documentation détaillée sur le projet (plan de travail, budget, cadre des résultats et plan de mesure du rendement, plan de gestion des risques et liste des partenaires du projet avec description de leurs contributions)

Mois 8

Rapport d'évaluation des besoins et mise à jour de la documentation du projet, s'il y a lieu

Mois 12

Rapport provisoire

Mois 24 ou date de fin du projet

Rapport final

Nota

Pour vous assurer que votre projet répond bien aux exigences du présent appel de propositions et aux critères d'admissibilité du Programme de promotion de la femme, communiquez avec un bureau de Condition féminine Canada pour en discuter avec une agente ou un agent de projet. Nous vous recommandons vivement de le faire avant de remplir un formulaire de demande.

Les fonds ne doivent pas servir à financer des activités ou des programmes existants ou continus.