Introduction to GBA+

The History of GBA+ - Domestic and International Milestones


In Canada, Gender-Based Analysis+ (GBA+) has evolved over the past half-century, becoming an accepted method for better policy and program development.

The major milestones fall into three main stages:

  • Making Commitments (1970 - 1995)
  • Setting the Stage (1995 - 2001)
  • Building Accountability (2002 - present)

To learn more about the main developments in each of these stages, select any of the time periods below or the next button in the bottom right-hand corner to go through the items chronologically.