Women on Boards

Best Practices

Since 2012, many Canadians have been engaged in a dialogue on how to best increase the participation of women at the highest levels of corporate and public life. Organizations from coast to coast have shared their best practices and have indicated their support for board gender diversity, and their efforts are demonstrating results.

Sample Cases of Best Practices

  • Adopt a board diversity policy which encourages a balanced representation of diverse groups including women.
  • Submit candidates to board members for election.
  • Ensure CEO and board chair commitment to increasing the representation of women on the board.
  • Maintain a roster of qualified women identified as potential board members to consider when vacancies arise.
  • Recruit board candidates from outside the business and social networks of existing board and company members to gain diversity of talent.
  • Adopt a policy that ensures women are members of sub-committees tasked to identify potential board members.

Testimonials

"Air Canada recognized the value of diversity on our board and in senior management positions and the leadership qualities that women bring to these roles. We are fully committed to furthering the representation of women on corporate boards and have pledged to increase the overall proportion of board seats held by women."

Arielle Meloul-Wechsler, VP – Human Resources, Air Canada, September 2014

"The Canada Pension Plan Investment Board (CPPIB) is committed to improving gender diversity on its Board of Directors. Currently CPPIB’s Board includes five women amongst its twelve directors. The Board continues to actively seek out qualified female candidates for vacancies on the Board."

Mark D. Wiseman, President and CEO, CPP Investment Board, May 2015

"As a financial co-operative, our members elect directors from among the membership. Ensuring talented, experienced and committed women are willing to contribute to the health and growth of their community by serving as a director has been a priority for our board. Today we have nine directors, six of whom are women. Our CEO is a woman as are the majority of senior executives."

Jan O’Brien, Chair – Board of Directors, Vancity credit union, September 2014

Eight Strategies for Gaining Ground

As part of its "Business Case for Women on Boards" report, commissioned by the Federal-Provincial-Territorial Ministers Responsible for the Status of Women in (2013), the Conference Board of Canada itemized eight strategies currently being deployed by companies, in some combination, to increase the representation of women on their boards.

Date modified:

Les femmes aux conseils d’administration

Pratiques exemplaires

Depuis 2012, nombre de Canadiennes et Canadiens ont ouvert un dialogue sur les moyens à prendre pour accroître la participation des femmes aux plus hauts échelons, tant dans la vie publique que dans le monde des affaires. Des organisations d'un océan à l'autre ont fait part de leurs pratiques exemplaires et manifesté leur appui au principe de la mixité des conseils d’administration; leurs efforts commencent à porter des fruits.

Exemples de pratiques exemplaires

  • Adoption d’une politique de diversité au conseil d'administration pour favoriser une représentation équilibrée de divers groupes sociaux, dont les femmes.
  • Soumettre à une élection le choix des candidats des conseils d’administration.
  • Appui de la ou du chef de la direction ainsi que de la présidence du conseil d’administration envers l’augmentation de la représentation des femmes au conseil d’administration.
  • Maintien d’un registre de femmes qualifiées, dont on peut envisager la candidature quand un siège se libère au conseil d’administration.
  • Recrutement en dehors du réseau professionnel ou social des membres de l’organisation et de son conseil d’administration pour accroître la diversité.
  • Adoption d’une politique assurant que des femmes siègent aux comités de candidature.

Témoignages

Air Canada reconnaît la valeur de la diversité au sein de son conseil d’administration et de la direction, y compris les qualités qu’administratrices et directrices apportent à ces fonctions. Nous nous sommes engagés à accroître la représentation des femmes aux conseils d’administration et à augmenter la proportion générale de sièges qu’elles détiennent"

Arielle Meloul Wechsler, vice-présidente, Ressources humaines, Air Canada, Septembre 2014

L’Office d’investissement du Régime de pensions du Canada s’est engagé à améliorer la mixité de son conseil d’administration. Actuellement, cinq sièges sur douze sont occupés par des femmes. Le conseil d’administration continue de chercher activement des candidates compétentes quand des sièges se libèrent.

Mark D. Wiseman, président et chef de la direction, Office d’investissement du RPC, Mai 2015

Nous sommes une coopérative financière, ce qui signifie que nos membres élisent les administratrices et administrateurs, qui sont choisis parmi eux. Il est pour nous essentiel de compter parmi notre conseil d’administration des femmes talentueuses, déterminées et expérimentées qui ont envie de contribuer par leur travail à la santé et à la croissance de la collectivité. Aujourd’hui, six des neuf membres du conseil d’administration sont des femmes. La direction générale est assurée par une femme, entourée d’une équipe de direction aussi majoritairement féminine.

Jan O’Brien, présidente du conseil d’administration, Vancity credit union, Septembre 2014

Huit stratégies pour gagner du terrain

Dans le rapport intitulé Arguments économiques pour la présence de femmes aux conseils d'administration, commandé en 2013 par les ministres responsables de la condition féminine à l’échelon fédéral, provincial et territorial, le Conference Board du Canada énumère huit stratégies que le milieu des affaires emploie, en combinant généralement un certain nombre d’entre elles, afin d’augmenter la représentation des femmes au sein de leurs conseils d’administration.

Date de modification :