Report on Annual Expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences

2013-2014

As required by the Treasury Board Directive on Travel, Hospitality, Conference and Event Expenditures this report provides information on the total annual expenditures for each of the categories of travel, hospitality and conferences for Status of Women Canada for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2014.

This information is updated annually and does not contain information withheld under the Access to Information Act or the Privacy Act.

Expenditures on travel, hospitality and conferences incurred are directly related to supporting Status of Women Canada’s mandate, achieving its strategic outcome and meeting government priorities.

The Government of Canada established the Office of the Coordinator, Status of Women, in 1976 with the mandate to coordinate policy with respect to the status of women and to administer related programs (Order in Council 1976–779). Status of Women Canada (SWC) is thus the primary federal agency responsible for supporting the Government’s agenda to advance equality for women. In fulfilling its mandate, the agency works with a wide range of organizations, building synergies with key stakeholders, collaborating with different orders of government and engaging the private and voluntary sectors. SWC also helps fulfill Canada’s international obligations related to gender equality.

Further information on the mandate, roles, responsibilities and programs of Status of Women Canada can be found in the organization's 2013-14 Departmental Performance Report, available at the following link: http://www.swc-cfc.gc.ca/trans/account-resp/pr/dpr-rmr/index-eng.html

Total annual expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences of Status of Women Canada are summarized below:

Expenditure Category Expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2014

(a)
Expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2013

(b)
Variance

(a-b)
(in thousands of dollars)
Total 334 253 81
* Includes international travel that is part of a department's program.
Travel – Public Servants 189 162 27
Travel – Non-Public Servants 103 58 45
International Travel by Minister and Minister's Staff* 12 13 (1)
Total Travel 304 233 71
Hospitality 23 17 6
Conference Fees 7 3 4

Significant variances compared to the previous fiscal year

The organization is focussed on effective cost control and maximum value for money, as per the Directive on Travel, Hospitality, Conference and Event Expenditures.

TRAVEL:

  1. Public Servants:Compared to fiscal year 2012-13, departmental travel expenditures by public servants uncreased due to the number of visits to organizations funded by SWC for project monitoring in order to comply with the due diligence requirements of the Transfer Payment Policy.
  2. Non-Public Servants: Compared to fiscal year 2012-13, departmental travel expenditures by non-public servants increased mainly due to and increase of travel by Ministerial staff.  

HOSPITALITY:

Compared to fiscal year 2012-13, departmental hospitality expenditures increased mainly due to

  • Events to support GBA and Cyberbullying initiatives. 

CONFERENCE FEES:

Compared to fiscal year 2011-2012, departmental conference fees expenditures increased due to:

  • Active participation in the Lean program initiative.

In summary, by ensuring cost-effective measures are adopted and by strengthening controls to increase accountability, the organization has decreased its expenditures for travel, hospitality and conferences by 24% since the implementation of the new Directive on the Management of Expenditures on Travel, Hospitality and Conferences.

Rapport sur les dépenses annuelles de voyages, d'accueil et de conférence

2013-2014

Comme l’exige la Directive sur la gestion des dépenses de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences du Conseil du Trésor, le présent rapport fournit de l’information sur les dépenses annuelles totales de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences de Condition féminine Canada pour l’exercice terminé le 31 mars 2014. Il donne également une explication des écarts par rapport à l'exercice précédent dans chacune de ces catégories.

Ces données sont mises à jour chaque année et ne comportent aucun renseignements non divulgués en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information ou de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences engagées par les ministères et les organismes fédéraux sont liées à des activités à l'appui du mandat du ministère ou de l'organisme et des priorités gouvernementales.

En 1976, le gouvernement du Canada a créé le Bureau de la coordonnatrice de la situation de la femme (Condition féminine Canada) pour coordonner les politiques relatives à la situation de la femme et administrer les programmes qui s’y rapportent. Le mandat du Bureau découle du décret 1976-779. Condition féminine Canada (CFC) est donc le maître d’œuvre du programme adopté par le gouvernement en vue de promouvoir l’avancement des femmes vers l’égalité. Pour remplir son mandat, CFC travaille avec une vaste gamme d’organismes, c’est-à-dire qu’il s’efforce de créer des synergies avec les principales parties intéressées, de collaborer avec les différents ordres de gouvernement et de mobiliser les secteurs privé et bénévole. CFC aide également le Canada à s’acquitter de ses obligations internationales en matière d’égalité des sexes.

Pour en savoir davantage sur le mandat, les rôles, les responsabilités et les programmes de Condition féminine Canada, consultez le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement 2013-2014 de l’organisme, à l’adresse suivante : /trans/account-resp/pr/dpr-rmr/index-fra.html.

Les dépenses annuelles totales de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences de Condition féminine Canada sont résumées ci‑dessous :

Catégorie de dépense Dépenses pour l’exercice terminé le 31 mars 2014
 (a)
Dépenses pour l’exercice terminé le 31 mars 2013
(b)
Variance

(a-b)
(en milliers de dollars)
Total 334 253 81
*Comprend les voyages internationaux dans le cadre du programme de Condition féminine Canada.
Voyages – fonctionnaires 189 162 27
Voyages – non-fonctionnaires 103 58 45
Voyages internationaux de la ministre et de son personnel* 12 13 (1)
Total des dépenses de voyages 304 233 71
Accueil 23 17 6
Frais de participation aux conférences 7 3 4

Écarts marqués par rapport à l’exercice précédent 

L’organisme s’efforce de contrôler efficacement les coûts et d’optimiser les ressources, conformément à la Directive sur les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil, de conférences et d’événements.  

VOYAGES

  1. Fonctionnaires : Comparativement à l’exercice 2012-2013, les frais de voyage des fonctionnaires de l’organisme ont augmenté, principalement en raison du nombre de visites effectuées aupr`s d'organismes qui ont reçu un financement de Condition féminine Canada pour un projet partivulier, dans le but de surveiller la mise en oeuvre de ce projet suivant les principes de diligence raisonnable contenus dans la Politique sur les paiements de transfert.  
  2. Non-fonctionnaires : Comparativement à l’exercice 2012-2013, les frais de voyage engagés par des non-fonctionnaires ont augmenté, principalement en raison de l'augmentation du nombre de déplacement effectués par le personnel de la ministre. 

ACCUEIL

Comparativement à l’exercice 2012-2013, les dépenses d’accueil ont augmenté, principalement en raison :

  • De l'augmentation du nombre d'évènement supportant l'ACS et la cyberintimidation.

FRAIS DE PARTICIPATION AUX CONFÉRENCES

Comparativement à l’exercice 2012-2013, les frais de participation à des conférences ont augmenté en raison de :

  • La participation active à l'initiative Lean.

En résumé, en adoptant des mesures d’optimisation des ressources et en renforçant les contrôles de manière à accroître la responsabilisation, l’organisme a diminué ses frais de voyage, d’accueil et de conférences de 24% depuis l'implémentation de la nouvelle Directives sur les dépenses de voyages, d'accueil, de conférences et d'événements.