Introduction to GBA+

Applying the concepts of sex and gender

Conclusion

Excluding the consideration of sex and gender differences in research on many medical conditions has limited effective diagnosis and treatment for both women and men. Even today, many clinical trials do not report results that have been analyzed separately for males and females, making it difficult to determine the biological and socio-cultural factors that may influence health. When developing effective treatments, it is equally important to document where no differences exist between male and female subjects.

There is increasing recognition in medical research of the need to identify sex and gender differences in relation to risk factors, symptoms and patterns of health issues for the purposes of preventing, diagnosing and treating illness in both men and women.

In our next module, we will move beyond the concepts of sex and gender and examine a number of the factors – such as race, ethnicity, religion, age, and mental or physical disability - that make us who we are.

Introduction à l'ACS+

Mise en pratique des concepts du sexe et du genre

Conclusion

Ne pas tenir compte des différences relevant du sexe et du genre dans la recherche médicale peut nuire au diagnostic et au traitement des femmes comme des hommes. Encore aujourd’hui, beaucoup d’essais cliniques ne tiennent pas compte du sexe des sujets, il est donc difficile de comprendre quels sont les facteurs biologiques et socioculturels qui pourraient influer sur la santé. Et lorsqu’il n’y a pas de différence entre les hommes et les femmes, il importe également de le savoir, preuves à l’appui.

Le milieu de la recherche reconnaît de plus en plus la nécessité de bien délimiter l’influence du sexe et du genre sur les facteurs de risque, les symptômes et le profil des maladies aux fins de la prévention, du diagnostic et du traitement de la maladie chez les femmes et les hommes.

Dans le prochain module, nous irons au-delà des concepts de sexe et de genre et examinerons un certain nombre de facteurs (par exemple la race, l’origine ethnique, la religion, l’âge ou le fait de vivre avec un handicap de nature physique ou intellectuelle) qui nous définissent.