Introduction to GBA+

Research

Research encompasses a wide array of activities and involves a range of employees, from those in formalized positions as research analysts to policy or program analysts who occasionally review data and information for particular projects.

Illustration of a character tracking footsteps with a magnifying glass.

Some questions to consider while gathering information:

  • What kinds of information and data are available?
  • What kinds of disaggregated quantitative or qualitative data would be important in understanding the different ways that diverse groups might experience this issue? How well does the available data correspond to the diverse groups of women, men and gender-diverse people who may be affected by a policy, program or initiative?
  • Where are the information gaps? How can these gaps be filled?
  • Does anecdotal evidence point to additional research questions?
  • Have diverse stakeholders’ perspectives been examined?
  • Have you critically assessed the data? For example: How old is the data, and what is its source? Does the research identify and consider gender differences in a fair and sensitive manner? Is the methodology based on outdated stereotypes or assumptions?

Introduction à l'ACS+

Recherche

La recherche englobe une vaste gamme d’activités auxquelles participe un personnel varié, notamment les analystes de recherche et les analystes de politiques ou de programmes qui examinent, à l’occasion, des données et de l’information pour des projets particuliers.

personnage suivant des traces de pas à la loupe

Au moment de recueillir de l’information, il faut se poser les questions suivantes :

  • Quel type d’information et de données puis-je trouver?
  • Quels genres de données quantitatives ou qualitatives ventilées me seraient utiles pour comprendre l’expérience que feraient diverses populations de cette question? Jusqu’à quel point les données disponibles correspondent-elles aux diverses populations de femmes, d’hommes et de personnes allosexuelles qui pourraient être touchées par une politique, un programme ou une initiative?
  • Quelles données manque-t-il? Comment pourrais-je combler ce manque?
  • Est-ce que vos observations suggèrent d’autres avenues de recherche?
  • A-t-on examiné le point de vue d’une variété de parties intéressées?
  • Avez-vous jeté un œil critique sur les données? Par exemple, à quand remontent les données et quelle est leur source? La recherche tient-elle compte des différences entre les sexes de manière juste et sensible? La méthodologie repose-t-elle sur des stéréotypes périmés ou des suppositions?