Report on Annual Expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences

As required by the Treasury Board Directive on Travel, Hospitality, Conference and Event Expenditures this report provides information on the total annual expenditures for each of the categories of travel, hospitality and conferences for Status of Women Canada for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2017.

This information is updated annually and does not contain information withheld under the Access to Information Act or the Privacy Act.

Expenditures on travel, hospitality and conferences incurred are directly related to supporting Status of Women Canada’s mandate, achieving its strategic outcome and meeting government priorities.

The Government of Canada established the Office of the Coordinator, Status of Women, in 1976 with the mandate to coordinate policy with respect to the status of women and to administer related programs (Order in Council 1976–779). Status of Women Canada (SWC) is thus the primary federal agency responsible for supporting the Government’s agenda to advance equality for women. In fulfilling its mandate, the agency works with a wide range of organizations, building synergies with key stakeholders, collaborating with different orders of government and engaging the private and voluntary sectors. SWC also helps fulfill Canada’s international obligations related to gender equality.

Further information on the mandate, roles, responsibilities and programs of Status of Women Canada can be found in the organization's 2016-17 Departmental Results Report, available at the following link: http://www.swc-cfc.gc.ca/account-resp/pr/dpr-rmr/index-eng.html.

Total annual expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences of Status of Women Canada are summarized below:

Expenditure Category Expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2017
(a)
Expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2016
(b)
Variance
(a-b)
(in thousands of dollars)
Travel – Public Servants 290 208 82
Travel - Non-Public Servants 249 85 164
International Travel by Minister and Minister’s Staff* 81 40 41
Total Travel 620 333 287
Hospitality 73 31 42
Conference Fees 8 10 -2
Total 701 374 327
*Includes international travel that is part of a department's program.

Significant variances compared to the previous fiscal year

The organization is focussed on effective cost control and maximum value for money, as per the Directive on Travel, Hospitality, Conference and Event Expenditures.

Travel:

  1. Public Servants: Compared to the previous fiscal year 2015-16, departmental travel expenditures by public servants increased by 39% mainly due to an increase of our regional presence and the Minister’s consultations for the Federal Strategy to Address Gender-Based Violence.
  2. Non-Public Servants: Compared to the previous fiscal year 2015-16, departmental travel expenditures by non-public servants increased by 192% due to the Minister’s consultations for the Federal Strategy to Address Gender-Based Violence. As well, Minister and her staff increased their presence on the international scene as a leader on gender equality, preventing gender-based violence, and developing innovative solutions for women’s economic empowerment, while advocating strongly for women’s rights at home and globally.

Hospitality:

Compared to fiscal year 2015-16, departmental hospitality expenditures doubled in 2016-17 due to Minister’s consultations for the Federal Strategy to Address Gender-Based Violence.

Conference Fees:

Compared to fiscal year 2015-16, departmental conference fees expenditures remains similar.

In summary, the organization has increased its total expenditures for travel, hospitality and conferences compared to the previous fiscal year.  This increase is a result of additional initiatives undertaken in fiscal year 2016-17 such as Addressing Violence Against Women and Girls; Implementation of Gender Based Analysis; Promoting Women’s Economic Security and Prosperity.  In addition to this, SWC continued its participation in international forums to meet Canada’s obligations for gender equality.

Date modified:

Rapport sur les dépenses annuelles de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences

Comme l'exige la Directive sur la gestion des dépenses de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences du Conseil du Trésor, le présent rapport fournit de l'information sur les dépenses annuelles totales de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences de Condition féminine Canada pour l'exercice terminé le 31 mars 2017. Il donne également une explication des écarts par rapport à l'exercice précédent dans chacune de ces catégories.

Ces données sont mises à jour chaque année et ne comportent aucun renseignement non divulgué en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information ou de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Les dépenses de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences engagées par les ministères et les organismes fédéraux sont liées à des activités à l'appui du mandat du ministère ou de l'organisme et des priorités gouvernementales.

En 1976, le gouvernement du Canada a créé le Bureau de la coordonnatrice de la situation de la femme (Condition féminine Canada) pour coordonner les politiques relatives à la situation de la femme et administrer les programmes qui s’y rapportent. Le mandat du Bureau découle du décret 1976-779. Condition féminine Canada (CFC) est donc le maître d’œuvre du programme adopté par le gouvernement en vue de promouvoir l’avancement des femmes vers l’égalité. Pour remplir son mandat, CFC travaille avec une vaste gamme d’organismes, c’est-à-dire qu’il s’efforce de créer des synergies avec les principales parties intéressées, de collaborer avec les différents ordres de gouvernement et de mobiliser les secteurs privé et bénévole. CFC aide également le Canada à s’acquitter de ses obligations internationales en matière d’égalité des sexes.

Pour en savoir plus sur le mandat, les rôles, les responsabilités et les programmes de Condition féminine Canada, consultez le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement 2016-2017 de l’organisme, à l’adresse suivante : http://www.cfc-swc.gc.ca/account-resp/pr/dpr-rmr/index-fra.html.

Les dépenses annuelles totales de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences de Condition féminine Canada sont résumées ci-dessous :

Catégorie de dépense Dépenses pour l’exercice terminé le 31 mars 2017 (a) Dépenses pour l’exercice terminé le 31 mars 2016 (b) Écart (a-b)
(en milliers de dollars)
Voyages – fonctionnaires 290 208 82
Voyages – non fonctionnaires 249 85 164
Voyages internationaux de la ministre et de son personnel* 81 40 41
Total des dépenses de voyages 620 333 287
Accueil 73 31 42
Frais de participation aux conférences 8 10 -2
Total 701 374 327

(*) Comprend les voyages internationaux dans le cadre du programme de Condition féminine Canada.

Écarts marqués par rapport à l’exercice précédent

L’organisme s’efforce de contrôler efficacement les coûts et d’optimiser les ressources, conformément à la Directive sur les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil, de conférences et d’événements.

DÉPLACEMENTS

Accueil

Par rapport à l’exercice financier précédent (2015-2016), les dépenses d’accueil de l’organisme ont doublé en raison des consultations menées par la ministre au sujet de la Stratégie du Canada pour prévenir et contrer la violence fondée sur le sexe.

Frais de participation aux conférences

Par rapport à l’exercice financier précédent (2015-2016), les frais de participation à des conférences ont été similaires.

En résumé, les dépenses totales de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences de l’organisme ont augmenté par rapport à l’exercice précédent. Cette augmentation s’explique par les nouvelles initiatives lancées au cours de l’exercice 2016-2017, notamment pour contrer la violence faite aux femmes et aux filles, mettre en œuvre l’analyse comparative entre les sexes, et promouvoir la sécurité et la prospérité économiques des femmes. De plus, CFC a continué de participer aux tribunes internationales afin d’honorer les obligations du Canada en matière d’égalité entre les sexes.

Date de modification :