Gender-based Analysis Plus

What is GBA+?

Have you or someone you know taken parental leave, been treated for heart disease or recently immigrated to Canada? These are examples of areas where the Government of Canada has used Gender-based analysis Plus (GBA+) as one of the ways to take into account the changing realities and inequalities of Canadian women and men.

What is GBA+?

GBA+ is an analytical tool used to assess the potential impacts of policies, programs, services, and other initiatives on diverse groups of women and men, taking into account gender and other identity factors. The "plus" in the name highlights that GBA+ goes beyond gender, and includes the examination of a range of other intersecting identity factors (such as age, education, language, geography, culture and income).

GBA+ Logo

For more information about identity factors go to Government of Canada’s Approach, or take the Introduction to GBA+ online course.

GBA+ and Gender Equality

In 1995, the federal government committed to using GBA+ as a means of advancing gender equality in Canada, as part of the ratification of the United Nations’ Beijing Platform for Action.

Gender equality is a core Canadian value and is enshrined in the Charter of Rights and Freedoms, which is part of the Constitution of Canada. Gender equality means that women and men, in all their diversity, are able to participate fully in all spheres of Canadian life, contributing to an inclusive and democratic society.

The Government recently renewed its commitment to GBA+ and is working to strengthen its implementation across all federal departments.

To learn more about the Government’s renewed commitment, including its response to the 2015 Report of the Auditor General of Canada “Implementing Gender-based Analysis”, view the:

GBA+ Logo

Action Plan on Gender-based Analysis (2016-2020)
View the Action Plan in HTML
View the Action Plan in PDF

Achieving gender equality depends on closing key gaps between diverse groups of women and men.

For more information about the history of GBA+ in Canada, see Module 4 of the Introduction toGBA+ online course.


1. Myth: Women and men are already equal in Canada, so GBA+ is not needed.

While many advances have been made, equality gaps remain. Women in Canada today earn, on average, only 73.5 cents for every dollar that men earn. Women are also more often the victims of domestic and sexual violence and continue to be under-represented in leadership and executive positions, occupying only 10.3% of positions on corporate boards.

This is especially evident for certain groups of women. For example, women from northern and rural communities are more likely to experience poverty; Aboriginal women are far more likely to experience sexual and intimate partner violence; and immigrant women experience higher rates of unemployment.

2. Myth: GBA+ only applies to women’s issues – it is advocacy for women.

GBA+ is not advocacy for anyone. It is an analytical tool designed to help us ask questions, challenge assumptions, and to identify potential impacts, taking into account the diversity of Canadians. Once an issue has been analyzed using the GBA+ process, gender may emerge as the most important factor, while in other cases it might be culture, geography, or a combination of factors that may put a particular group at greater risk.

3. Myth: GBA+ only applies to the “social” sectors.

All government policies affect people. While gender and diversity issues may be more obvious in some areas (e.g. education and health) and less obvious in others (e.g. natural resources and defence) this does not necessarily mean that gender is not relevant. GBA+ can and has been used across social, economic, public safety and scientific sectors.

Date modified:

L'analyse comparative entre les sexes plus

Qu’est-ce que L’ACS+?

Comptez-vous parmi les personnes qui ont déjà pris un congé parental, qui ont récemment immigré au Canada ou qui ont été traitées pour une maladie cardiaque? Le gouvernement du Canada a utilisé l’Analyse comparative entre les sexes plus (ACS+) dans ces domaines et d’autres pour tenir compte des réalités changeantes et des inégalités vécues par les Canadiennes et les Canadiens.

Qu’est-ce que l’ACS+?

Cette méthode d’analyse permet d’évaluer les effets éventuels de politiques, de programmes, de services et d’autres initiatives sur les femmes et les hommes de différents horizons parce qu’elle tient compte du genre et d’autres facteurs identitaires. Le « plus » dans le nom sert à souligner que l’ACS+ va au-delà des sexes et comprend l’examen de tout un éventail d’autres facteurs identitaires qui se recoupent (comme l’âge, l’éducation, la langue, la géographie, la culture et le revenu).

Logo de l'ACS+

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les facteurs identitaires, consultez la section sur l’approche du gouvernement du Canada ou suivez le cours d’introduction en ligne à l’ACS+.

L’ACS+ et l’égalité des sexes

En 1995, dans le cadre de la ratification du Programme d'action de Beijing des Nations Unies, le gouvernement fédéral s’est engagé à utiliser l’ACS+ pour faire avancer l’égalité des sexes au Canada.

L'égalité des sexes est une valeur canadienne fondamentale, inscrite dans la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés, laquelle fait partie intégrante de la Constitution canadienne. L'égalité des sexes suppose que les femmes et les hommes, dans toute leur diversité, peuvent participer à toutes les sphères de la vie canadienne. L'égalité des sexes contribue à une société ouverte et démocratique.

Le gouvernement a récemment renouvelé son engagement envers l’ACS+, et s’efforce de promouvoir l’utilisation de cet outil dans l’ensemble des ministères fédéraux.

Pour en apprendre davantage sur l’engagement renouvelé du gouvernement et sur sa réponse au Rapport du vérificateur général du Canada (2015) intitulé La mise en œuvre de l’analyse comparative entre les sexes, consulter :

GBA+ Logo

Plan d’action sur l’analyse comparative entre les sexes (2016-2020)
Visualiser le Plan d’action en HTML
Visualiser le Plan d’action en PDF

Dégonfler les mythes

1. Mythe : Les Canadiennes sont les égales des Canadiens, donc l'ACS+ est inutile.

Bien que des progrès aient été accomplis, l'égalité complète n'a pas encore été atteinte entre les femmes et les hommes au Canada. Actuellement, pour chaque dollar versé en salaire aux travailleurs, les travailleuses gagnent en moyenne seulement 73,5 cents. Les femmes sont aussi plus souvent les victimes de la violence sexuelle et familiale et demeurent sous-représentées au sein de la haute direction et, de façon plus générale, dans les postes de pouvoir — aux conseils d'administration des entreprises canadiennes, elles occupent seulement 10,3 % des sièges.

L’écart est encore plus grand pour certaines populations de femmes. Par exemple, les Canadiennes des régions rurales et celles qui vivent dans le Nord sont plus souvent aux prises avec la pauvreté; les femmes autochtones risquent davantage d’être victimes de violence sexuelle ou d’être violentées par une ou un partenaire intime; les immigrantes affichent des taux plus élevés de chômage.

2. Mythe : L'ACS+ sert à défendre les intérêts des femmes et s'applique uniquement aux problèmes « féminins ».

L'ACS+ ne défend personne en particulier. Il s'agit d'une méthode d'analyse qui sert à poser des questions, à remettre en question les idées préconçues et à cerner les répercussions potentielles des initiatives compte tenu de la diversité de la population canadienne. Lorsqu’un enjeu est analysé au moyen de l’ACS+, le genre ressort parfois comme étant le facteur le plus important; parfois, c’est plutôt la culture, le lieu de résidence ou une combinaison de facteurs qui contribuent à la vulnérabilité de telle ou telle partie de la population.

3. Mythe : L’ACS+ s’applique uniquement aux secteurs «∇sociaux ».

Toutes les politiques gouvernementales ont des répercussions sur la population. Si l’importance du genre et de la diversité va de soi dans certains secteurs (p. ex. en éducation et en santé), on la voit moins dans d’autres (p. ex., en défense ou l’exploitation des richesses naturelles), mais il ne faut pas pour autant conclure qu’on peut faire abstraction du genre. L’ACS+ peut être et a, de fait, été utilisée dans une vaste gamme de secteurs, dont la politique sociale, l’économie, la sécurité publique et les sciences.

Date de modification :