Theme: Preventing or responding to sexual violence against women and girls through access to community services

Theme's banner

Project Objective

To increase the ability of sexual assault centres or community service providers (where sexual assault centres do not exist) to prevent or respond to sexual violence against women and girls by sharing and implementing promising practices.

Project Description

Each project must include the following two elements:

1. Address institutional barriers

The proposal should address institutional barriers and other factors that limit the capacity of sexual assault centres or community service providers to: engage their communities in preventing sexual violence; and/or respond to the needs of women and girls who are victims of sexual violence.

2. Build collaboration

The proposal should build collaboration between sexual assault centres or community service providers (e.g. women's shelters, organizations supporting victims of violence, and organizations serving ethno-cultural communities, etc.) addressing this issue, and their community partners, to better identify promising practices and coordinate implementation efforts. For example, projects could work to foster information sharing and education of community service providers to improve service responses. By working collaboratively to identify, pilot, and integrate promising practices, sexual assault centres and their partners will strengthen their role in preventing sexual violence and improving access to support services.

Funding Available/Duration

  Funding Available Duration
Projects at the local level Up to $175,000 Up to 24 months
Projects at the national level Up to $300,000 Up to 36 months

Mandatory Key Activities

a) Partnerships

Engage and establish working partnerships with women's and other community organizations working in the field of violence against women and girls, community leaders, stakeholders and potential allies.

b) Needs Assessment

Carry out a needs assessment taking gender issues into consideration with respect to sexual violence and the specific needs of women and girls in your community, including consideration of statistics as well as the nature, causes, and potential solutions to the issue.

c) Collaboration

Partner and collaborate with sexual assault centres or community service providers (where sexual assault centres do not exist) to collectively:

d) Strategy

Work collaboratively with either local community partners and/or as part of a multi-community network to pilot a new or adapted promising practice that addresses the issue of sexual violence against women and girls.

For example:

e) Knowledge Sharing

Ensure that the results of the project are shared with the network of partners consulted and other stakeholders.

Important Considerations

Projects proposing the following types of activities will not be considered under this Call for Proposals:

  • Delivering training to women, unless the training is to facilitate their participation in the project (e.g. facilitation skills).
  • Broadly-based awareness/prevention campaigns.
  • Adding new intervention programs and services.
  • Providing direct access to existing services/supports.
  • Supporting existing and/or ongoing activities or programs, or direct services under the jurisdiction of other levels of government.

Please note:

  • Preference will be given to projects that demonstrate collaboration with partners that are working to address the issue of violence against women and girls.
  • Hospitals and healthcare service providers are not eligible recipients for this call.
  • Where they exist, projects must align with existing provincial/local violence/sexual violence against women and girls frameworks. If this is not the case, projects must have key players at the table, so that information is shared and there is potential for uptake by others. 

Planned Results

Project Deliverables (after approval)

Month 4

Month 12

Month 24

Note: Performance reporting requirements and timelines will be determined after the proposed project has been approved.

Date modified:

Thème : Améliorer l’accessibilité des services communautaires d’intervention et de prévention en matière de violence sexuelle contre les femmes et les filles

Bannière du thème.

Objectif du projet

Accroître la capacité des centres d'aide aux victimes d'agression sexuelle ou des prestataires de services communautaires (dans les collectivités où il n'y a pas de centres) à prévenir la violence sexuelle faite aux femmes et aux filles ou à venir en aide aux victimes grâce à la diffusion et à l'adoption des pratiques prometteuses.

Description du projet

Chaque projet doit comprendre les deux éléments qui suivent :

1. Élimination des obstacles institutionnels

Le projet doit s'attaquer aux obstacles institutionnels et aux autres facteurs qui limitent la capacité des centres d'aide aux victimes d'agression sexuelle ou des prestataires de services communautaires à mobiliser la collectivité contre la violence sexuelle ou à répondre aux besoins des femmes et des filles qui sont victimes de violence sexuelle.

2. Collaboration

Le projet doit reposer sur une collaboration entre les centres d'aide aux victimes ou les prestataires de services communautaires (refuges pour femmes, organismes d'aide aux victimes de violence, organismes au service des communautés ethnoculturelles, etc. ) qui luttent contre ce problème et les parties prenantes dans la collectivité, afin d'aider à repérer les pratiques prometteuses et de mieux coordonner les efforts de mise en œuvre. Par exemple, on pourrait viser à promouvoir la mise en commun du savoir et la sensibilisation des prestataires de services communautaires en vue d'améliorer les interventions des diverses équipes. En collaborant pour définir, mettre à l'essai et intégrer des pratiques prometteuses, les centres et leurs partenaires renforceront leur rôle dans la prévention de la violence sexuelle et l'amélioration de l'accès aux services.

Financement offert et durée

  Financement offert Durée
Projets à l’échelle locale Jusqu’à 175 000 $ Jusqu’à 24 mois
Projets à l’échelle nationale Jusqu’à 300 000 $ Jusqu’à 36 mois

Activités principales obligatoires

a) Partenariats

Établir et consolider des partenariats entre les groupes de femmes et d'autres organismes communautaires œuvrant dans le domaine de la lutte contre la violence faite aux femmes et aux filles, les chefs de file de la collectivité, les parties prenantes et les alliés potentiels.

b) Évaluation des besoins

En tenant compte des considérations de genre ainsi que des enjeux propres aux femmes et aux filles de votre collectivité, évaluer les besoins d’aide et de prévention en matière de violence sexuelle. Outre les statistiques, on considérera la nature et les causes de cette violence, ainsi que les solutions potentielles.

c) Collaboration

établir un partenariat entre les centres d’aide aux victimes d’agression sexuelle ou les prestataires de services communautaires (lorsqu’il n’y a pas de centres) pour réaliser collectivement les étapes suivantes :

d) Stratégie

Collaborer avec les parties prenantes dans la collectivité locale ou travailler à l’intérieur d’un réseau regroupant des intervenants de plusieurs collectivités, afin de mettre à l’essai une pratique prometteuse (nouvelle ou adaptée) qui cible le problème de la violence sexuelle faite aux femmes et aux filles.

Par exemple :

e) Mise en commun du savoir

S’assurer que les résultats du projet soient communiqués aux partenaires consultés et aux autres parties prenantes.

Considérations importantes

Certains types d'activités sont exclus du présent appel de propositions, à savoir :

  • formation offerte à des femmes, à moins que cette formation ne facilite leur participation au projet (p. ex., compétences en animation);
  • grandes campagnes de sensibilisation ou de prévention;
  • ajout de nouveaux programmes et services d'intervention;
  • accès direct à une aide ou à des services existants;
  • financement d'activités existantes, de programmes courants ou de services directs relevant d'autres ordres de gouvernement.

Remarques :

  • Une préférence sera accordée aux projets qui font appel à la collaboration de partenaires qui œuvrent à éliminer la violence faite aux femmes et aux filles.
  • Les hôpitaux et les prestataires de soins de santé ne sont pas des demandeurs admissibles.
  • Les projets doivent concorder avec les cadres provinciaux et locaux existants en matière de violence sexuelle faite aux femmes et aux filles. En l’absence de tels cadres, on veillera à inclure les principales parties prenantes afin que l’information soit mise en commun et que les pratiques puissent éventuellement être adoptées par d’autres organismes.

Résultats attendus

Éléments livrables (après l'approbation)

4e mois

Plan de travail détaillé, cadre des résultats et plan de mesure du rendement, plan de gestion des risques et liste des partenaires du projet avec description de leurs contributions respectives.

12e mois

24e mois

Remarque : Le calendrier et les exigences en matière de rapports seront déterminés une fois le projet approuvé.

Date de modification :