Introduction to GBA+

Recap

The GBA+ framework consists of six key elements that collectively form the foundation for the successful integration of GBA+ in your organization.

This figure shows that the six elements of the GBA+ Framework are connected. Each of the elements is written in black letter in a blue box and they are connected by a blue circle. Starting at the top and going clockwise, the elements are: Responsibility centre, Needs-assessment, Policy statement, Training and tools, "Pilot" initiative, and Monitoring. In the middle of the circle in black lettering it states "GBA+ Framework".

Case Study: GBA+ framework in a public security organization

Case Study: GBA+ framework in a public security organization

8 - Recap

The Rockford Police Department is well on its way to implementing a sustainable GBA+ framework. 

To date, they have identified a Responsibility Centre, created a GBA+ working group, and named a GBA+ champion. The working group also completed an organizational needs-assessment, identifying several thematic areas requiring gender and diversity consideration.

To demonstrate their commitment to GBA+, they developed a policy statement that has been approved for intra-departmental distribution and inclusion in their strategic planning process.

To inform the development of training and tools, they have created a training workplan to target different segments of the workforce.

They have identified and carried out GBA+ pilot initiative in the Material Management division, and have documented the results.

They have also developed a methodology for monitoring progress.

It is hoped that by applying GBA+ to policies that go beyond recruitment campaigns, the Rockford Police Department’s workplace, policies and equipment will be more welcoming to diverse membership, and that the department will be better able to retain diverse candidates and better meet the needs of the community it serves.

Introduction à l'ACS+

Récapitulation

Un cadre d’ACS+ est composé de six éléments qui, ensemble, servent de fondement à l’apprentissage et à la mise en œuvre de l’ACS+ dans votre organisme.

La figure illustre que les six éléments du cadre d’ACS+ sont reliés. Chaque élément, inscrit en lettres noires, est représenté par un carré bleu. Tous les carrés bleus sont reliés par un cercle bleu. À partir du haut de l’image (dans le sens horaire), les éléments sont : Centre de responsabilités, Évaluation des besoins, Cours de formation et outils, Projet de démonstration, Énoncé de politique et Suivi. Un cadre appuyant l’ACS+ est inscrit au centre du cercle en lettres noires.

Étude de cas : Cadre d’ACS+ dans un organisme de sécurité publique

Étude de cas : Cadre d’ACS+ dans un organisme de sécurité publique

8 - Récapitulation

Le service de police de Rockford a entrepris de se doter d’un cadre durable d’ACS+

Il a déjà désigné un centre de responsabilité, créé un groupe de travail sur l’ACS+ et nommé un champion de l’ACS+. Le groupe de travail a également procédé à une évaluation des besoins de l’organisation et dégagé plusieurs domaines ou aspects à examiner dans la perspective du genre et de la diversité.

Pour manifester son appui à l’ACS+, le service de police a rédigé un énoncé de politique qui a été distribué dans toute l’organisation; celui-ci fait maintenant partie intégrante des rapports institutionnels.   

De plus, le service a élaboré un plan de formation pour différents segments de son effectif. Ce plan guidera la mise au point des cours et des outils. 

On a choisi une initiative de la division de la gestion du matériel pour mettre à l’essai l’ACS+ (projet de démonstration) et consigné les résultats obtenus.

Enfin, le service de police de Rockford a également mis au point une méthode pour suivre ses progrès.

Il est à espérer que l’application de l’ACS+ à des domaines autres que le recrutement du personnel permettra au service de police de Rockford d’offrir un milieu de travail, des politiques et de l’équipement mieux adaptés à un effectif diversifié et, ce faisant, de promouvoir le maintien en poste et de mieux répondre aux besoins de la collectivité qu’il sert.