Report on Annual Expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences

2010-2011

As required by the Treasury Board Directive for the Management of Expenditures on Travel, Hospitality and Conferences, this report provides information on the total annual expenditures for each of the categories of travel, hospitality and conferences for Status of Women Canada for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2011.

This information is updated annually and does not contain information withheld under the Access to Information Act or the Privacy Act.

This report should be read in conjunction with the organization's 2010-2011 Report on Plans and Priorities and 2010-2011 Departmental Performance Report.

In 1976, the Government of Canada established the Office of the Coordinator, Status of Women, with the mandate to coordinate policy with respect to the status of women and to administer related programs.

In fulfilling its mandate, Status of Women Canada plays a key role in supporting the Government of Canada's agenda for equality for women and their full participation in the economic, social and democratic life of Canada. To play this role effectively, Status of Women Canada works with partners such as federal departments and agencies, provincial/territorial governments, private sector institutions and non-governmental organizations. The agency also works in collaboration with other players to help fulfill Canada's domestic and international obligations relating to equality for women.

Status of Women Canada carries out two Program Activities designed to achieve concrete results. The first result is demonstrated through inclusive and effective policies that advance gender equality and address issues that affect women. This result is made possible through enhanced capacity of federal departments/agencies in integrating gender-based analysis in their legislative proposals, policies, programs and initiatives.

Status of Women Canada also seeks to achieve results that are demonstrated by women who are equipped with information, knowledge, skills and tools to identify and address barriers that impede their full participation in society. Status of Women Canada has four regional points of services located in Montréal (serving Quebec and Nunavut), Moncton (serving New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia and Newfoundland and Labrador), Edmonton (serving Alberta, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, British Columbia, the Northwest Territories and Yukon) and Ottawa (serving Ontario and national organizations) where staff must travel within each of their designated territory to help achieve these results.

Expenditures on travel, hospitality and conferences incurred are directly related to supporting Status of Women Canada's mandate, achieving its strategic outcome and meeting government priorities.

Total annual expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences of Status of Women Canada are summarized below:
Expenditure Category Expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2011
(in thousands of dollars)
Travel – Public Servants
149
Travel – Non-Public Servants
117
International Travel by Minister and Minister's Staff*
15
Total Travel
281
Hospitality
14
Conference Fees
9
TOTAL
304

* Includes international travel that is part of a department's program.

Rapport sur les dépenses annuelles de voyages, d'accueil et de conférence

2010-2011

Comme l'exige la Directive sur la gestion des dépenses de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences du Conseil du Trésor, le présent rapport fournit de l'information sur les dépenses annuelles totales de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences de Condition féminine Canada pour l'exercice terminé le 31 mars 2011.

Cette information est mise à jour annuellement et ne contient pas les renseignements non divulgués en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information ou de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Ce rapport doit être lu de concert avec le Rapport sur les plans et priorités 2010-2011 et le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement 2010-2011.

En 1976, le gouvernement du Canada a créé le Bureau de la coordonnatrice de la situation de la femme (Condition féminine Canada)  pour coordonner les politiques relatives à la situation de la femme et administrer les programmes qui s'y rapportent.

Condition féminine Canada joue un rôle crucial dans la mise en œuvre du plan d'action du gouvernement du Canada pour l'égalité des sexes et la pleine participation des femmes à la vie économique, sociale et démocratique du Canada. Il s'acquitte de son mandat et assure l'efficacité de ses efforts en collaborant avec divers partenaires, p. ex. : des ministères et organismes fédéraux, des administrations provinciales et territoriales, des institutions du secteur privé et des organismes non gouvernementaux. Condition féminine Canada collabore en outre avec d'autres intervenants qui aident le Canada à respecter ses obligations nationales et internationales ayant trait à l'égalité des sexes.

Condition féminine Canada met en œuvre deux activités de programme conçues pour produire des résultats concrets. Le premier résultat est l'adoption de politiques intégratrices et efficaces qui favorisent l'égalité des sexes et répondent aux enjeux touchant les femmes. Il repose sur le renforcement de la capacité des ministères et organismes fédéraux d'intégrer l'analyse comparative entre les sexes à leurs propositions législatives, politiques, initiatives et programmes.

Condition féminine Canada cherche également à produire des résultats qui font en sorte que les femmes possèdent des renseignements, des connaissances, des compétences et des outils leur permettant de déterminer et de supprimer les obstacles les empêchant de participer pleinement à la société. L'organisme a quatre points de service régionaux situés à Montréal (chargé du Québec et du Nunavut), à Moncton (chargé du Nouveau-Brunswick, de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard, de la Nouvelle-Écosse et de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador), à Edmonton (chargé de l'Alberta, du Manitoba, de la Saskatchewan, de la Colombie-Britannique, des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et du Yukon) et à Ottawa (chargé de l'Ontario et des organisations nationales); le personnel de chacun de ces points de service doit se déplacer à l'intérieur de son territoire désigné pour favoriser l'obtention des résultats attendus.

Les dépenses de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences engagées par Condition féminine Canada appuient directement son mandat et son résultat stratégique, ainsi que les priorités du gouvernement.

Les dépenses annuelles totales de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences de Condition féminine Canada sont résumées ci-dessous :
Expenditure Category Expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2011
(en milliers de dollars)
Voyages – fonctionnaires
149
Voyages – non-fonctionnaires
117
Voyages internationaux de la ministre et de son personnel*
15
Total des dépenses de voyages
281
Accueil
14
Frais de participation aux conférences
9
TOTAL
304

* Comprend les voyages internationaux dans le cadre du programme de Condition féminine Canada.