Previous sessions

60th session - March 2016

The 60th session of the UNCSW took place at the United Nations Headquarters in New York from March 14 to 24, 2016.

The priority theme discussed at the session was Women’s empowerment and its link to sustainable development. The review theme was the elimination and prevention of all forms of violence against women and girls.

Canada’s delegation was led by the Minister of Status of Women Canada and included representation from federal, provincial and territorial governments, and non-governmental organizations, including Indigenous women’s organizations.

The highlights of Canada’s role at the 60th session of the UNCSW include:

  • Canada announced it is seeking election to the UNCSW for the 2017 to 2021 term. Gaining a seat will strengthen Canada’s voice in shaping the Commission’s work to address the challenges women and girls face around the world.
  • Canada co-hosted a series of side event discussions on critical issues affecting women and girls such as ending gender-based violence, the rights of Indigenous women and girls and sexual and reproductive health and rights. For instance, a panel discussion that Canada co-hosted on creating pathways to equality for Indigenous women and girls provided valuable insights that will contribute to the federal government’s engagement with Indigenous communities moving forward.

Additional information

NGO members of the Canadian Delegation
Canada hosts event
Minister discusses with Executive Director of UN Women
Canada delivers the Head of Delegation Statement

Go to our Facebook page, Women in Canada, for more photos.

59th session – March 2015

The 59th session of the UNCSW took place from March 9 to 20, 2015 at the United Nations headquarters in New York.

The session focused on the Beijing Declaration and Platform for Action, twenty years after its adoption at the Fourth World Conference in 1995.

The session also looked at opportunities for achieving gender equality and the empowerment of women in the post-2015 development agenda.

58th session – March 2014

The 58th session of the UNCSW took place from March 10 to 21, 2014 at the United Nations headquarters in New York. The priority theme discussed at the session was: "Challenges and achievements in the implementation of the Millennium Development Goals for women and girls." 

The review theme was "Access and participation of women and girls to education, training, science and technology, including for the promotion of women's equal access to full employment and decent work."  The emerging issue considered was "Women's access to productive resources."

57th session – March 2013

The 57th session of the UNCSW took place from March 4 to March 15, 2013 at the United Nations headquarters in New York. Member states addressed the priority theme, "The elimination and prevention of all forms of violence against women and girls." The review theme was "The equal sharing of responsibilities between women and men, including caregiving in the context of HIV/AIDS." Members also considered an emerging issue, "Key gender equality issues to be reflected in the post-2015 development framework."

56th session – February 2012

The 56th session of the UNCSW addressed the priority theme, "The empowerment of rural women and their role in poverty and hunger eradication, development and current challenges." The review theme was "Financing for gender equality and the empowerment of women." Members also considered the emerging issue of "Engaging young women and men, girls and boys, in advancing gender equality."Panel discussions and high-level round-table sessions were held throughout the UNCSW to address these themes.

View more information about Canadian women in rural, remote and Northern communities

*To open, view, navigate and print Acrobat PDF files, it is necessary to have Adobe Acrobat Reader installed on your system. If you do not have this software, it is downloadable free of charge. Click here to download Adobe Acrobat Reader and follow the instructions to install it.

Date modified:

Sessions antérieures

60e session - mars 2016

La 60e session de la Commission de la condition de la femme a eu lieu du 14 au 24 mars 2016 au siège de l’ONU (Organisaiton des Nations Unies) à New York.

On y a discuté d’un thème prioritaire, soit l’autonomisation des femmes et le lien avec le développement durable. Durant la session, la Commission a aussi évalué les progrès réalisés relativement à l’élimination et à la prévention de toutes les formes de violence à l’égard des femmes et des filles.

Dirigée par la ministre de la Condition féminine du Canada, la délégation canadienne à cette session comprenait des représentantes des trois ordres de gouvernement (fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux) et d’organismes non gouvernementaux, y compris des groupes de femmes autochtones.

Voici quelques les points saillants de la participation du Canada :

  • Le Canada a annoncé qu’il sollicite un siège à la Commission pour le mandat de 2017 à 2021 (lien vers le communiqué), espérant ainsi pouvoir contribuer davantage à l’orientation des travaux de la Commission qui visent à aplanir les difficultés auxquelles se butent les femmes et les filles dans le monde entier.
  • Le Canada a coparrainé plusieurs tables rondes en marge de la session. Elles portaient sur des enjeux clés qui touchent les femmes et les filles, par exemple : l’élimination de la violence fondée sur le sexe; les droits des femmes et des filles autochtones; les droits et la santé sexuels et génésiques. Une de ces tables rondes a été particulièrement fertile en idées quant aux façons d’ouvrir des voies d’accès à l’égalité pour les femmes et les filles autochtones; le gouvernement du Canada s’en inspirera pour réaliser son engagement envers les communautés autochtones.

Renseignements additionnels

ONG membres de la délégation canadienne
Canada hôte d'une table ronde
La ministre discute avec la directrice générale de l'ONU Femme
Déclaration de la chef de la délégation canadienne au sière des Nations Unies

Pour d’autres photos, rendez-vous sur notre page Facebook : Femmes au Canada.

59e session – mars 2015

La 59e session de la Commission s'est déroulée du 9 au 20 mars 2015 au siège de l'ONU, à New York.

Cette session a porté sur la Déclaration et le Programme d'action de Beijing, vingt ans après leur adoption à la Quatrième Conférence mondiale sur les femmes, en 1995.

Durant la session, on a aussi considéré les possibilités de développement à saisir au-delà de 2015 pour autonomiser les femmes et concrétiser l'objectif d'égalité des sexes.

Renseignements additionnels

58e session – mars 2014

La 58e session de la Commission a eu lieu du 10 au 21 mars 2014 au siège de l'ONU, à New York. Son thème prioritaire était : « Les résultats obtenus et les difficultés rencontrées dans la réalisation des objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement en faveur des femmes et des filles ».

La Commission a aussi évalué aussi les progrès enregistrés dans « L'accès et la participation des femmes et des filles à l'éducation, à la formation et à la science et à la technologie, y compris pour la promotion de l'égalité d'accès au plein emploi et à un travail décent ». Enfin, la Commission s'est penchée sur une question émergente, soit « L'accès des femmes aux ressources productives ».

57e session – mars 2013

La 57e session de la Commission de la condition de la femme s'est déroulée du 4 au 15 mars 2013 au siège de l'ONU, à New York. Les États membres se sont penchés sur le thème prioritaire, « L'élimination et la prévention de toutes les formes de violence envers les femmes et les filles ». Le thème à évaluer était «  Le partage égal des responsabilités entre les hommes et les femmes, y compris les soins dispensés dans le contexte du VIH/sida ». Les membres ont également examiné une question émergente, « Les principaux enjeux liés à l'égalité entre les sexes à prendre en considération dans le contexte du développement au-delà de 2015 ».

56e session – février 2012

La 56e session de la Commission de la condition de la femme avait pour thème prioritaire « L'autonomisation des femmes rurales et leur rôle dans l'éradication de la pauvreté et de la faim, le développement et les défis actuels ». Les États membres ont aussi évalué le financement de l'égalité entre les sexes et de l'autonomisation des femmes. Enfin, les membres ont étudié un thème émergent, à savoir, « La mobilisation des jeunes femmes et des jeunes hommes, ainsi que des filles et des garçons, pour atteindre l'égalité entre les sexes ». Au cours de la session, il y a aussi eu des groupes de discussion et des tables rondes de haut niveau sur ces thèmes.

Date de modification :