Theme: Preventing and eliminating cyberviolence

Theme's banner

Introduction

Cyberviolence is linked to the larger social issue of violence against women and girls. Cyberspaces, such as social media sites, do not cause cyber violence, but impact the ways in which it occurs.Footnote 1

Project Objective

To support women and community partners in working together to develop and implement appropriate strategies that prevent and eliminate cyber violence (e.g. cyberbullying, internet luring, cyberstalking) against young women and girls.

Project Description

Each project must include the following two elements:

1. Address institutional barriers

The proposal will address institutional barriers and other factors that limit the efforts of communities to address the issue of cyberviolence against young women and girls. Specifically, projects will help develop appropriate approaches to engage youth and communities in preventing or eliminating cyberviolence (e.g. cyberbullying, Internet luring, cyberstalking) against young women and girls.

2. Build collaboration

The proposal will help build collaboration among community stakeholders to identify and respond to the specific needs of young women and girls. Youth will help identify the issues of cyberviolence affecting young women and girls, expand their understanding of these issues, and in partnership with community stakeholders, help carry out strategies to prevent or eliminate this form of gender-based violence in their community. The project will include a formal evaluation component to help determine the appropriateness of the strategy.

Funding Available/Duration

  Funding Available Duration
Projects at the local level Up to $175,000 Up to 24 months
Projects at the national level Up to $300,000 Up to 36 months

Mandatory Key Activities

a) Partnerships

Engage and establish working partnerships with women's and other community organizations working in the field of violence against women and girls, community leaders, stakeholders and potential allies.

b) Needs Assessment

Carry out a needs assessment in sufficient scope and detail to inform the development and implementation of the project.

c) Knowledge Sharing

Share knowledge among project participants and stakeholders on the broader issue of violence against women, and specifically cyberviolence.

d) Strategy

Develop and implement a strategy to address the issues and gaps identified in your needs assessment by building partnerships and collaboration among community stakeholders. For example, approaches could include:

e) Project Evaluation

Important Considerations

Projects proposing the following types of activities will not be considered under this Call for Proposals:

Please note:

Planned Results

Project Deliverables (After Approval)

Month 4

Month 12

Month 24

Note: Performance reporting requirements and timelines will be determined after the proposed project has been approved.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

(adapted) Fairbairn, J., Bivens, R., and Dawson, M. (2013). Sexual violence and social media: Building a framework for prevention. Ottawa: Crime Prevention Ottawa/Ottawa Coalition to End Violence Against Women. Available at: http://www.octevaw-cocvff.ca/sites/all/files/pdf/reports/sexual-violence-and-social-media.pdf*

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

(adapted) Fairbairn, J., Bivens, R., and Dawson, M. (2013). Sexual violence and social media: Building a framework for prevention. Ottawa: Crime Prevention Ottawa/Ottawa Coalition to End Violence Against Women. Available at: http://www.octevaw-cocvff.ca/sites/all/files/pdf/reports/sexual-violence-and-social-media.pdf*

Return to footnote 2 referrer

* To open, view, navigate and print Acrobat PDF files, you must have Adobe Acrobat Reader installed on your system. If you do not have this software, it is downloadable, free of charge. Click here to download Adobe Acrobat Reader, and follow the instructions to install it.

Date modified:

Thème : Prévenir et éliminer

Bannière du thème.

Introduction

La cyberviolence s'inscrit dans la problématique sociale de la violence faite aux femmes et aux filles. Les lieux du cyberespace, par exemple les sites des médias sociaux, ne causent pas eux-mêmes la cyberviolence, mais ils influencent la manière dont elle se produitFootnote 1.

Objectif du projet

Permettre aux femmes participantes de travailler avec des partenaires communautaires à élaborer et mettre en œuvre des stratégies appropriées pour la prévention et l'élimination de la cyberviolence (p. ex. la cyberintimidation, la cyberprédation et le harcèlement en ligne) faite aux filles et aux jeunes femmes.

Description du projet

Chaque projet doit comprendre les deux éléments qui suivent :

1. Élimination des obstacles institutionnels

Le projet doit s'attaquer aux obstacles institutionnels et aux autres facteurs qui limitent les efforts des collectivités afin de combattre la cyberviolence faite aux femmes et aux filles. Il doit notamment inclure la mise au point de méthodes appropriées en vue d'engager les jeunes et les collectivités dans la prévention ou l'élimination de la cyberviolence (p. ex. la cyberintimidation, la cyberprédation et le harcèlement en ligne) faite aux filles et aux jeunes femmes.

2. Collaboration

Le projet doit faire appel à la collaboration des parties prenantes dans la collectivité pour déterminer les besoins précis des filles et des jeunes femmes, puis y répondre. Les jeunes aideront à déterminer exactement de quelle manière la cyberviolence touche les filles et les jeunes femmes, et approfondiront leur compréhension des enjeux. Ensuite, en collaboration avec les autres parties prenantes, ils aideront à appliquer des stratégies visant à prévenir ou à éliminer cette forme de violence sexiste dans leur collectivité. Le projet doit comprendre une composante d'évaluation formelle pour jauger la pertinence de la stratégie.

Financement offert et durée

  Financement offert Durée
Projets à l’échelle locale Jusqu’à 175 000 $ Jusqu’à 24 mois
Projets à l’échelle nationale Jusqu’à 300 000 $ Jusqu’à 36 mois

Activités principales obligatoires

a) Partenariats

établir et consolider des partenariats entre les groupes de femmes et d'autres organismes communautaires œuvrant dans le domaine de la lutte contre la violence faite aux femmes et aux filles, les chefs de file de la collectivité, les parties prenantes et les alliés potentiels.

b) Évaluation des besoins

Procéder à une évaluation des besoins en veillant à ce que cette évaluation ait une envergure suffisante et comporte assez de détails pour éclairer l'élaboration et la mise en œuvre du projet.

c) Mise en commun du savoir

Mettre en commun les connaissances des participantes et des parties prenantes sur la problématique de la violence faite aux femmes, en particulier les connaissances sur la cyberviolence.

d) Stratégie

Élaborer et mettre en oeuvre une stratégie pour remédier aux problèmes et aux lacunes mis en lumière par l'évaluation des besoins. Pour ce faire, établir un partenariat entre les parties prenantes de la collectivité. Voici des solutions qui pourraient être envisagées :

e) Évaluation du projet

Considérations importantes

Certains types d'activités sont exclus du présent appel de propositions, à savoir :

Remarque :

Résultats attendus

Éléments livrables (après l'approbation)

4e mois

Plan de travail détaillé, cadre des résultats et plan de mesure du rendement, plan de gestion des risques, plan d'évaluation et liste des partenaires du projet avec description de leurs contributions respectives.

12e mois

Rapport provisoire, rapport sur l'évaluation des besoins et autres documents sur le projet, s'il y a lieu.

24e mois

Rapport final et évaluation externe.

Remarque : Le calendrier et les exigences en matière de rapports seront déterminés une fois le projet approuvé.

* Pour que vous puissiez ouvrir, visualiser, parcourir et imprimer des fichiers en format PDF, le logiciel Adobe Acrobat Reader doit être installé sur votre ordinateur. S’il ne l’est pas, cliquez ici pour le télécharger gratuitement et suivez les instructions d’installation.

Date de modification :