Building Canada’s Innovation Economy: Best Practices for Supporting Women in Non-Traditional Sectors

Knowledge Exchange Event Overview
March 25, 2014 at the Canada Space and Aviation Museum

Background

On March 25, 2014 Status of Women Canada, in partnership with the Labour Program, Hydro Ottawa and the Status of Women Office of Saskatchewan hosted an information sharing event entitled, Building Canada’s Innovation Economy: Best Practices for Supporting Women in  Non-Traditional Sectors. Held at the Space and Aviation Museum in Ottawa, the event included representation from a wide range of stakeholders, including federal and provincial governments, academic and training institutions, industry associations, non-profit organizations and private sector employers. 

Over 270 participants heard from 15 experts from across Canada working to increase the participation of women in sectors like mining, engineering, forestry, electricity and the skilled trades.

The event included keynote presenter, Zoe Yujnovich, Chair, Mining Association of Canada, sector-specificpanel discussions, a Knowledge Showcase highlighting innovative strategies in hiring, engaging and retaining women in non-traditional sectors and an Information Fair for networking opportunities.

This Executive Report summarizes the key findings and conclusions of Building Canada’s Innovation Economy: Best Practices for Supporting Women in Non-Traditional Sectors Summary Report.

Key Theme Summary: Barriers and Best Practices

Barriers

In addressing the challenges that women face in accessing careers in non-traditional sectors, it is important to recognize the strides that women have made to date. Women represent 59% of all graduates aged 25 to 34 in science and technology programs in Canada. Their representation in engineering has also grown, with women of that same age group representing 23% of engineering grads. Yet change is slow and nowhere is this more evident than in the skilled trades, where women represent just 14% of registered apprentices. 

The barriers to participation for women in non-traditional occupations are complex and found throughout the path to employment: from curriculum development in elementary and secondary school to college and university recruitment, to hiring, retaining and advancing women in the sectors.  

Young women are still not being promoted at a young age to consider the STEM fields as promising careers, while women in these occupations continue to report challenging work-life balance, inflexible schedules, few role models, an unwelcoming workplace atmosphere, harassment, and few advancement opportunities as barriers to their participation in non-traditional sectors.

There was also recognition that different groups of women have different access to opportunities. This intersectional lens should be applied to considerations of barriers and the necessary social supports.

Best Practices

Attraction and Training

Across sectors it was clear that attraction to employment in all non-traditional sectors for women was a process that began in early socialization and education. In addition, speakers concluded that:

Recruiting

In recruiting women, challenges are found in both attracting women to apply for positions and in the management of hiring committees’ inherent biases. Presenters concluded that:

Retention

Many non-traditional sectors show a drop in the participation of women between the five and ten-year mark following graduation. This issue is attributed to barriers such as challenging workplace climates, inflexible schedules and work-life balance. Presenters concluded that:

Advancement

A "glass ceiling" continues to prevent the progression of women into more senior roles within non-traditional sectors. Presenters concluded that:

Date modified:

Bâtir une économie de l’innovation au Canada : pratiques exemplaires favorisant l’intégration des femmes dans les secteurs non traditionnels

Aperçu du forum d’échange de connaissances
Tenu le 25 mars 2014 au Musée de l’aviation et de l’espace du Canada

Contexte

Le 25 mars 2014, Condition féminine Canada a tenu, en partenariat avec le Programme du travail, Hydro Ottawa et le Bureau de la condition féminine de la Saskatchewan, un forum d’échange d’information intitulé Bâtir une économie de l’innovation au Canada : pratiques exemplaires favorisant l’intégration des femmes dans les secteurs non traditionnels au Musée de l’aviation et de l’espace du Canada, à Ottawa. Une foule de parties prenantes représentant les gouvernements fédéral et provinciaux, les universités et établissements de formation, les associations professionnelles, les organismes sans but lucratif et les employeurs du secteur privé s’y étaient donné rendez-vous.

Plus de 270 personnes y ont écouté 15 spécialistes des quatre coins du pays parler de leurs efforts en vue d’ouvrir plus grandes aux femmes les portes de secteurs tels que les mines, le génie, les forêts et les métiers spécialisés.

Au discours liminaire prononcé par Zoe Yujnovich, présidente de l’Association minière du Canada, s’ajoutaient des tables rondes sectorielles, une Vitrine du savoir, présentant des moyens novateurs d’embauche, de mobilisation et de rétention des femmes dans les secteurs dits « non traditionnels » (c’est-à-dire des secteurs traditionnellement réservés aux hommes), et une Foire d’information, consacrée au réseautage.

Voici donc en résumé les principales constatations et conclusions du rapport sommaire sur le forum Bâtir une économie de l’innovation au Canada : pratiques exemplaires favorisant l’intégration des femmes dans les secteurs non traditionnels.

Résumé des thèmes principaux : obstacles et pratiques exemplaires

Obstacles

Face aux défis auxquels se butent les femmes voulant accéder à des secteurs qui ne leur sont pas traditionnels, il est important de prendre acte des progrès réalisés à ce jour. Les femmes de 25 à 34 ans détiennent maintenant 59 % des diplômes en sciences et technologie qui ont été décernés dans leur groupe d’âge au Canada, leur proportion en génie s’est aussi accrue pour atteindre 23 %. Or, le changement s’opère lentement et nulle part cela n’est-il plus vrai que dans les métiers spécialisés, où les apprenties ne représentent que 16 % des inscriptions aux programmes d’apprentissage.

Le parcours des femmes qui choisissent une carrière ou un métier « non traditionnel » est jalonné d’obstacles complexes. Cela va de l’élaboration de curriculums à l’école primaire et secondaire au recrutement collégial et universitaire en passant par l’embauche, le maintien et l’avancement des femmes dans les secteurs correspondants.

Encore de nos jours, rien n’est fait pour donner aux toutes jeunes femmes le goût d’une carrière prometteuse dans les sciences, la technologie, le génie et les mathématiques (STEGMA), tandis que les femmes qui évoluent dans ces secteurs continuent d’invoquer en tant que freins à leur participation la difficulté de concilier travail et famille, les horaires rigides, le manque de modèles féminins, un climat de travail hostile, le harcèlement et les possibilités limitées d’avancement.

On reconnaissait également que l’accès aux débouchés n’est pas le même pour toutes les femmes. Il faudrait donc se livrer à un examen des obstacles et des mécanismes de soutien nécessaires dans une optique intersectorielle.

Pratiques exemplaires

Attirer et former

Quel que soit le secteur, il était clair que, pour intéresser les femmes aux emplois « non traditionnels », il faut s’y prendre tôt, car leur socialisation et l’éducation qu’elles reçoivent pendant leur enfance sont déterminantes. Les oratrices ont également tiré les conclusions suivantes :

Recruter

Le recrutement des femmes a ceci de difficile qu’il faut les amener à postuler des emplois et gérer les préjugés des comités d’embauche. Les présentatrices ont tiré les conclusions suivantes :

Maintenir

De nombreux secteurs dits « non traditionnels » observent une baisse de participation des femmes dans les cinq à dix années suivant l’obtention du diplôme. Ce phénomène est attribuable à des obstacles tels qu’un climat de travail éprouvant, la rigidité des horaires de travail et la difficulté de concilier travail-famille. Les présentatrices ont tiré les conclusions suivantes :

Avancer

Un « plafond de verre » continuer d’empêcher les femmes de gravir les échelons dans les secteurs « non traditionnels ». Les présentatrices ont tiré les conclusions suivantes :

Date de modification :