Introduction to GBA+

Identifying a Responsibility Centre

The role of a GBA+ Responsibility Centre is to lead, support, and monitor implementation of a GBA+ framework, and the ongoing practice of GBA+.

The Responsibility Centre also provides oversight, direction, and promotion of GBA+ across your organization.

It is recommended that the Responsibility Centre be identified in a part of the organization with broad reach, such as a strategic policy unit, to ensure access to various parts of your organization.

It is not recommended that a Human Resources or employment equity group be the lead. GBA+ is intended to be applied within all sectors. While increasing diverse representation may be a priority, applying GBA+ is about more than hiring practices.

While one section or unit may have lead responsibility, it is also recommended that you form a GBA+ intra-departmental working group with diverse representatives from across the organization, which would be able to influence decisions in numerous sectors.

A GBA+ champion in senior management should be identified to convey key commitments across the organization, provide updates on GBA+ to senior management, and to be the spokesperson for initiatives and results.

GBA+ framework - Responsibility Centre

Case Study: GBA+ framework in a public security organization

Case Study: GBA+ framework in a public security organization

2 - Responsibility Centre

The Rockford Police Department has identified the Planning, Performance and Analytics Division (PPAD) as the lead Responsibility Centre for GBA+ framework implementation. The PPAD is situated in the Office of the Chief Directorate, which has a broad reach across the Department.

A GBA+ working group has also been formed. Members represent each of the eight directorates, all with influence in their respective areas. As well, consideration was given to cultural, age, and gender diversity, as well as length of service, with emphasis on the inclusion of front-line officers.

Supt. Flint, Director General, Criminal Investigations Directorate, has been identified as the GBA+ champion. He heads a section in which a lack of diversity has been consistently identified, and where gender and diversity analysis have not normally been considered. Additionally, Supt. Flint has recently taken GBA+ training at the local police college, and has demonstrated influence both inside the department and in the community.

Introduction à l'ACS+

Créer un centre de responsabilité

Le centre de responsabilité de l’ACS+ a pour mandat de diriger, soutenir et surveiller la mise en œuvre du cadre d’ACS+ et l’application continue de l’ACS+.

Le centre de responsabilité doit aussi assurer orienter, surveiller et promouvoir la pratique de l’ACS+ dans l’ensemble de votre organisation.

Le centre de responsabilité devrait être situé dans un service ayant un mandat assez vaste (par exemple, une unité des politiques stratégiques), car il doit avoir accès aux différentes parties de votre organisation.

Il n’est pas recommandé de situer le centre de responsabilité au sein de la direction des ressources humaines ou de la division de l’équité en matière d’emploi. L’ACS+ doit être appliquée à tous les secteurs. Si l’une des priorités est d’accroître la diversité, il reste que les pratiques d’embauche ne sont pas la seule cible de l’ACS+.

La responsabilité de l’ACS+ peut être confiée à une section ou à une unité, mais on recommande de créer un groupe de travail interne, composé de représentantes et représentants de différents secteurs de l’organisation, capables d’exercer une influence sur un éventail de décisions.

Une championne ou un champion de l’ACS+ devrait aussi être choisi au sein de la haute direction pour faire connaître les engagements clés au sein de l’organisation, pour présenter aux cadres de direction des mises à jour au sujet de l’ACS+ et pour agir comme porte-parole au sujet des initiatives et des résultats en matière d’ACS+.

Cadre d’ACS+ - Centre de responsabilité

Étude de cas : Cadre d’ACS+ dans un organisme de sécurité publique

Étude de cas : Cadre d’ACS+ dans un organisme de sécurité publique

2 - Centre de responsabilité

Le service de police de Rockford a décidé d’établir un centre de responsabilité pour l’ACS+ au sein de sa division de la Planification, du rendement et de l’analyse. Cette division est rattachée au bureau du chef de police, qui exerce un pouvoir sur l’ensemble de l’organisation.

Un groupe de travail sur l’ACS+, incluant une représentation de chacune des huit directions du service de police, a été mis sur pied. Les huit personnes choisies ont une influence dans leurs domaines respectifs. Pour les sélectionner, on a aussi pris en considération leur bagage culturel, âge, sexe et ancienneté — en privilégiant toutefois les agentes et agents de première ligne.

Le commissaire Flint, directeur général, Direction des enquêtes criminelles, a été nommé champion de l’ACS+. Il est à la tête d’une section où l’effectif n’est pas assez diversifié et où le genre et la diversité ne sont normalement pas pris en considération. En outre, le commissaire Flint a récemment suivi un cours sur l’ACS+ au collège de police local et a exercé une influence en la matière au sein du service de police et dans la collectivité.