Increasing the Representation of Women on Canadian Boards

A national goal of

30%

women on boards

by 2019

The Report, “Good for Business: A Plan to Promote More Women on Canadian Boards” laid out aspirational goals for Canada’s public and private sectors, most notably, a national goal of 30% women on boards by 2019, as well as a number of best practices in use to successfully advance more women into board positions.

The Report builds on the 2013 Business Case for Women on Boards, drafted by the Conference Board of Canada on behalf of the Forum of Federal-Provincial-Territorial Ministers for the Status of Women. This document highlighted the importance of board gender diversity in an increasingly competitive global market, positioning the issue of women on boards as a business imperative.

As of October 2014, nearly 20.8% of corporate board positions at Canadian stock index companies are held by women in Canada. (Catalyst, October 2014)

“Everything we do [to appoint women] we do with a mercenary attitude to enhance our own benefits and profitability, and I think that’s what makes it sustainable. I wonder where the other leaders are that they don’t know successful women? It is important to note that, while women now represent nearly half the Canadian workforce, they hold just 20.8% of board positions at Canadian stock index companies.”

Michael Cooper, CEO, Dream Unlimited Corp
Globe and Mail, June 26, 2014

Since the launch of the Advisory Council’s report, momentum has continued to build. In 2014, Minister Leitch engaged with federally regulated and FP500 companies, and the response was very positive as many of them endorsed the recommendations put forward by the Advisory Council and shared their best practices.

Federal leadership – Setting the example

36%

of GiC

appointments

in 2014

The importance of gender balance in governance is not limited to the private sector. In fact, balanced representation of women within Governor-in-Council (GiC) appointed positions is a priority for the Government of Canada. Canada has already exceeded the Advisory Council’s recommended goal, with women representing roughly 36% of GiC appointments in 2014, which represents a significant increase since 2012, as women represented less than 30%.

In 2014, the Ontario Securities Commission implemented a mandatory “comply or explain” amendment, requiring businesses to report annually on the gender composition of their boards of directors. Most jurisdictions across the country have followed suit and adopted the same amendments.

To complement the efforts of provincial and territorial counterparts, the Government of Canada announced, through Economic Action Plan 2015, its intention to amend the Canada Business Corporations Act to promote gender diversity among public companies, using the “comply or explain” model of disclosure.

Working with partners to influence change

Stakeholders are essential to continuing to increase the representation of women on boards.

There are a number of leading organizations in Canada promoting the importance of board gender balance, including Catalyst Canada, the Canadian Board Diversity Council and the Women’s Executive Network.

The Catalyst Accord continues to call on Canadian corporations to increase the overall proportion of FP500 board seats held by women to 25 percent by 2017. High profile signatories continue to come on board, including the addition of the first mining company, Goldcorp Inc.

“Gender diversity on boards helps drive better business results and strengthens Canada’s economic competitiveness. We encourage organizations across all industries to develop their own strategies and action plans for accelerating the advancement of women in leadership.”

Chuck Jeannes, President and CEO, Goldcorp Inc

Canada has also seen the creation of the Canadian branch of the successful UK initiative, The 30% Club. Inaugural Chair Spencer Lanthier, former Chair of the Bank of Canada, has been given the mandate to seek Canadian board chairs and chief executive officers to join the organization and pledge their support for gender diversity on boards.

Both Catalyst and the Canadian Board Diversity Council produce lists of board ready women and both organizations operate mentoring and championing programs.

In addition, a number of executive search firms targeting women have emerged in recent years, providing opportunities for the skills and expertise of women business leaders to be showcased.

With the wealth of activity to address board gender balance in Canada, momentum is building to reach the proposed goal of 30% representation by 2019. With “comply or explain” requirements implemented or being implemented across the country, business leaders on the cutting edge know that now is the time to take action.

The way forward

With the wealth of activity to address board gender balance in Canada, momentum is building to reach the proposed goal of 30% representation by 2019. With “comply or explain” requirements implemented or being implemented across the country, business leaders on the cutting edge know that now is the time to take action.

Date modified:

Accroître la représentation des femmes aux conseils d’administration canadiens

30%

la représentation des femmes

aux conseils d’administration dans tout le pays

d’ici 2019

Ce rapport, intitulé Bon pour les affaires : Plan pour accroître la participation des femmes aux conseils d’administration, présente des objectifs ambitieux pour les secteurs public et privé du Canada, dont celui de hausser à 30 % la représentation des femmes aux conseils d’administration dans tout le pays d’ici 2019. Le rapport présente aussi des pratiques exemplaires, qui ont été utilisées avec succès pour favoriser la nomination d’un plus grand nombre d’administratrices.

Le rapport s’appuie sur les Arguments économiques pour la présence de femmes aux conseils d’administration, publiés en 2013 par le Conference Board du Canada au nom du Forum fédéral-provincial-territorial des ministres responsables de la condition féminine. Ce document soulignait l’importance de la mixité des conseils d’administration dans un marché mondial de plus en plus concurrentiel, faisant de celle-ci un enjeu commercial d’importance capitale.

En date d’octobre 2014, près de 20.8% des sièges aux conseils d’administration des entreprises inscrites à l’indice boursier canadien sont occupés par des femmes. (Catalyst, octobre 2014).

« Tout ce que nous faisons [pour augmenter la représentation des femmes], nous le faisons avec une volonté mercantile, afin d’accroître nos bénéfices et notre rentabilité. Je crois d’ailleurs que c’est ce qui assure la durabilité de nos efforts. Je me demande dans quels milieux peuvent bien évoluer les dirigeants qui prétendent ne connaître aucune femme ayant réussi. » [Traduction]

Michael Cooper, PDG, Dream Unlimited Corp
Globe and Mail, 26 juin 2014

Depuis la publication du rapport du Conseil consultatif, le mouvement pour la mixité a pris de l’ampleur. En 2014, la ministre Leitch a collaboré avec des entreprises sous réglementation fédérale et des entreprises figurant au palmarès du Financial Post (FP500). Elle a reçu d’elles un bon accueil; en effet, bon nombre ont souscrit aux recommandations du Conseil consultatif et communiqué leurs pratiques exemplaires.

Le rôle du gouvernement fédéral : donner l’exemple

36%

des nominations

par décret

en 2014

L’importance d’une représentation paritaire des femmes et des hommes dans la gouvernance ne se limite pas au secteur privé. De fait, le gouvernement du Canada s’est donné pour priorité de renforcer la parité dans les postes faisant l’objet de nominations par décret. Il a d’ailleurs déjà surpassé l’objectif recommandé par le Conseil consultatif, les femmes ayant obtenu environ 36 % des nominations par décret en 2014, ce qui représente une hausse de plus de 6 % par rapport à 2012.

En 2014, la Commission des valeurs mobilières de l’Ontario a modifié ses règles de déclaration pour enchâsser le principe « se conformer ou s’expliquer », obligeant les entreprises à publier annuellement la représentation des femmes au sein de leur conseil d'administration. La plupart des gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux ont fait de même.

Afin d’appuyer les efforts de ses homologues provinciaux et territoriaux, le gouvernement du Canada a donc annoncé dans son Plan d’action économique de 2015 qu’il modifierait la Loi canadienne sur les sociétés par actions pour y enchâsser le même principe, dans le but de promouvoir la mixité aux conseils d'administration des entreprises ouvertes.

Travailler avec des partenaires pour favoriser le changement

La participation des diverses parties intéressées est essentielle à l’augmentation de la présence des femmes aux conseils d’administration.

Un certain nombre d’organismes de premier plan au Canada défendent le principe de la parité aux conseils d’administration, notamment Catalyst Canada, le Conseil canadien de la diversité administrative et le Réseau des femmes exécutives.

Par son accord, Catalyst continue d’inciter les sociétés FP500 à rehausser le pourcentage global de sièges occupés par des femmes aux conseils d’administration; il vise une représentation de 25 % d’ici 2017. Les signataires de l’accord incluent maintenant une première entreprise minière, Goldcorp Inc., et d’autres sociétés en vue continuent de s’ajouter.

« La mixité des conseils d’administration contribue à l’amélioration des résultats commerciaux et renforce la compétitivité économique du Canada. Nous encourageons les entreprises de tous les secteurs industriels à se doter de stratégies et plans d’action afin de favoriser l’accès des femmes aux postes de responsabilité dans leur organisation. » [Traduction]

Chuck Jeannes, président et chef de la direction, Goldcorp Inc.

Le 30 % Club, une excellente initiative britannique, a maintenant son volet canadien. Elle est présidée par Spencer Lanthier, ancien président du conseil d’administration de la Banque du Canada, qui a reçu le mandat d’inviter les présidents, présidentes et chefs de la direction d’entreprises canadiennes à se joindre au club et à souscrire à la mixité des conseils d’administration.

Catalyst et le Conseil canadien pour la diversité administrative produisent tous deux des listes de femmes prêtes à siéger aux conseils d’administration et offrent aussi des programmes d’accompagnement (mentorat et marrainage ou parrainage).

De plus, un certain nombre d’agences de recrutement de cadres ciblant les femmes ont vu le jour au cours des dernières années. Elles contribuent à valoriser le savoir-faire des dirigeantes d’entreprise.

Regard sur l’avenir

Beaucoup d’activités ont été lancées afin de promouvoir une plus grande parité hommes-femmes aux conseils d’administration au Canada. L’élan qui en résulte aidera à porter la représentation des femmes à 30 % d’ici 2019, comme il a été recommandé. Les chefs de file du milieu des affaires savent qu’il est temps de passer à l’action pour augmenter la représentation des femmes, d’autant plus que la plupart des instances au pays ont déjà adopté le principe « se conformer ou s’expliquer » ou sont en voie de le faire.

Date de modification :