2011–2012 Departmental Performance Report

Section III – Supplementary Information

Financial Highlights

The financial highlights presented in this Departmental Performance Report are intended to serve as a general overview of the agency's financial position and operations. (For details, visit SWC's website6).

SWC is financed by the Government of Canada through parliamentary authorities. Financial reporting of authorities provided to SWC does not parallel financial reporting according to generally accepted accounting principles since authorities are primarily based on cash flow requirements. Consequently, items recognized in the Statement of Operations and Departmental Net Financial Position and the Statement of Financial Position are not necessarily the same as those provided through authorities from Parliament. A reconciliation of authorities used and the net cost of operations is set out in Note 3 of the organization's financial statements.

The purpose of this section is to explain the organization's 2011-2012 financial highlights, based on the organization's financial statements. The charts below illustrate the ending balances, as of March 31, for each major financial statement grouping, along with the corresponding change from the previous fiscal year. In summary, between 2010-2011 and 2011-2012, SWC's financial assets increased by 9% while its non-financial assets decreased by 29%. Its liabilities decreased by 6% and its expenses decreased by 4%. These changes led to a decrease of 35% in the departmental net debt and net financial position. Explanations are provided below the charts for the variances in each major grouping based on the most significant factors affecting each grouping during the fiscal year.

This table sets out Status of Women Canada's Condensed Statement of Financial Position. Net financial liabilities, assets, and debt; total non-financial assets; and net financial position (in dollars) at March 31 are shown for the fiscal years 2010-2011 and 2011-2012, and the percentage year-to-year change is highlighted.
Condensed Statement of Financial Position (Unaudited) as at March 31, 2012 (in dollars)
  % Change 2011-2012 2010-2011
Total net liabilities –6% 5,870,904 6,229,583
Total net financial assets 9% 4,499,195  4,125,874 
Departmental net debt –35% 1,272,709 2,103,709
Total non-financial assets –29% 160,663 226,354
Departmental net financial position –35% (1,211,046) (1,877,355)
This table sets out Status of Women Canada's Condensed Statement of Operations and Departmental Net Financial Position. Expenses, revenue, net cost of operations before government funding and departmental net financial position at March 31 are shown (in dollars) for the fiscal years 2010–2011 and 2011-2012, and the percentage year-to-year change is highlighted.
Condensed Statement of Operations and Departmental Net Financial Position (Unaudited) for the Year Ended March 31, 2012 (in dollars)
  % Change 2011-2012 2010-2011 Forecasted
2011-2012*
* As per the organization's 2011-2012 Future-Oriented Financial Statements.
Total expenses –4% 30,172,122 31,400,593 30,903,000
Total revenues –89% 50 462
Net cost of operations before government funding –4% 30,172,072 31,400,131 30,903,000
Departmental net financial position –35% (1,211,046) (1,877,355) (1,226,000)

Financial Highlights—Charts and Graphs

Liabilities by type

This pie chart shows the mix of liability types at Status of Women Canada.

Text Description Of Image

Total liabilities were approximately $5.9 million as at March 31, 2012, a decrease of $0.4 million (6%) over the previous year's total liabilities of $6.2 million. Accounts payable and accrued liabilities are the largest component, representing 83% of total liabilities. The decrease in total net liabilities is mainly due to a decrease in employee future benefits. SWC had to significantly reduce its estimate for future severance cash-outs due to a recent increase in payments of severance benefits to employees as per renegotiated collective agreements.

Financial Assets by Type

This pie chart shows the mix of asset types at Status of Women Canada.

Text Description Of Image

Total financial assets were approximately $4.5 million as at March 31, 2012, an increase of $0.4 million (9%) over the previous year's total net financial assets of $4.1 million. The increase in financial assets is mainly due to an increase of $0.2 million in the amount due from the Consolidated Revenue Fund and an increase of $0.2 million in the accounts receivable and advances. Amounts due from the Consolidated Revenue Fund represent a charge against departmental authorities and are available for use to the organization in future periods without further authorities.

Total non-financial assets were approximately $0.2 million at the end of 2011-2012, a 29% decrease over the previous year's total caused by a decrease in the acquisition of capital assets due to the organization's impending relocation. Non-financial assets are comprised entirely of tangible capital assets.

Expenses by Type

This pie chart shows the mix of expense types at Status of Women Canada.

Text Description Of Image

Total expenses were approximately $30.2 million in 2011-2012, a decrease of $1.2 million (4%) from the previous year's total expenses of $31.4 million. The decrease in total expenses is mostly attributable to a decrease in grant and contribution spending as the re-profile from 2008–2009 ended in 2010–2011 and the budget is now at its ongoing level. The decrease in total expenses is also attributable to a decrease in employee future benefits. SWC had to significantly reduce its estimate for future severance cash-outs due to a recent increase in payments of severance benefits to employees as per renegotiated collective agreements.

Comparison of Forecasted Results (as per the organization's 2011-2012 Future-oriented Financial Statements) and Actual Results

The organization's final net cost of operations before government funding for 2011-2012 was approximately $731,000 less than was anticipated in the future-oriented financial statements included in the 2011-2012 RPP ($30.2 million versus $30.9 million). This represents a 2% variance and is explained as follows:

The future-oriented financial statements were prepared based on Parliamentary appropriations received as of the 2011-2012 Main Estimates. They did not consider expenditures as a result of resources received for the remainder of the year and/or a variation in voted resources for such items as: carry-forward amount from 2010–2011; and maternity, severance payments and employee benefits plan. Other explanations for the variance relate to unplanned lapses in both contribution funding and operating expenditures.

Financial Statements

For financial statements, please visit: http://www.swc-cfc.gc.ca/trans/account-resp/pr/fin/index-eng.html.

List of Supplementary Information Tables

Electronic supplementary information tables listed in the 2011-2012 Departmental Performance Report can be found on the Status of Women Canada's website7:

  • Details on Transfer Payment Programs
  • Greening Government Operations
  • Internal Audits and Evaluations
  • User Fees Reporting

Section IV – Other Items of Interest

SWC supported the Minister for Status of Women and the Government of Canada to reach out to and communicate with Canadians on important issues, including progress being made and challenges faced in advancing equality between women and men. The key annual activities include:

  • Commemorative Events– International Women's Day (March 8), Women's History Month (October), International Day of the Girl, to be celebrated for the first time on October 11, 2012, Persons Day (October 18); the National Day of Remembrance and Action on Violence Against Women (December 6); and the 16 Days of Activism Against Gender-based Violence (November 25 to December 10).
  • Governor General's Awards in Commemoration of the Persons Case –Annual awards to honour individual Canadians for their contributions to the goal of equality for women and girls in Canada. The awards commemorate the 1929 legal victory that paved the way for women to be appointed to the Senate of Canada.

The agency also gained new audiences by expanding its scope. Notably, the Women's History Month theme for 2011, "Women in Canadian Military Forces: A Proud Legacy," drew considerable interest from other federal departments, including the Department of National Defence, Veterans Affairs Canada and the Canadian War Museum, as well as from women and men in or retired from the military.

Organizational Contact Information

For financial information, contact:

Johanne Tremblay
A/Director, Corporate Services

Telephone: 613-995-3817
Fax: 613-947-6113
E-mail: Johanne.Tremblay@swc-cfc.gc.ca

For other information, contact:

Ainalem Tebeje
Manager, Corporate Planning and Reporting

Telephone: 613-995-1811
Fax: 613-947-0530
E-mail: Ainalem.Tebeje@swc-cfc.gc.ca


Endnotes

1 TrustLaw, a legal news service run by Thomson Reuters Foundation, asked 370 health workers, policymakers, journalists and development specialists with expertise in gender issues to rank the 19 countries of the G20 in terms of the overall best and worst place to be a woman. Canada ranked number 1, which means it is the best G20 country to be a woman.

2 http://www.tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca/recgen/txt/72-eng.html.

3 The Departmental Action Plan on Gender-based Analysis, developed by SWC in collaboration with the Treasury Board Secretariat and Privy Council Office, provides accountability measures for GBA implementation and establishes a standard for federal organizations to make GBA a sustainable practice, to pilot GBA on a project and to report on their overall efforts in GBA implementation in their Reports on Plans and Priorities (RPPs) and Departmental Performance Reports (DPRs).

4 Citizenship and Immigration Canada, Canadian Heritage, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Industry Canada, Public Health Agency of Canada, Public Works and Government Services Canada, Transport Canada, Veterans Affairs Canada.

5 http://www.swc-cfc.gc.ca/rc-cr/stat/wic-fac-1011/index-eng.html.

6 http://www.swc-cfc.gc.ca/trans/account-resp/pr/fin/index-eng.html.

7 http://http://www.swc-cfc.gc.ca/trans/account-resp/pr/dpr-rmr/1112/st-ts-eng.html.

2011–2012 Rapports ministériels sur le rende

Section III – Renseignements supplémentaires

Principales données financières

Les principales données financières présentées dans ce rapport ministériel sur le rendement visent à brosser un tableau général de la situation et des opérations financières de l'organisme. (De plus amples détails figurent sur le site Web de CFC6.)

L'organisme est financé par le gouvernement du Canada au moyen d'autorisations parlementaires. La présentation des autorisations consenties à l'organisme diffère de celle des rapports financiers préparés selon les principes comptables généralement reconnus, étant donné que les autorisations sont fondées, dans une large mesure, sur les besoins de trésorerie. Par conséquent, les éléments reconnus dans l'état de la situation financière, ainsi que dans l'état des opérations et de la situation financière nette de l'organisme, ne sont pas nécessairement les mêmes que ceux qui sont fournis dans les autorisations du Parlement. Un rapprochement des autorisations utilisées et du coût net des opérations est présenté dans la note 3 des états financiers de l'organisme.

Cette section explique les points saillants de la situation financière de l'organisme pour 2011-2012, d'après les états financiers de CFC. Les graphiques ci-après illustrent les soldes de clôture au 31 mars, par grande catégorie d'information financière, ainsi que les changements correspondants par rapport à l'exercice précédent. En résumé, entre 2010–2011 et 2011-2012, les actifs financiers de CFC ont augmenté de 9 % tandis que ses actifs non financiers ont diminué de 29 %. Son passif a diminué de 6 % et ses dépenses ont chuté de 4 %. Ces changements ont donné lieu à une réduction de 35 % de la dette nette et de la situation financière nette de l'organisme. Sous les graphiques de chaque catégorie, on explique à quels grands facteurs sont attribuables les variations enregistrées pour l'exercice.

Ce tableau indique (en millions de dollars) la valeur nette du passif, des actifs, de la dette et des actifs non financiers, ainsi que l'état de la situation financière nette en date du 31 mars pour les exercices 2010–2011 et 2011-2012. Le tableau indique aussi le changement, en pourcentage, d'un exercice à l'autre.
État condensé de la situation financière (non vérifié)
au 31 mars 2012 (en dollars)
  Variation % 2011-2012 2010–2011
Montant total net du passif –6 % 5 870 904  6 229 583 
Montant total net des actifs financiers 9 % 4 499 195  4 125 874 
Montant net de la dette de l'organisme –35% 1 272 709  2 103 709 
Montant total des actifs non financiers –29 % 160 663  226 354 
Situation financière nette de l'organisme –35 % (1 211 046) (1 877 355)
Ce tableau indique (en millions de dollars) les dépenses, les revenus, le coût net des opérations avant le financement et les transferts du gouvernement, ainsi que la situation financière nette de l'organisme en date du 31 mars pour les exercices 2010–2012 et 2011-2012. Le tableau indique aussi le changement, en pourcentage, d'un exercice à l'autre.
État condensé des opérations et situation financière nette de l'organisme (non vérifiés) pour l'exercice terminé le 31 mars 2012 (en dollars)
  Variation % 2011-2012 2010–2011 Prévisions
2011-2012*
* Selon les états financiers prospectifs de l'organisme pour 2011-2012.
Montant total des dépenses –4 % 30 172 122  31 400 593  30 903 000 
Montant total des revenus –89 % 50  462  — 
Coût net des opérations avant le financement et les transferts du gouvernement –4 % 30 172 072  31 400 131  30 903 000 
Situation financière nette de l'organisme –35 % (1 211 046) (1 877 355) (1 226 000)

Graphiques et diagrammes des principales données financières

Passif

Ce diagramme circulaire indique l'importance relative des différents types de passif de Condition féminine Canada.

Description texte de l'image

Le passif totalisait environ 5,9 millions de dollars au 31 mars 2012, comparativement à 6,2 millions de dollars à la fin de l'exercice précédent, soit une diminution de 0,4 million de dollars (6 %). Les créditeurs et charges à payer sont le plus important poste du passif. Ensemble, ils en représentent 83 %. La diminution du passif total net est principalement attribuable à une réduction des avantages sociaux futurs. CFC a dû réduire considérablement son estimation des indemnités de départ futures en raison de l'augmentation récente du nombre d'indemnités de départ payées aux membres du personnel en vertu des conventions collectives renégociées.

Actifs financiers

Ce diagramme circulaire indique l'importance relative des différents types d'actif de Condition féminine Canada.

Description texte de l'image

Les actifs financiers nets totalisaient environ 4,5 millions de dollars au 31 mars 2012, comparativement à 4,1 millions de dollars à la fin de l'exercice précédent, soit une augmentation de 0,4 million de dollars (9 %). L'augmentation des actifs financiers est principalement attribuable à une hausse de 0,2 million de dollars du montant à recevoir du Trésor et à une augmentation de 0,2 million de dollars des débiteurs et avances. Le montant à recevoir du Trésor représente un montant à déduire des autorisations de l'organisme et peut être utilisé ultérieurement par CFC sans nouvelle autorisation.

Les actifs non financiers totaux s'établissaient à environ 0,2 million de dollars à la fin de 2011-2012, soit une diminution de 29 % par rapport au total de l'exercice précédent attribuable à une diminution des acquisitions d'immobilisations en raison de la réinstallation imminente de l'organisme. Les actifs non financiers sont entièrement constitués d'immobilisations corporelles.

Dépenses

Ce diagramme circulaire indique, en pourcentages, l'importance relative des divers types de dépenses de Condition féminine Canada.

Description texte de l'image

Les dépenses ont totalisé environ 30,2 millions de dollars en 2011-2012, comparativement à 31,4 millions de dollars pour l'exercice précédent, ce qui représente une diminution de 1,2 million de dollars (4 %). La diminution des dépenses totales est surtout attribuable à une diminution des subventions et contributions, étant donné que le report de fonds de 2008–2009 a pris fin en 2010–2011 et que le budget se trouve maintenant à son niveau permanent. La diminution des dépenses totales est également attribuable à une réduction des avantages sociaux futurs des employées et employés. CFC a dû réduire considérablement son estimation des indemnités de départ futures en raison d'une augmentation récente du nombre d'indemnités de départ payées aux membres du personnel conformément aux conventions collectives renégociées.

Comparaison des résultats prévus (selon les états financiers prospectifs de l'organisme pour 2011-2012) et des résultats réels

Le coût final net de fonctionnement de l'organisme avant le financement du gouvernement pour 2011-2012 était d'environ 731 000 $ inférieur au coût prévu dans les états financiers prospectifs inclus dans le rapport sur les plans et les priorités de 2011-2012 (30,2 millions de dollars contre 30,9 millions de dollars). Il s'agit là d'un écart de 2 %, qui s'explique comme suit :

Les états financiers prospectifs ont été établis en fonction des crédits parlementaires reçus dans le Budget principal de 2011-2012 et ne tiennent pas compte des dépenses par suite des ressources reçues plus tard dans l'année ou d'une variation des ressources votées pour des postes précis, par exemple : la somme reportée de 2010–2011, les prestations de maternité, les indemnités de départ, ainsi que le régime d'avantages sociaux. L'écart s'explique aussi par des péremptions non planifiées de fonds des budgets de contribution et de fonctionnement.

États financiers

On trouvera les états financiers à cette adresse : /trans/account-resp/pr/fin/index-fra.html.

Liste des tableaux supplémentaires

Les tableaux de renseignements supplémentaires qui sont énumérés dans le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement 2011-2012 peuvent être consultés sur le site Web de Condition féminine Canada, à l'adresse7 :

  • Renseignements sur les programmes de paiements de transfert
  • Écologisation des opérations gouvernementales
  • Vérifications internes et évaluations
  • Frais d'utilisation

Section IV – Autres sujets d'intérêt

CFC a aidé la ministre de la Condition féminine et le gouvernement du Canada à rejoindre la population canadienne et à communiquer avec elle au sujet d'enjeux importants, notamment les progrès accomplis et les défis relevés au chapitre de la promotion de l'égalité entre les sexes. Les activités suivantes figurent au nombre de ses activités annuelles clés :

  • Activités commémoratives — Journée internationale de la femme (8 mars), Mois de l'histoire des femmes (octobre), Journée internationale des filles (qui sera célébrée pour la première fois le 11 octobre 2012), Journée de l'affaire « personne » (18 octobre), Journée nationale de commémoration et d'action contre la violence faite aux femmes (6 décembre), ainsi que les 16 jours d'activisme contre la violence faite aux femmes (du 25 novembre au 10 décembre).
  • Prix du Gouverneur général en commémoration de l'affaire « personne » —prix annuels décernés à des Canadiennes et Canadiens pour leur contribution à l'atteinte de l'égalité des sexes au Canada. Les prix commémorent la victoire juridique de 1929 qui a permis aux femmes d'être nommées au Sénat du Canada.

L'organisme a également rejoint de nouveaux publics en élargissant la portée de son travail. Par exemple, le Mois de l'histoire des femmes 2011, qui avait pour thème « Les femmes dans les forces militaires canadiennes : un passé glorieux », a suscité un intérêt considérable de la part d'autres ministères et organismes fédéraux, dont le ministère de la Défense nationale, Anciens Combattants Canada et le Musée canadien de la guerre, ainsi que des femmes et des hommes qui servent ou ont servi dans les Forces canadiennes.

Coordonnées des personnes-ressources de l'organisme

Questions concernant l'information financière présentée :

Johanne Tremblay
Directrice p. i., Services intégrés

Téléphone : 613-995-3817
Téléc.  : 613-947-6113
Courriel : Johanne.Tremblay@cfc-swc.gc.ca

Pour toute autre question :

Ainalem Tebeje
Gestionnaire, Planification stratégique et rapports généraux

Téléphone : 613-995-1811
Téléc.  : 613-947-0530
Courriel : Ainalem.Tebeje@cfc-swc.gc.ca


Notes de fin de document

1 TrustLaw, service de presse juridique administré par la Fondation Thomson Reuters, a demandé à 370 travailleuses et travailleurs de la santé, décisionnaires, journalistes et spécialistes du développement ayant une bonne connaissance des questions liées à l'égalité entre les sexes de classer les 19 pays du G20 au chapitre de la condition féminine. Le Canada est arrivé au premier rang, ce qui en fait le meilleur pays du G20 pour les femmes.

2 http://www.tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca/recgen/txt/72-fra.html.

3 Le Plan d'action, élaboré par CFC en collaboration avec le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor et le Bureau du Conseil privé, prévoit des mécanismes redditionnels pour la mise en œuvre de l'ACS et établit une norme qui oblige les organismes fédéraux à faire de l'ACS une pratique durable, à la mettre à l'essai dans le cadre d'un projet et à rendre compte, dans leur Rapport sur les plans et les priorités (RPP) et leur Rapport ministériel sur le rendement (RMR), de leurs efforts globaux dans la mise en œuvre de l'ACS.

4 Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada, Patrimoine canadien, Pêches et Océans Canada, Industrie Canada, l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada, Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada, Transports Canada et Anciens Combattants Canada.

5 /rc-cr/stat/wic-fac-1011/index-fra.html.

6 /trans/account-resp/pr/fin/index-fra.htm.

7 http://www.swc-cfc.gc.ca/trans/account-resp/pr/dpr-rmr/1112/st-ts-fra.html.