Introduction to GBA+

Training and tools

The development of relevant training and tools is a critical element in the implementation and sustainability of GBA+.

Training helps to transfer the practical knowledge required to implement GBA+ within an organization, and it prepares employees to apply GBA+ to their own work. Different approaches to training may be necessary to inform different parts of your organization – senior management, analysts, and functional specialists may all require different information in order to apply GBA+ to their work. Case studies and illustrative examples that reflect the specific working environment or subject-matter are excellent tools for GBA+ training.

The development of specific GBA+ guidance documents is also important. These may include guides, manuals and checklists, which provide guidance on how GBA+ can be applied to a certain function or process. Internal GBA+ tools can also provide clarity and guidance on the GBA+ process related to the specific organization.

GBA+ framework - Training and Tools

Case Study: GBA+ framework in a public security organization

Case Study: GBA+ framework in a public security organization

4 - Training and tools

The GBA+ working group has met to discuss what type of GBA+ training will be useful for RPD employees. There is a sense that many in the organization view GBA+ as something that relates only to human resources and employment equity, and there is not a clear understanding of how it could be applied in the department.

The working group has tasked several members to develop a training plan for the department. In order to raise greater awareness and to develop GBA+ competencies, the workplan will identify targeted training opportunities for:

  • Senior management
  • Civilian and operational staff

The Training Plan will use several strategies:

  • Leveraging existing mandatory training
  • Utilizing external resources
  • Learning and awareness events

The GBA+ champion will provide a briefing on GBA+ at an upcoming executive committee meeting, to explain what GBA+ is and how it may help the department to meet its objectives.

All police officers currently have three days of mandatory training per year. This includes training on the use of force, new legislation, first aid, and a refresher course on subjects such as domestic abuse and Indigenous awareness.

The GBA+ working wroup is recommending that the mandatory officer training be modified to include GBA+ training.

The working group is also recommending that all managers and civilian staff take the two-hour GBA+ online training course on the Status of Women Canada website. In addition, an expert on GBA+ in public security will be contracted to develop specialized case studies to be used in a half-day training session, which will be open to all employees.

The working group is also recommending that the department seek out opportunities to host learning and awareness events on gender and diversity in policing.

Based on periodic progress evaluations and the feedback received on the effectiveness/relevance of training, the working group will develop more specific guides, manuals, and checklists to help meet identified departmental needs.

Introduction à l'ACS+

Formation et outils

Pour mettre en œuvre l’ACS+ et assurer sa pérennité, il faut offrir de la formation et des outils.

La formation permet de transférer les connaissances nécessaires pour mettre en œuvre l’ACS+ au sein d’une organisation, et prépare le personnel à appliquer l’ACS+ à son travail. Il peut être nécessaire d’adapter l’approche de formation en fonction du groupe organisationnel auquel vous vous adressez. En effet, des cadres de direction, des analystes et des spécialistes fonctionnels n’auront pas nécessairement besoin de la même information pour appliquer l’ACS+ à leur travail. Les études de cas et les exemples ancrés dans un environnement de travail ou un domaine particulier représentent d’excellents outils de formation en ACS+.

Il est également important de produire des documents d’orientation pour des spécialités spécifiques. Il peut s’agir de guides, de manuels ou de listes de contrôle qui expliquent comment on peut appliquer l’ACS+ à des fonctions ou processus précis. Les outils internes d’ACS+ sont une très bonne source de référence, car ils offrent des conseils pour l’utilisation de l’ACS+ dans une organisation donnée.

Cadre d’ACS - Formation et outils

Étude de cas : Cadre d’ACS+ dans un organisme de sécurité publique

Étude de cas : Cadre d’ACS+ dans un organisme de sécurité publique

4 - Formation et outils

Le groupe de travail sur l’ACS+ s’est rencontré pour débattre du type de formation en ACS+ qui serait utile au personnel du service de police de Rockford. Il semblerait que plusieurs personnes, au sein de l’organisation, voient l’ACS+ comme un simple outil de gestion des ressources humaines et d’équité en matière d’emploi, et ne comprennent pas vraiment comment elle pourrait s’appliquer en dehors de ces fonctions.

Le groupe de travail a confié à plusieurs membres la tâche de mettre au point un plan de formation pour le service de police. Afin de mieux sensibiliser les effectifs et de développer les compétences en ACS+, le plan de travail prévoira des cours à l’intention de ces groupes :

  • La haute direction;
  • Le personnel civil et opérationnel.

Le plan de formation conjuguera plusieurs moyens :

  • La formation obligatoire existante;
  • Les ressources externes;
  • Des activités d’apprentissage et de sensibilisation.

Le champion de l’ACS+ fera un exposé sur l’ACS+ lors de la prochaine réunion du comité de direction, pour expliquer ce qu’est l’ACS+ et en quoi elle peut servir à atteindre les objectifs organisationnels.

L’ensemble des agentes et agents de police sont actuellement tenus de suivre trois jours de formation par année. Cela comprend des cours sur l’utilisation de la force, les nouvelles mesures législatives, les premiers soins, et un cours de perfectionnement sur des questions comme la violence conjugale ou la culture autochtone.

Le groupe de travail sur l’ACS+ recommande d’inclure de la formation sur l’ACS+ dans ce programme de formation obligatoire.

Le groupe de travail recommande également que tous les gestionnaires et le personnel civil prennent deux heures de leur temps pour suivre le cours sur l’ACS+ qui est disponible sur le site Web de Condition féminine Canada. De plus, on embauchera une experte ou un expert en ACS+ connaissant bien le secteur de la sécurité publique pour préparer des études de cas spécialisées, en vue du cours d’une demi-journée qui sera offert à tous les effectifs.

Le groupe de travail recommande également au service de police d’organiser des activités d’apprentissage et de sensibilisation portant sur le genre et la diversité dans le contexte des services policiers.

Le groupe de travail s’appuiera sur l’évaluation périodique des progrès et les commentaires reçus au sujet de l’efficacité et de la pertinence de la formation pour ensuite mettre au point des guides, des manuels et des listes de contrôle répondant mieux aux besoins organisationnels.