Introduction to GBA+

Illustrating the GBA+ process: Forest sector case study

5 - Gather the facts: Stakeholder perspectives

Now that you have gathered some information about the forest sector, it is time to seek out stakeholder perspectives on the issues of innovation and diversification in the forest sector.

Think about which stakeholders to consider, as well as what value to place on their perspectives. For instance, if you place the highest value on consensus during your consultation and recommendation process, you risk not hearing important minority voices among your stakeholder group. 

  • Who is traditionally consulted? Who may get left out of the discussion, if, for example, forestry executives are consulted as a key group of stakeholders? Women and Indigenous peoples are under-represented in management positions in the forest sector and on the corporate boards most likely to seek participation in consultations. Are Indigenous leaders consulting the broader community?
  • Will the same engagement process work for all stakeholders? What are potential barriers to participation faced by different groups among your stakeholders?
  • How might socio-economic status and family responsibilities affect access to consultations? Could certain factors prevent front-line workers or women from participating in the discussion? Measures such as holding meetings during working hours might allow these groups to participate.
  • In this case, it would be particularly useful to consult those with knowledge of local ecosystems, including Indigenous forest sector organizations/representatives, community groups and other experts.

Introduction à l'ACS+

Exemple d’une démarche d’ACS+ : étude de cas dans le secteur forestier

5 - Recueillir les faits : les parties intéressées

Maintenant que vous avez recueilli des renseignements au sujet du secteur forestier, vous pouvez consulter les parties intéressées sur l’innovation et la diversification dans ce secteur.

Pensez aux parties intéressées dont vous devez tenir compte et à la valeur à accorder au point de vue de chacune. Par exemple, si vous accordez la priorité au consensus durant le processus de consultation et de formulation des recommandations, vous risquez d’occulter la réalité d’importantes minorités.

  • Qui consulte-t-on normalement? Qui risque d’être tenu à l’écart de la discussion si, par exemple, vous estimez que le point de vue des cadres du secteur forestier est primordial? Les femmes et les Autochtones sont sous-représentés dans les postes de direction du secteur, de même qu’aux conseils d’administration qui sont les plus susceptibles de vouloir participer aux consultations. Les chefs autochtones consultent-ils la collectivité élargie?
  • Est-ce que les mêmes méthodes de consultation conviendront pour toutes les parties intéressées? Quels obstacles pourraient entraver la participation de l’une ou l’autre des parties?
  • Comment le statut socioéconomique et les responsabilités familiales pourraient-ils influer sur la participation aux consultations? Est-ce que certains facteurs pourraient empêcher des travailleuses et travailleurs de première ligne ou des femmes de participer aux discussions? Certaines mesures pourraient aider ces groupes à participer, par exemple, organiser des rencontres pendant les heures de travail.
  • Dans ce cas, il serait particulièrement utile de consulter des personnes connaissant bien le milieu local, notamment des porte-parole ou des expertes et experts autochtones (pour représenter les associations communautaires et l’industrie forestière des Premières Nations, par exemple).