Introduction to GBA+

Illustrating the GBA+ process: Forest sector case study

3 - Challenge assumptions

To assess the potential relevance of gender and other intersecting factors to the proposal, begin by challenging your assumptions. This will help inform the types of questions asked and the answers that are sought.

In this case, we could ask: what do we assume about the forest sector and the people and communities that depend on it?

We may be assuming that:

We may be assuming that:

  • All forest-dependent communities use forest land resources in the same way and that they would benefit equally from the new program.
  • All forest-dependent people want to engage in the forestry sector. Indigenous people have a special cultural and spiritual link to the forest, and there has been considerable opposition to forestry without the direct consultation and engagement of Indigenous peoples.
  • Forest sector workers are a homogenous group, or that they are simply the same as workers in the other industrial sectors we know about.

The assumption that an issue or initiative will have an impact on all stakeholders equally without exploring how people with differing experiences and characteristics will experience it differently can have unintended consequences.

It is critical, throughout the policy development process, to continually ask: “What am I assuming about women, men and gender-diverse people and about other factors (e.g. geography, culture, age, etc.)?” This will ensure that any potential negative impacts can be addressed.

Introduction à l'ACS+

Exemple d’une démarche d’ACS+ : étude de cas dans le secteur forestier

3 - Remettre en question les suppositions

Pour évaluer la pertinence des facteurs de genre et d’autres facteurs croisés pour la proposition, commencez par remettre en question vos suppositions. Ceci permettra de déterminer le type de questions à poser et de réponses recherchées.

À cette fin, vous pourriez vous poser la question suivante : quelles sont nos suppositions au sujet du secteur forestier et des personnes et collectivités qui en dépendent?

Peut-être supposons-nous que…

Peut-être supposons-nous que…

  • Toutes les collectivités tributaires de la forêt font le même usage des terres forestières et vont bénéficier également du nouveau programme.
  • Toutes les personnes qui dépendent de la forêt veulent participer au secteur forestier. Les peuples autochtones ont un lien culturel et spirituel privilégié avec la forêt, et ils s’opposent vivement à son exploitation lorsqu’ils ne sont pas directement consultés et mobilisés.
  • La main-d’œuvre du secteur forestier forme un groupe homogène ou est identique à celle d’autres secteurs industriels connus.

Il pourrait y avoir des conséquences inattendues si vous supposez qu’un enjeu ou une initiative aura les mêmes répercussions sur toutes les parties intéressées, indépendamment des caractéristiques et du vécu des personnes en cause.

Tout au long du processus d’élaboration des politiques, il est crucial de vous demander quelles sont vos suppositions à propos des femmes et des hommes, à propos des personnes allosexuelles, de même qu’au sujet d’autres facteurs, comme le lieu, la culture et l’âge. De cette façon, vous pourrez vous prémunir contre d’éventuelles conséquences négatives.