Introduction to GBA+

Youth fitness case study

Introduction

We all know that physical activity is essential to healthy growth and development. Regular physical activity in childhood develops cardiovascular fitness, strength and bone density. The benefits of establishing positive habits early in childhood and adolescence can last a lifetime.

Studies show that only 5% of Canadian children between the ages of five and 17 meet the guidelines for daily physical activity.

Involvement in sports is an important part of child development, teaching youth to lead active, healthy lives while developing many fundamental social skills. Regular involvement in sports increases the likelihood that children and youth will meet physical activity recommendations for overall improved health.

Youth fitness has become an important public policy issue in Canada. The youth fitness case study will familiarize us with the issue and demonstrate how GBA+ can influence the development of public policy options to address it.

Introduction à l'ACS+

Étude de cas sur le conditionnement physique chez les jeunes

Introduction

Il est reconnu que l’activité physique est essentielle à une bonne croissance et à un développement sain. L’activité physique régulière chez les enfants favorise la santé cardiovasculaire, la force et la densité osseuse. Les avantages d’adopter de bonnes habitudes dans l’enfance et à l’adolescence peuvent durer toute la vie.

Les études montrent qu’au Canada, seulement 5 % des enfants de 5 à 17 ans pratiquent une activité physique tous les jours, comme il est recommandé.

La pratique d’une activité physique est une partie importante du développement de l’enfant. Elle favorise un mode de vie sain et permet d’acquérir des aptitudes sociales essentielles. Les enfants et les jeunes qui participent à des activités sportives sont plus susceptibles d’atteindre le niveau d’activité recommandé pour améliorer leur santé globale.

Le conditionnement physique chez les jeunes est une importante question de politique publique au Canada. L’étude de cas sur le conditionnement physique chez les jeunes nous permettra de nous familiariser avec cet enjeu et de montrer comment l’ACS+ peut, dans ce dossier, influer sur la formulation d’options pour les décisionnaires.