Introduction to GBA+

Test your knowledge

Question 1 (Select the best answer.)

GBA+ is:

 

Hint

Gender-based Analysis Plus (GBA+) is an analytical tool used to assess how diverse groups of women, men and gender-diverse people may experience policies, programs and initiatives. The “plus” in GBA+ acknowledges that GBA goes beyond biological (sex) and socio-cultural (gender) differences. We all have multiple identity factors that intersect to make us who we are; GBA+ also considers many other identity factors, like race, ethnicity, religion, age, and mental or physical disability.

To review the definition of GBA+, choose What is Gender-based Analysis Plus? at the beginning of this module.


Question 2 (Select the best answer.)

When gathering information as part of the GBA+ process, it is important to find:

 

Hint

Gathering information is the first step in assessing gender and/or diversity factors, and to determine whether your initiative will have a more significant impact on a particular group of women or men, or if unintended barriers exist.

Sources of data come from a variety of places, and part of checking assumptions involves going beyond the "usual" sources. Both quantitative and qualitative data should be gathered by sex and, where possible, other diversity factors to understand the issues which may be present for a particular initiative.

To review the steps of the GBA+ process, select The GBA+ process at the beginning of this module.


Question 3 (Select the best answer.)

A targeted approach:

 

Hint

A targeted approach means that the initiative focuses on one gender or group over another. Sometimes this approach is used to remedy a historical disadvantage.

To review information on the targeted option, choose Youth fitness case study in the menu.


Question 4 (Select the best answer.)

Parental leave is an example of a flexible approach because:

 

Hint

A flexible approach responds simultaneously to the needs of diverse population groups.

The evolution of maternity leave is an excellent example of a flexible approach because today birth and adoptive parents in Canada, regardless of marital status or sexual orientation, have access to parental leave.

To review information on the targeted option, choose Parental leave evolution in the left-side menu.

Introduction à l'ACS+

Mettez vos connaissances à l’épreuve

Question 1 (Choisissez la meilleure réponse)

L’ACS+ est :

 

Indice

L’analyse comparative entre les sexes (ACS+) sert à évaluer les répercussions potentielles des politiques, des programmes ou des initiatives sur divers ensembles de personnes — femmes, hommes ou autres. L’identité individuelle est déterminée par une multitude de facteurs en plus du sexe, par exemple la race, l’origine ethnique, la religion, l’âge ou le fait de vivre avec un handicap de nature physique ou intellectuelle. D’où l’ajout du mot « plus », signifiant que l’analyse ne se limite pas au sexe (différences biologiques) ou au genre (la construction sociale du sexe), mais considère aussi les autres facteurs qui les recoupent.

Pour passer en revue la définition de l’ACS+, voir Qu’est-ce que l’analyse comparative entre les sexes+ (ACS+)? au début du module.


Question 2 (Choisissez la meilleure réponse.)

Lorsque vous recueillez des données dans le cadre d’une démarche d’ACS+, il est important de trouver :

 

Indice

La collecte d’information est la première étape à franchir pour évaluer le genre et d’autres facteurs de diversité, et pour vérifier si votre initiative aura des effets plus marqués sur une population de femmes ou d’hommes en particulier, ou s’il y a des obstacles imprévus.

Les données peuvent provenir d’une variété de sources, et pour vérifier les suppositions il faut puiser des données ailleurs qu’aux sources « habituelles ». Les données quantitatives et qualitatives devraient être ventilées selon le sexe et, dans la mesure du possible, selon d’autres facteurs de diversité afin de cerner les enjeux en présence.

Pour passer en revue les étapes de la démarche d’ACS+, voir LA DÉMARCHE D’ACS+ au début du module.


Question 3 (Choisissez la meilleure réponse.)

L’approche spécifique :

 

Indice

L’approche spécifique permet d’appliquer l’ACS+ à une initiative en mettant l’accent sur un genre ou un segment particulier de la population plutôt qu’un autre. Parfois, cette approche permet de corriger une injustice historique.
Pour passer en revue l’information sur l’option spécifique, voir l’ÉTUDE DE CAS SUR LE CONDITIONNEMENT PHYSIQUE CHEZ LES JEUNES.


Question 4 (Choisissez la meilleure réponse.)

Le congé parental est un exemple d’approche intégrative, car :

 

Indice

L’approche intégrative répond simultanément aux besoins de populations d’horizons divers.
L’évolution du congé de maternité est un excellent exemple d’approche intégrative, car de nos jours, au Canada, les parents biologiques et les parents adoptifs sont admissibles au congé parental, quelle que soit leur situation matrimoniale ou leur orientation sexuelle.
Pour passer en revue l’information sur l’option spécifique, voir ÉVOLUTION DU CONGÉ PARENTAL.